We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural lovers weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise One Retreat.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coorabell
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Don’t expect the normal luxuries of a Pepper/Mantra resort , but it's very comfortable and a great place to rejuvenate tired minds and bodies in the setting of lush green scenery.

We stayed 2 nights at Casuarina Lodge and were very happy with the experience. The surroundings are breathtaking. Our suite was cosy, it had a separate lounge area and a lovely deck. The deck was facing the wrong way though – it faced onto the driveway rather than the forest behind us. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is basic compared to other Mantra/Peppers we’ve stayed at, but I didn’t mind it. It was clean and modern enough. The restaurant served amazing food! It took a while to get our meals because there were only 2 people in the kitchen but it was well worth the wait. The room doesn’t have any cooking facilities or even a toaster, just a kettle.

Our favourite part of the place was sitting in the secluded grounds in the morning, taking in the view while playing board games! The only complaint would be that the suite had a strong straw smell throughout, which made all our luggage smell like that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

This is the best couples getaway I have been to. I felt so welcome. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The service was exceptional - in the hotel and the restaurant. The meals were delicious and great value. It was great being close to Byron, but it felt so far away. There's a nice spot to sit by the creek with a glass of bubby or beer and relax and wait for the platypus to show up or alternatively go for a swim in the pool. I would definitely visit again and can't wait to go back. Ideal couples getaway out of Brisbane.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitardmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

You book Byron cause it Byron but althought this is a nice resort its just not Byron.
Nice rainforest location but i wanted beach.

Good food, great sevice by the manager

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I love the location which is in the Hinterland away from Byron Township. The rooms were comfortable but noisy due to the wooden floor. We could hear the people in the adjourning cottage every time they walked across their floor and I am sure they could hear us too. Could also hear their TV. Must of had thin walls. This noise factor was the only thing that let the place down. The restaurant was gorgeous. It was a very cold night and to have dimmed lights and an open roaring long fire certainly added to the ambience of the place and our waitress was the nicest, most friendly (yet professional) person we had met all trip. But I will only stay there again if they fix the noise issue between rooms

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

My Girlfriend and I stayed on two separate nights in this really relaxing rainforest lodge.
Having been in Byron for the day and battled with the always busy enviro there. This place was a blessing and a great wind down.
I would like to fully thank the staff for their hospitality and especially the lodge Manager Shawn and his assistant Rachael. They are both really friendly and could not do enough to make us feel at home. There courtesy cannot be overstated.
The setting is wonderful, from the drive in to the very private nature of the lodges and suites.
You feel as though you are n the jungle (almost) yet so close to the coast.
Finally, the included Breaky was the best continental spread we've had in ages.
Homemade Jams, natural fresh fruit Yogurt and breads all tasty and the outside setting say no more.
We were told the lodge is getting a makeover soon which will further enhance the quality of your stay.
When we are next up round the "Big Scrub" we know where to wind down with no pretentions.
Thanks heaps
Adam and Tan

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed at this retreat for 6 nights and ate at the restaurant overlooking the Wilsons Creek 4 times
We were initially concerned when booking given the previous trip advisor comment re the manager but prior to booking found out that the manager had changed recently. The new manager was very friendly and helpful
The rooms are actually individual lodges and getting a little outdated but were very clean, spacious and private and the manager advised they are planning a refurbishment in the near future
We would recommend having a car if staying as its about 15-20 minutes to Byron Bay beach but we found it was great to escape the bustle of Byron and return to the Hinterland. The near by Bangalow village is great and we preferred to go there rather than Byron if it wasn't beach weather
There is not a lot to do at the retreat which after a few days this becomes an attraction. There is an in room massage service which was fantastic and the verandahs are so private you can have the massage outdoors if preferred
The grounds and the walk along the creek are beautiful and at current room rates its good value for money
We would definitely stay again particularly after the rooms are refurbished

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I have stayed at many a Peppers so the reputation somewhat lent itself to the decision to stay here. However, I would not class this as a Peppers. The rooms are very very very basic, the musty smell is overwhelming, the cleanliness is very poor and the facilities just plain two star for the price you pay. The service from beginning to end was embarassing, no one seemed to know what they were doing and it showed. They were bordering on rude when we checked out as we'd been given a free bottle of wine at dinner only for the receptionist wanting to charge us for it or have us give it back at checkout! Unbelievable. The location is pretty and the grounds peaceful, the deck overlooking the grounds is lovely but not enough of a reason to go. Don't bother.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripAdvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coorabell
7.9 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
7.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
9.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
9.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise One Retreat.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise One Retreat.

Address: 139 Newes Rd | Byron Hinterland, Coorabell, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Peppers Coorabell Retreat)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coorabell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coorabell
Price Range: $228 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise One Retreat. 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Coorabell Retreat is an intimate rainforest retreat set in the Byron Bay Hinterland on NSW's far north coast. With deluxe accommodation in charming cabins, you'll find the perfect escape to relax, rejuvenate and be pampered whilst still being able to enjoy the distinctive beach atmosphere and lifestyle of one of the most popular seaside destinations in Australia, Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise One Retreat. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Casuarina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing