We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise One Retreat.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coorabell
2 reviews
“Totally Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed over Christmas with my husband and father in law. We had a fabulous time at the retreat and byron. The on site resturaunt food was delicious! We ate there Christmas Day, it was a veritable feast. A great place to switch off and relax. Byron bay fun only a v short drive away. Ps breakfast was great too! Homemade muffins and banana cake. Great Bircher and compots. Staff were genuine and very helpful. Thanks for a great Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Found this piece of wonderland by accident. Had been working in Lismore on a project and last week, on-spur-of-moment, my wife decided to accompany me. Rather than overnighting with friend in Lennox Head as usual, we went on internet searching Byron Bay Hinterland. Hit the jackpot first click with Peppers Coorabell! Approximately 5 kms from main road, latterly descending through scenic rainforest, suddenly Peppers' oasis appears thru the trees.
Over the next 2 days from arrival to departure, warm, friendly service, spacious self-contained cottage accommodation, resort ambience, breakfasts and dinner were all 5-star. If you are looking for a perfect getaway 'far from the madding crowd' this is the perfect spot! The only downside for some (it was a bonus for me!) may be limited mobile access but good Wi-Fi access in common areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just had 3 nights at Peppers Coorabell...

Let's start with the positives....

1. The food in the restaurant is top quality fine dining. Definitely some of the best food I've had the pleasure of eating.

2. The location is excellent set in beautiful countryside, the restaurant setting looks over towards the creek and is stunning place to have dinner.

3. The staff were helpful and friendly.

4. It would be a perfect wedding venue.

Now the negatives..

1. No Internet or phone in the area, not a major problem although you can use wireless in the restaurant reception area free of charge.

2. Not too much to do at the resort, we were expecting to stay at the "retreat" more with facilities to to unwind and get away from things.

3. Breakfast wasn't great just fruit/cereal and very basic. Not much choice.

4. Finally this made us decide we wouldn't return to stay at the retreat again. The accommodation just wasn't worth the $385. First of all two apartments are adjoining so you dont have too much privacy. The facilities are the same as a hotel room, mini-bar, tea and coffee making. For a retreat we expected a room which was livable, comfortable and somewhere we could spent time in. It just wasn't somewhere you looked forward to going back to or spending time in.

To summarize we were disappointed in the accommodation, we expected something more luxurious to stay in, the room just wasn't comfortable, it was very small and not somewhere you wanted to spend any time in, the sofa was terrible and the outside area had just a wooden table and chairs. We left disappointed and will not be back. We haved stayed in far better places in the Byron area, it was a shame the accommodation didn't live up to the surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had three beautiful nights here. Weather was overcast or rainy mostly but it didn't matter. The location was perfect in any weather to relax, great in room massage and delicious and generous picnic basket in dream location by creek. Great to be out of mobile range and limited access to Internet for a few days. Restaurant meals and service were of high quality. Was a little hesitant given some of the negative reviews, but perhaps some are very hard to please or didn't want the kind of break this place has to offer. We loved it and left very relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandjadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The fake Peppers Resort is totally misleading in every way.
1. The acclaimed rainforest is not actually rainforest............the vegetation views more acurately characterise a Camphor laurel forest which is a Class 4 weed in the Byron Shire. Native plantings do occur around the immediate resort area which are pleasing to the eye but are limiited and in no way represent a rainforest.
2. When observing the Camphor laurel forest take not of the lack of birds.......it the forest of death.
3. Aquatic species are present...platypus, turtles and catfish.
3. The resort is isolated alright.....no phone reception....and no truly inviting areas that invite one to relax and stay at the resort. Sitting in the car is a better option.
4. The cabins are so basic and offputing, any idea of romance soon diminshes. I actually went straight from the bedroom to the kitchenete and washed up the four dirty coffee cups for fun!!
5. I could go on and on but at end of the day this was a massive waste of hard earnt money and a blemish on Peppers Resorts which have always been outstanding up until this point.
6. Never to to return and will advance my dissapointment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently visited Peppers at Coorabell in northern NSW. What a disappointment!! After a tough year we had been looking forward to a lovely few days by ourselves. The cottage was very basic, the decor didn't really match the cottage & the worst was that the lounge/couch was incredibly uncomfy. There was no hot water so we had to wait until someone came to fix that. When we went to breakfast (which wasn't too bad) we spoke with the manageress about our disappointment. Her comment was that we had been given the "Honeymoon Cottage"...then when we told her about the couch she said that honeymooners probably wouldn't use the couch anyway as they would probably only use the bed!! This couch was a big Bali lounge with a very thin cushion which kept sliding off...awful. Also, as the resort is in a valley, there is no mobile or internet coverage...we were not advised of this on booking or checking in. We were later told by the manageress that the resort isn't actually a Peppers resort,...they just use the name for marketing. We find this quite misleading as we chose the resort because of the Peppers name. It definitely did not live up to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jotibarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coorabellretreat, General Manager at Paradise One Retreat., responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review Mr. Baker. What a shame you did not enjoy your experience with us at Coorabell. I would have loved to have shared this conversation with you on your departure or during your stay. As I did not discuss any of these issues with you possibly you had the discussion with one of the staff?
I have checked back through our maintenance documentation for the period of your stay and can find no hot water issue reported for your room? This being the case I am glad it was fixed in due course for you.
Due to our stunning remote location far away from the bustle of work and traffic, we have no mobile service in the area. We do offer free use of the land line phones and free Wi-Fi for all guests not wishing to lose complete touch with the outside world during their time with us. My apologies that this was not pointed out to you more prominently to you other than the arrival documentation.
The lounge in your room being uncomfortable is a valid point but I at no time made a remark to you about our honeymoon couples, this is definitely not a statement that I would ever make so I am at a loss to explain this for you. The couch is actually a design piece and as with some design pieces they are aesthetically pleasing but not always practical. My apologies for the discomfort caused.
We are a Peppers property and we do hope that you will continue to have faith in the Peppers brand even though you did not find this particular experience to your satisfaction.
Warm Regards
Alicia Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent the most wonderful week escaping from all the stresses of the hectic city grind at Coorabell Retreat. The charming property is set on a beautiful creek - complete with platypuses, private cabins look out over the valley, tons of peace and quiet and all the fresh air you can breath. The Restaurant was amazing - warm friendly and inviting - great wines and a fabulous chief whose food made you feel you were in a trendy brasserie in Melbourne with his stunning take on nouveau cuisine infused with local produce - every mouthful bringing a new taste sensation.
The staff were fantastic - friendly and informative - and as I told them, I will be back - feel I have found my perfect retreat... thanks Coorabell for being there

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granadi11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coorabell
15.7 mi away
Nimbin Rox YHA
Nimbin Rox YHA
#1 of 1 in Nimbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.9 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
5.5 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
6.1 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.8 mi away
Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise One Retreat.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise One Retreat.

Property: Paradise One Retreat.
Address: 139 Newes Rd | Byron Hinterland, Coorabell, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Peppers Coorabell Retreat)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coorabell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coorabell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise One Retreat. 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Coorabell Retreat is an intimate rainforest retreat set in the Byron Bay Hinterland on NSW's far north coast. With deluxe accommodation in charming cabins, you'll find the perfect escape to relax, rejuvenate and be pampered whilst still being able to enjoy the distinctive beach atmosphere and lifestyle of one of the most popular seaside destinations in Australia, Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise One Retreat. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Casuarina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing