We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise One Retreat.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coorabell
Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you want to get away from it all, including your Blackberry, Iphone or mobile - then there is NO better place to find absolute tranquility, excellent (but not intrusive) service, mouth-watering (but not overly expensive, or pretentious) food than Peppers Coorabell Retreat!

Tucked away - no REALLY tucked away in a rain forest 15 minutes inland from Byron Bay, this place is heaven, and the management team are fantastic.

Stayed from 30th-2nd Jan 2012. An absolute delight.......just be careful of late night drives from Byron - that road has more wildlife than some zoo's!! (entertaining though!!)

Loved it, loved it, loved it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask if your room can overlook the creek............but any rooms are good.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Paradise One Retreat.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stay here with my husband between Xmas and New Year's Eve, for 4 nights. Having never been to Byron Bay and leaving our holiday plans late - we found everything within Byron was taken, or overpriced. So, we decided to hire a car, book this retreat and hope we weren't too far away from everything.

One word: Brilliant. Tucked away in the rainforest, this retreat is just a slice of paradise. The rooms, separate huts with their own views either down to the creek, or across grassy hills, don't intrude on one another, and you can hardly hear another soul the whole time you are there. The only neighbours we had were possums at 2am in the morning dancing on our roof.

The rooms (recently upgraded..?) are clean and tidy, you'll find a few bugs here and there, but you are in the bush, so we were met with bugs, beetles and a few spiders we'd never seen before :P A short walk from all rooms is the reception area, restaurant and pool.

Breakfast was wonderful - served in the dining room, fruits, cereals and pastries. We ate at the restaurant for dinner on our last night, and was definitely the highlight of the meals we had in the area (short of Bangalow Dining Rooms) as Byron seems to lack anywhere really 'decent' for those not backpackers wanting take away.

While the distance to Byron Bay might be too far for some - 15 minutes by car to the middle of the town at night (not during the day when it's bumper to bumper for 30 minutes into town via the Pacific Highway) - it was actually good for us, because I would HATE to be staying in Byron at this time of year. I could only liken it to schoolies - with backpackers and kids wandering the streets all night... it was great to drive back to the retreat, get some shut eye and head to the surrounding towns and do some bush walks the next day when the kids are only just hoping into bed after another huge night at Cheeky Monkeys.

On our stay, the managers had recently taken over just before Xmas, but were doing a brilliant job. Some small issues, like changing the names on the information in the rooms, the pool and spa maybe being a little tired, and cleanliness on the restaurant decking - but I'm sure all will be taken on board when they get a chance and find their footing.

Will definitely be back, such a brilliant find. A bit of a drive if you want to live it up in Byron Bay town at night, as the roads back to Coorabell aren't lit, and are winding. But close enough to enjoy the rest of the area (we flew in from Ballina - 30 minute drive) and Bangalow (less than 10 minutes away).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed overnight with my wife and two children during the winter period, the rooms had just been refurbished which look great.

The restaurant Dinner service and atmosphere was fantastic, large open plan restaurant with fire place, excellent food and good wine list.

Breakfast the following morning was good, a continental breakfast selection available.

Great little property suited more for couples looking for a short break.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, interconnected with privacy for both couples or couple and kids. All rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian_Sillars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I've been coming to Byron Bay for a few years for my own personal holidays and wanted to check this place out before committing to a stay, so this is what folks in the business call a "site inspection".
The first thing anyone will notice is that it's way out of town in the back blocks of Byron Bay near Bangalow - both great spots in themselves - but not really close enough to be convenient. This factor could work both ways in your vacation planning making it great for a couples retreat but not so much for a family holiday. The cabins are individually self-contained and standalone, so you won't be bothered by your neighbour's hob-nailed boots. They're roomy but not lavish, comfortable, clean and neat without being luxurious.
The restaurant 'Wilson’s by the Creek' has a considerable reputation and head chef, Adam Hall, is a bit of a local 'rock star' among chefs. His gourmet and culinary weekends have quite a following, so this may be a good excuse to get out there. Of course you can come out and dine without staying, but due to licensing, the restaurant is only open to non-resident guests Fri-Sat-Sun.
At the time of my visit, there was some ground clearing going on to remove non-native species and the new onsite manager (Paul) had just moved in. There were some adverse comments about the previous manager who I never met, so this is obviously being addressed.
The well kept 66-acre grounds are like a gorgeous park setting, so picnics by the creek and rainforest walks are popular too. Yes, there's a small pool in a secluded courtyard.
While there isn't a 'spa' as such, massage and treatments are conducted in-room.
Meetings and conferences are possible too, but I would suggest are better suited to smaller groups, say under 20.

Room Tip: All rooms are appointed the same, so just choose your proximity to the main building as you wish.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Roderick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I attended the Peppers Masterclass food experience retreat. I was also a getaway for me, and I found it to be wonderfully relaxing. The cooking class side of things was fantastic too, the group picked up great tips and enjoyed superb food at every meal, including the one we prepared! I hope they do another one, and promote it well as it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We booked one night at Peppers Coorabell as a stopover en route to Brisbane from Sydney. My only regret was that I didn't book more than one night! We booked the rainforest getaway which included breakfast. The children shared a sofa bed in the living room. The cabin was very clean and pleasant. The grounds are wonderful and the pool was superb. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We hadn't booked dinner but decided to eat at their restaurant. The food really was terrific and the prices reasonable. Breakfast was simply amazing. The chef comes in early to bake bread and muffins and they really were sensational. There is a superb selection of food. We will certainly return but for a few days instead of just one night. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the manager Shawn went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAddZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Had a weekend away with my wife and read an article on the property, and it was everything the article said it would be, relaxing, romantic and value for money.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was fantastic that alone is worth the trip. I recommend Coorabell to anybody who is looking for something peaceful and tranquil

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coorabell
7.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
8.9 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
7.2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
6.0 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
71 reviews
10.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise One Retreat.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise One Retreat.

Address: 139 Newes Rd | Byron Hinterland, Coorabell, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Peppers Coorabell Retreat)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coorabell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coorabell
Price Range: $239 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise One Retreat. 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Coorabell Retreat is an intimate rainforest retreat set in the Byron Bay Hinterland on NSW's far north coast. With deluxe accommodation in charming cabins, you'll find the perfect escape to relax, rejuvenate and be pampered whilst still being able to enjoy the distinctive beach atmosphere and lifestyle of one of the most popular seaside destinations in Australia, Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise One Retreat. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Casuarina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing