We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ”
Review of Piedmont Inn

Piedmont Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Blackheath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Piedmont Inn has been Blackheath's iconic restaurant since 1982. The Italian theme of the restaurant still exists and we continue to serve a great range of pastas, pizzas and meals to suit every taste for both dine and takeaway. We only use whole foods and where possible preservative free. We have Gluten free options in pizza and pasta and right through our menu. We also cater for all dietary and/or personal needs. We are a relaxed, family friendly and customer focused restaurant. This buzzy little restaurant is one for you to put on the list to try, bookings are strongly recommended to avoid disappointment. BYO - Bring your own alcohol - Wine, Beer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great ”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Food, service, speed and value for money was all excellent. If you're in blackheath this is the place to go, quite a broad selection on the menu. Ill be back.

Helpful?
Thank gregsN8921UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    96
    19
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Arrived to fully booked restaurant and they still managed to seal us...”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Have to say, what a life saver...

Arrived late from Sydney (6pm) on Friday night and kids starving... Checked out a few places in Blackheath but given the kids were getting a little 'feral' being 2 & 4, we didn't want to inflict them onto other diners.

A couple of places we were checking out recommended Piedmont Inn. Upon arriving, were informed that they were fully booked but noticing we look 'sad and desperate' said we could stay if we could vacate the table in 75 minutes and order fast.

She didn't have to ask twice. We were seated and reading the menu before you could say 'we are fully booked again'

After grabbing a bottle of wine at the bottle shop (two doors down) to wash down the extremely tasty Mexican Pizza, Chicken and kids pasta (no wine of course), we vacated with desert after 75 minutes.

The only small point is that they forgot a couple of our orders (which we didn't pay for) and we ended up drinking wine from water glasses after asking for wine glasses three times - but hey, they let us eat so minor points and they all looked a little stressed given how busy it was.

Will be back. Thanks again....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We've enjoyed dining here on our visits to Blackheath over the last decade, it has been superb, but this time we were very disappointed. The lamb shanks and pork belly, 2 dishes that require time in the oven and quality produce, were lovingly described on the menu but were almost inedible. Undercooked and missing key ingredients - did you run out of mint? The mashed potato felt like glue! My partner discreetly spat the lamb back onto the plate. Unfortunately we couldn't return for our favourite pizza the following night as we had no confidence the meal would resemble past experience. The staff however were friendly and the atmosphere is warm and intimate. If only this dining experience had been a gastronomic retreat from the cold outside it's mountain top window - as it promised to b e but did not deliver.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Takeaway fell short”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We placed a takeaway order from the Piedmont Inn being pressed for time we could not dine in. The order was placed over the phone using the opinion of the waitress as to what was best on the menu. There were few diners when we arrived but we still had a 20min wait on top of the 20min we had already travelled. Pizza and pasta dishes were seasoned well. Felt the dishes we a little on the $$$ side for the servings we received.
Waitress nice but slightly impatient with our phone order.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GenYtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
789 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Busy, tasty but too much garlic”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Home styled Italian cooking in busy fairly cramped noisy bustling restaurant.

Our group of nine diners enjoyed varied main meals - fish/seafood soup, chicken wrapped in prosciutto, veal, steak, and various pastas. While I love garlic and eat it almost every day, I found the fish/seafood soup overwhelmed by the amount of garlic, particularly in the garlic bread which was placed in the soup. This made it difficult not to eat the garlic bread.

Service was attentive for a packed bustling restaurant on a Saturday night.

Wine glasses were at a premium. It took about an hour for all of us to get a wine glass so we made do with water glasses until then which wasn't a problem but purchasing more wine glasses wouldn't go astray for a restaurant.

There are two levels. The upstairs level is up a narrow steep flight of stairs which isn't a problem for most people but was a problem for two in our party.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piedmont Inn also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Piedmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing