We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups downs and OUT”

St Mounts Boutique Hotel & Trattoria
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ups downs and OUT”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had dinner here on a Saturday night, he made the arrangements when checking in which was a breeze. Where do I start, the poor young waitress was ran off her feet and the service was just a bit too quick. We started off with the garlic bread which was 7 out of 10; only issue was the garlic something in the taste and I missed the little bitty bits of garlic. We also had the salmon bruschetta, nice. I feel the bread was pre fried, as the toast had a cold oily feel and taste. On to the mains, we both decided to have a dish off the “grill” and ordered our sauces to the side (which when arrived it was not to the side, a shame). The other half had the rib eye, it was passable, and we questioned each other if something in taste was missing with both our beef. I had the Prosciutto wrapped bit of beef, the first bit was good, and then I hit the huge layer of sinew 2 cm by 5 cm (see image), which ruined that rest of the meal. I am very glad that just this meal was not charged. Had every intention to have dinner here the follow night and decided no thank you. Would we try there again no.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A N, Owner at St Mounts Boutique Hotel & Trattoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are very proud of our restaurant and we receive many, many great reviews. Our meat selection is sourced from local Blue Mountains pastures and almost every night, we receive accolades from patrons about our beef. it is a shame that your meat dish didn't come up to your expectations, THAT IS WHY WE REFUNDED YOUR MONEY.
We want all of our customers to leave our restaurant happy, and we thought you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully articulated menu so hard to decide what to have!!! The veal Marsala and homemade gnocchi were beautiful with flavours in all aspects of the dish complementing each other. We just walked in of the street and will definetley be back next time we drive through... Thank you for an amazing meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaAndSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A N, Owner at St Mounts Boutique Hotel & Trattoria, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. Our chefs are working so hard to create new dishes and I know that our homemade Gnocchi was made with love!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Happy birthday darling”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to the resturant on Saturday night with another couple to celebrate my husbands 50th. We all enjoyed our meal (even though hubby's steak was closer to well done then medium rare). 4 people three course including wine was just over $200 and we where more then happy with that bill.
Our only complaint (to strong a word) was that they where only two wait staff on and with a large party on the other side of the resturant they where earning their money and sometimes hard to get hold off, but they where both lovely and where handling the busyness well and slways pleasant. Overall a great night out and one we will be sure to revisit sometime in the future :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A N, Owner at St Mounts Boutique Hotel & Trattoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of our restaurant. I'm glad you enjoyed your night, and yes the waitstaff were busy, we had a staff member off sick that night and so we were a tad stretched, but our staff do try hard, and that's all I ask of them. Hope to see you again in the near future - you can then see the new changes to the restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wise eating in the blue mountains”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great food and service. And value also, which is rare in some of the tricked-up places up here in the mountains.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank noel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A N, Owner at St Mounts Boutique Hotel & Trattoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you Noel,

We try to please! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a dinner here with friends and our 8 month old. After arriving half an hour late, we found that our table had been given away. It was a busy Saturday night and the restaurant was full.Expecting to be turned away, the staff quickly moved another table in had we were all seated in 15mins. The waitress was run off her feet but still found the time to make sure we were ok and reassured us she would be back soon to take our orders. We had entrees and mains. The food was very good and we did not have to wait too long. Disappointingly, they ran out of coffee beans so we couldn't have coffee at the end of the meal.
Travelling and dining with an 8month old,it was really refreshing to have warm and accommodating staff, who made us feel welcome and relaxed. I would more than likely stop here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upinair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A N, Owner at St Mounts Boutique Hotel & Trattoria, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to seing you again when you are up in the mountains again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Mounts Boutique Hotel & Trattoria also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing