We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did the job, but not great.”
Review of Gardner's Inn

Gardner's Inn
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Blackheath
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It did the job, but not great.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We took the kids out for a meal whilst on holiday. The menu selection was pretty good, however they'd run out of a few of our initial choices. We settled for for special (milk fed rump), and whilst it was cooked as requested (medium rare) it was one of the toughest pieces of meat I've had in years. Otherwise we were generally happy, and the fireplace was a welcome sight when we came in from the cold. When compared with the New Ivanhoe, this wins hands-down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    23
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It is always good for a cold beer and a nice meal”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I ate here a couple of times for dinner. It summer there is a nice terrace in the back where you hear nothing from the very busy highway. The food is good and the beer is cold. What more do you want for dinner after a hard working day?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamburgerjung86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We do not recommend!! ”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This pub used to be a little gem in Blackheath which used to be buzzing with locals and visitors passing by, the weekends would be great outside by the heaters or inside by the fire. However now unfortunately it seems management has changed and it's has slowly gone down hill and it's patronage numbers are a clear sign of that. My friends and I have visited here a few times recently and the most recent visit was our last. Although the food that is served is tasty enough, do be prepared to wait at least 45 mins to an hour to have it served to you, on a quiet night/day!! There are no more lounges around the fire, and the fire is rarely lit anyway! The heaters outside - you need to asked to have them turned on! It is Blackheath or Bleakheath has people say, so heating should be a priority, but is not. The old vibe is completely gone thanks to lack of people, the cold, the useless bar staff and the bright lights! What was once a lovely cosy local pub is now being run to the ground, I hope that the management is taken over by someone new before it is too late as this is a beautiful historic pub!

Helpful?
2 Thank blurredadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious pub grub”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Super pub grub in a lovely environment ... very historic building and has a fab menu.
Love sitting here with a glass of red on cold winter days.
Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Solitary70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ribs to die for”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Dropped in here for a quick Sunday meal. They had slow cooked beef ribs on special which I ordered. Bloke ordered the fish.
Food arrived and it was massive and delicious. The ribs I so wanted to finish but couldn't. Slow cooked, sticky, fall apart finger food full of carnivorous deliciousness.
The fish was lovely, chips perfect and we sat out at the back in the sun.
Couple of glasses of red each - a very nice Sunday afternoon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myst001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardner's Inn also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Gardner's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing