We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of love. laughter and GREAT FOOD!!!”
Review of Cafe Memento - CLOSED

Cafe Memento
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Quiet location, ample parking, great coffee, wholesome food, all cooked with love on the premises. Memento has become a firm favourite with locals and a must do visit whilst travelling in the area. Our open courtyard overlooking Wentworth Street is facing east and makes it a great spot to catch the morning sun.Feel free to bring your favorite drop. We are BYO.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The owner was extremley accomadating, knowledgable, and just an all round beautiful person.

Thank sherree c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

The service is world class what you would expect overseas not here in Australia
I breakfast at Memento at least twice a week if not more often and have been doing so since 2005 and have found the breakfast such as the Swiss Bircher Muesli or fruit muffins, or German Stollen or the sourdough toast a very fitting accompaniment with the excellent coffee. Dinner for me is the Moroccan Eggplant defiantly my favourite - a very good balance of texture and flavour with the green side salad.
The atmosphere at Memento is a very big draw card. On a sunny winters day sitting outdoors amongst the trees and potted plants makes a great spot to unwind and read or catch up with a friend.
What I truly like best about Memento is the genuine warmth and friendliness of the manager and staff and this is so very hard to find in a modern busy world.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

It was so refreshing to have such friendly attention from staff, great food and value for money. I stayed in Blackheath for a weekend with friends and chose Cafe Memento for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Gerhard does an amazing job with his team, thankyou for such a superior experience - LF

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LINDSAY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

As regulars over the years we have decided not to return. The food is lovely but prices have
just become to greedy. 10% surcharge on top of w/end prices is a bit steep.
$56 for 4 cakes (black forest slightly on the stale side) - should have complained.
Overbearing waitress that runs around like Edith Bunker snatching plates and drinks before you've even finished. Have to find somewhere new.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank freespirit550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vego66, Owner at Cafe Memento, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

The statement about the 10% surcharge on top of weekend priced is incorrect.
Our till is programmed for weekday prices, so the 10% are added at the end of the bill. The menu shows both final prices. See the menu on our website.

4 pieces of cake on weekends with table service cost $37.40
4 pieces of cake on weekends Take Away cost $28.00
4 pieces of cake on weekdays cost $34.00
These figures are based on our current menu April 2013 and would have been lower in 2011.
Not sure how the reviewer got to the $56.00 as claimed?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Memento also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing