We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, warm & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and found the whole experience peaceful, warm & friendly. The bed was extremely comfortable. Chris our host took the time to ensure we were comfortable & had all the local information we needed. Ideal spot if you like walking rather than driving into the main street, want a personal touch and hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 119 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to get our fill of autumn colour in the mountains !
A delightful guest house with little touches to make guests welcome and the new owner Chris was great. Little nooks to sit and read near cosy fireplaces, what more could antyone want for a getaway
A cosy warm room and a brilliant breakfast as well.
I suggest you ring them to book rather than use websites, a lovely more personal way to get in touch with Chris !

Room Tip: Ring and talk to Chris about your preferences, we had a front room and beautifully peaceful through...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spent two nights at the guesthouse. Host Chris was absolutely fantastic. The guesthouse is very charming and new host Chris was most welcoming. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. Fund the whole experience really good. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GColt_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really interesting house - old colonial style, mostly wooden. Really comfortable bed; and well heated as 0 degrees outside. Sizeable lounge area and board games; straightforward parking. Very welcoming owner (though I understand it may be soon to change hands). Blackheath really nice - it is quite a walk into the centre for a meal though, and roads poorly lit.
Best thing was probably good amount of comfortable lounge space.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Kubba Roonga is a great choice for those who are not fussed about staying in Leura / Katoomba.
Our room (room 6) was fairly small but with a huge spa bathroom. As others have mentioned, the towels could have been larger, but everything else fantastic. the room was heated, there are heat lamps in the bathroom and a heated blanket on the bed if you wish. would have been good to have digital tv, but that's okay. also, we didn't get 'locally made' chocs as others did - we got ferrero rochers! So a little disappointed with that!
The lounge area was beautiful, cosy and welcoming, especially the complimentary port and the roaring fire and the complimentary newsapapers and magazines.
Breakfast was a little disappointing, edible but not great.
It also would have been good to have 'black-out; curtains on the windows as we were woken quite early with the light coming in the light curtains - not great for a relaxing weekend.
I was a little put out with a knock on the door at two minutes to 11am reminding us that we had 'only two minutes left to check out'. It would have been good to have at least ten minutes grace period before a reminder of check-out time, though perhaps that is the norm for guesthouses compared to hotels where you usually get up to an hour grace.
A recommendation: Cabin and co on the blackheath high st has a great new coffee place in thte back of the shop. Govett's Leap lookout was my favourite of the weekend. And book early for a meal at Ashcrofts as it's well worth the $78 for two or $88 for three courses if you're looking for a special meal.
I would recommend Kubba Roonga to stay. However, of note we saw a for sale sign in the front garden when we stayed (sept 2012) so not sure if a change in ownership will affect the service and environment.
For more infor about Blue Mountains, I wrote on my blog: http://aussiedollars.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/a-weekend-in-the-blue-mountains/

Room Tip: room six was good. I think room one and two are near the front door and you may be disturbed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in room with spa bath. Guesthouse is in good, quiet location with nice gardens. Short taxi ride to local restaurants. The furnishings were good quality, but dated. No bubble bath provided for spa and towels were just small bath towels, not bath sheets. TV wasn't digital and didn't even get ABC, plus no fridge in room - just communal one in dining room. Positives were robes, free wi-fi and chocolates, and freshly cooked breakfast, fruit and pot of tea were great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Koobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Blue Mountains are simply amazing...and if you stay at Kubba Roonga you're just being spoilt!

Our rooms were beautiful, clean and warm (the heaters were put on for us by staff in the afternoon as it was a cold winter's day and the fire is lit early in the guest lounge to ensure we're all toasty!) with a lovely homely feel to the lounge areas.

The breakfast was also lovely and hearty, with special attention to guests being able to access glasses and drinks throughout the day and night (a wine fridge, iced water available, tea and coffee area). Just lovely.

Big thumbs up for Kubba Roonga! Oh, it's just down the road from Govett's Leap too---a beauitful and uncommercialised area of the Blue Mountains.

PS. We were in rooms 1 and 2 (by the front door), and were not disturbed by any noise of people entering/exiting the property- a perfect night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigglypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.2 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Glenella Blue Mountains
Glenella Blue Mountains
#2 of 7 in Blackheath
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Address: 9 Brentwood Ave, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range: $149 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kubba Roonga Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a beautiful heritage guesthouse at Blackheath in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park. You can walk into the National Park from your door to enjoy the many spectacular walks in the area as well as being 10 minutes away from other major attractions such as the three Sisters and the villages of Katoomba and Leura. At Kubba Roonga you will find a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts to ensure you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Kubba Roonga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing