We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge
Wickham Nsw
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A pleasant return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We used to stay here every year in the spring school holidays, but hadn't returned since it had been under new management. We were pleased to find it was still a lovely spot and perfect accommodation for the mountains, with the fireplace and bush setting. The office shuts early (4pm), so would have been nice if the included bbq pack had been placed in our fridge, rather than having to wait till the next day to receive this, but will hopefully be making this an annual event once again.

Room Tip: All good, but preferably not the one closest to the car park. No problem with noise, but a little le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JembyRinjah, Manager at Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Cary7,
Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear reviews from our return guests.
We are open 8 hours Mon - Sat and to keep our prices competitive we do close at 4pm, with staff contactable after hours, if needed. The reasoning behind our hours we have found over the years that most guests come by reception in the morning to enjoy a tea or coffee and a chat with reception staff then are out most of the day, to return to there self contained cabins and enjoy the peace and serenity of Jemby.
Its unfortunate that there must have been some miss communication as we do usually deliver all baskets to cabins if arriving after hours, apologies.
We do hope to see return to Jemby some day in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited Jemby-Rinjah with friends from Hong Kong. Definitely the place to visit in Winter with the fireplace going and rooms being kept warm and toasty. We enjoyed our cabin. The kids loved the bunk beds, the kitchen had just what we needed. The bird feeding was an experience never to forget, plus the BBQ we had on the 2nd night was fun with the fire pit going for marshmellows after dinner. Town was not a long drive so did a pub dinner our first night. Close drive to Leura and Katoomba so got to see the sights such as Three Sisters etc and did some great walks around the accommodation. Staff were so helpful, polite and friendly with extra touches such as wine and brekkie hamper appreciated. Would definitely return...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanuatugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JembyRinjah, Manager at Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Vanuatugirl,

The staff wish to thank you for your review. This is what Jemby is all about getting back to basics and leaving the stresses of city life behind, and enjoying the company of loved ones, in a Eco friendly environment.
We hope you join us again here at Jemby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We bought our accommodation through a voucher and for the price i think was really reasonable, we got chocolates on arrival a bottle of wine and also breakfast at the restaurant the next day and a hamper the following morning because it was a Monday and the restaurant wasn't open. We had dinner at the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was fantastic, very rustic and homely just what you want at the mountains I had the lamb shanks which where really great and my husband had the homemade pie. Yum Yum we then sat around the fire pit and had a port and coffee. The cabin was warm and cosy with the fire going, cooking area fairly basic but who goes away to cook. Close to look outs and things to do and staff went out of their way to be helpful. I would recommend this place for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracybundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Jemby-Rinjah in May with family visiting from the UK. We found the cabin wonderfully cosy and peaceful, and equipped with all the basic stuff we needed. Wood burning stove was fantastic - we spent one evening just relaxing around it watching a DVD borrowed from reception which was handy! Particularly enjoyed the opportunity to hand-feed the birds in the morning - so beautiful and a memorable experience! Ideally situated for bush walks and amazing views of the mountains just up the end of the road. Would definitely advise taking a torch if you go out at night as it's pretty dimly lit all round the site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

While the location is secluded the individual cabins or lodges are quite close to each other so not quite the feeling of isolation that we expected. Close driving distance to all the favourite look outs and walking trails in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 292fiona292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe cabin, a bit roomier than the smaller ones, with a Japanese style plunge spa, gowns and a bottle of wine provided. The cabin was kept warm by the slow combustion stove, which was going when we arrived, and extremely warm upstairs in the sleeping area. Very basic kitchen facilities, but all we needed for a couple of nights, with a continental breakfast box provided. We ate out in town for dinner and lunch , definitely a bit far to walk on a cold night but just a short drive.
The loveliest feature of Jemby Rinjah, is its location in the midst of the national park. All cabins are natural looking, well blended into the surrounding bush land. It is quite beautiful waking to the sights and sounds of truly unspoilt bush. Staff are pleasant and helpful and the place is so quiet and peaceful. Wifi in reception area, you can sit around the sunken fireplace, until 4 pm.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neece2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just spent two nights in one of the cabins. It is a very peaceful environment and close to bush walks. It is Eco-friendly but the cabins could do with some TLC. The fire is lovely and cosy and the cabins are comfortable and reasonably spacious but not worth what was charged. There is no storage or hanging space so one has to live out of a suitcase. The curtains are flimsy and hence outside lighting creeps in as does the early morning light. Also, there are quirky rules which if not followed can incur extra charges on credit cards if not followed - not a pleasant surprise to find after you get home! A car is a must as the cooking facilities are basic and the nearest eateries are several minutes-drive away. One visit was enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elzed51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JembyRinjah, Manager at Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Jemby Rinjah is one of the first sustainable working Tourism Developments in Australia & we pride ourselves in our Eco friendly approach to all matters concerned with our complex. Our cabins are cosy with slow combustion fireplaces, light filled , which is not the way of Jemby.have fold out luggage holders and also hanging space in the main bedroom and a cupboard for hanging and folded clothes in the second room. The curtains are light in colour as to help encourage the sunshine in to help maintain warmth in the cabins.
Rules and policy's are stated on your Reservation slip that you sign upon check in, as in all Accommodation establishments, as do our compendiums.
It was not a surprise as you were not charged. I assure you it is not a pleasant surprise for staff either when a couple use five beds and are charged only as a double, which has not covered your double room rate.
Jemby is located in the heart of the National Park, surrounded by natural unspoilt bushland and most guests know this before they make a booking with us. Local shopping is only a five minute drive which we feel is not to far out of the way for our guests.
Jemby can supply a selection of baskets for guests to purchase to save such drive to the local shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge

Property: Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge
Address: 336 Evans Lookout Rd, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular Blue Mountains from the comfort and tranquility of the award winning Jemby Rinjah Eco Lodge. A unique Australian ecotourism escape in the heart of the Blue Mountains.Get back to nature & replace the phones ringing with birds singing....Situated in the heart of the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park and mere metres to some of the most glorious lookouts and bush walking trails in the world. Here at Jemby on 16 acres of unspoilt Australian bush we have two styles of Accommodation.Secluded Eco Bush Cabins all fully self contained with kitchenette and slow combustion fire. Group shared Lodges with 18 beds, 2 bathrooms, with Bbq on own private verandah. Jemby is the perfect home base for exploring the hidden gems of the Blue Mountains a home away from home.We pride ourselves on our Eco friendliness, comfy accommodation. No bells and whistles here, just the sound of mother nature calling. .Why not have your next work Conference or team building event here with us at Jemby,. With a fully equipped Conference Centre in a picturesque part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jemby-Rinjah Eco Hotel Blackheath
Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing