We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food but average service”
Review of Vesta

Vesta
Reserve with
Vesta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Blackheath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food but average service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

A lovely setting and fantastic, delicious food, we thoroughly enjoyed the special we selected; wood fired pork belly with apple sauce, potatoes and greens. The drinks selection was nice, we had a nice white wine & a local cider.
However, along the lines of some previous reviews, we found the head waiter (?owner) to be extremely arrogant and falling over other tables. When I attempted to compliment the restaurant, he was rude, dismissive and didn't want to engage in conversation. He then proceeded to ignore us for the rest of the evening whilst ushering other seemingly important people out the door.
An improvement in attitude would give this restaurant 5 stars.

Helpful?
6 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    92
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went to Vesta on a Sunday afternoon with a big group of friends. What an excellent food and service!
My partner and I had the lamb and it was perfect. We also tried other people's dishes and we were never disappointed. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chevalierlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Rustic food and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The place is smart looking, the staff are friendly and the food is rustic, good quality, well prepared and nicely presented. Very fresh and healthy. A nice streamline menu - not too many choices to confuse. Spanish/ Meditteranean/Middle Eastern influences. Fragrant herbs. Very good wine list. Great atmosphere, unrushed, cosy and relaxing. Open for lunch on weekends too, so a great choice if going for a drive from Sydney. But if this is the case, plan and book a table in advance as the restaurant will be full. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal for a while”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The friendly staff, great food, buzzy mood, good prices, I could go there anytime (and I will). We go midweek when it is BYO which makes it even better - if you can get a table).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertoLezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We visited Vesta with a group of friends on Saturday 17 May, 2014 and what a great time we all had.

We loved the fact that the restaurant isn't a huge space, but rather it's warm, cosy and rustic with exposed brick and a real homely feel. Given that Vesta is the Roman Goddess of hearth, home and family I reckon it's just perfect.

We ignored the regular menu for the specials of share platters of pork belly (served with greens, baked spuds and a delicious sauce) and another of slow-roasted lamb shoulder (served with greens, baked potatoes and gravy). The pork belly was delicious with crispy crackling and the lamb was falling off the bone and beautifully cooked. Absolutely delicious! I am drooling just thinking about it ;)

Good service, spotlessly clean amenities, a decent wine list, yummy desserts and good coffee too.

As locals we like to support our local restaurants and we'll have no problem heading back to Vesta. In fact, we've already booked to go again very soon.

Book it and go. And remember to take your inner carnivore along for the ride!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SujoyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesta also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Vesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing