We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location in Blue Mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Mountains Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Mountains Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Blackheath
Home counties
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Blue Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here overnight in preference to Katoomba because it was very good value and we were not disappointed. It is a slightly older motel but the rooms were clean and very comfortable and thankfully had heating because it was a very cold night and there was ice on the car in the morning. Its location is only a few minutes drive from some of the best viewing points in the area, particularly Govett's Leap and Pulpit Rock. The owners were very helpful with directions and also very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at High Mountains Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for that! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
23
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed recently after booking online and our room was nothing like the photo images I have seen.
The double bed sagged so badly in the middle that my wife and I slept poorly. Aside from this, the air brakes on trucks through the night kept waking us. Lightbulbs were missing and the carpet was badly stained and very old. The lounge was also stained and the wall heaters noisy.
The bathroom was very old (50's tiles, basin, toilet).
Maybe there are better rooms but ours was a shocker! Beware!

Room Tip: Huge difference in rooms - maybe some have ever been renovated for 40 years!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VegemiteSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Manager at High Mountains Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We pride ourselves as having good beds and clean rooms so it would be appreciated if you phoned me on 02 4787 8216 and told us which room you were in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackheath hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is close to a number of hikes in the Blue Mountains around Blackheath. Perfect if you need a place to drop your gear for the day. On the plus side, it has free Wi-Fi! Staff was friendly and helpful. Room is basic, shower was a bit small and dark but serviceable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, compact but fine for one night. Staff were welcoming, friendly and very obliging. Free wi- fi + cooked breakfast all for $95.00, excellent value for one night. Rooms are small but that was not important for us, lovely Italian restaurant across the road as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights after accommodation we had booked at another hotel fell through. Being a long weekend, this was basically the only place in the Blue Mountains that had free rooms at very short notice. For what it was, this motel represented reasonable value. While basic, and having a ‘motel’ feel, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The heaters also did a great job at keeping the rooms warm and cosy. It is also a good base for exploring the Blue Mountains – being only a short drive to other towns like Katoomba and Leura. There is also a great Italian restaurant just across the road. The only point to note would note is that it is located on the main road into Blackheath so there is some traffic noise at night time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noleave-nolife12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong & Bellarine, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this motel for a week recently. The room we had was clean and comfortable and budget priced. Free wifi was included and the motel was within easy walking distance to Blackheaths shopping area and within easy reach to most of the Blue mountains attractions. The only drawback with this motel is its location on the busy Great Western highway and an adjacent main rail line which meant a fair amount of traffic noise. Despite this issue I would certainly consider this motel again if staying in the area as it represented reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Famrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed overnight recently in a twin room for $99 (without the breakfast). It represented good value and I found the owner to be friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, the beds comfortable, the heater was very effective, so for "no frills" accommodation in an older style motel I can recommend High Mountains Motor Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ookie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.6 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.1 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Mountains Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Mountains Motor Inn

Property: High Mountains Motor Inn
Address: 193 Great Western Hwy, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Mountains Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Mountains Motor Inn is in the heart of the Blue Mountains. Clean, comfortable beds at the an affordable price. Rooms have been renovated and have good beds. Inclusions are heater, mini fridge, toaster, tea and coffe making facilities, ensuite, mirrors, lamps, tables and chairs, internet hotspots in each room, plus phone, alarm clock radio, iron and board. We are close to all the major Blue Mountains attractions yet out of the crowds in the peaceful village of Blackheath. High Mountains is only 500 meters from the cafes and award winning restaurants. Antique, gift and craft shops. Experience the true Blue Mountains on some of the great walks like the "Grand Canyon" walk or hike to The Blue Gum Forest. There are great views of the Megalong Valley and the Grose Valley on either side of the town. Use us as a base for your adventures, horse riding, a trip to Jenolan Caves or a peaceful mountain rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your High Mountains Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Mountains Motor Inn Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing