We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely getaway destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely getaway destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I came here as part of a large group for a wedding which booked out the entire place. I can' speak highly enough of the place. It was clean and well maintained, for a start. The rooms were comfortable and had a lovely view of the gardens. Everything was well set out and equipped. It is close to beautiful lookouts and great restaurants. I highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    53
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
104
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway hosted our 3 day wedding extravaganza, myself and my beautiful wife were accommodated in one of the wonderful possum houses with views over the valley, stunning wildlife and surrounds.

The staff could not have been more hospitable and personable making our weekend one to remember.

The hot spa, wood fire, and dreamy bed were so relaxing (we didn't want to go home). The well tended grounds with gardens coming into bloom, set the scene for our lovely spring wedding.

Our 30 guests who were put up in the federation lodges, could only heap praise upon how great their stay was and the delightful time they had around the BBQ, fire pit and heated pool with friends and family.

A fantastic time was had by all and a weekend to never be forgotten.

Thank you for our wonderful stay, and we will be back sooner rather than later.

Clint & Lisa

Room Tip: Possum house 3 provides the best views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Possums for three nights in August 2012. We have stayed there many times and also in all other cottages at Federation Gardens over the past 20 years. We loved our three night stay in August. The wood heating was perfect and kept us warm and the quietness of the surroundings was great for a well earned rest.
We found the bed very comfortable and plenty in the basket for some nice breakfasts. The kitchen was well equipped for our stay and the office staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have just left from staying in one of the couples cottages and it was terrible the room was covered in dust and cobwebs and the bed was really uncomfortable and hard. They have a 12pm checkout but you cant sleepin as soon as the sun comes up the room is to bright

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrissmith32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We (a family of 2 adults and 2 children) stayed here (at Federation Gardens) for 2 nights in late July 2012 and could not fault it in anyway. We originally stayed here in September 2011 and at the time found the rooms and general grounds to be somewhat untidy and lacking in attention to details. However our stay in late July 2012 saw the rooms to be very clean, warm, comfortable with new bedding, and the grounds and resort facilities to be vastly better and inviting. The feel of the property is very welcoming and I would recommend this property to anyome heading up to the Blue Mountains. The 2 bedroom cabins are ideal for families and the firepit for toasting marshmellows is a must. We look forward to returning again in the near future - keep up the great work and the improvements in the past 9 months are noticeable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently with a family
Group of 6 Adults and 3 children. The accomodation was spacious and clean.

We enjoyed toasting marshmellows in the firepit at night and also using the wonderful heated pool. My husband also really enjoyed a game of tennis on your tennis court.

What a beautiful and well thought out place for family holidays. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesaH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stwed in the possums hideaway
Peaceful, romantic an excellent place to stay for a romantic trip to the blue mountains.
Short trip to Katoomba

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkd7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway

Property: Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
Address: 185 Evans Lookout Road, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing