We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackheath Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redleaf Resort(Blackheath)
$106
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norwood Mountain Lodge(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
$203
$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gardners Inn Hotel(Blackheath)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The George Boutique Hotel(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glenella Guesthouse(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
$213
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Secrets Hideaway(Blackheath)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
85
84
15
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
84
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight sleeperdeluxe roomtrain noiseblue mountainshot showerfriendly ownersgreat western highwaydark woodfresh milkspent nights hereattending a weddingrestaurants and pubsshared gardenoutdoor seatinglast minute bookingmain roadon arrival
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 190 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

at first this place seemed nice and the staff very friendly, willing to do anything for us. Once inside the room I found it to be cramped, dank, mouldy in some parts and quite loud.

Noise was a major issue for me as it is located adjacent to the main highway and main trainline which resulted in semi trucks and heavy rail passing through at all hours of the night. the double glazing windows seemed to be paper thin and the bedsheets unclean adding insult to injury.

the straw that broke the camel's back was the rudeness of the staff the next day and the blatant greed of them by creating farcical extra 'cleaning' to scab an extra $10 off us.


NEVER.STAYING.HERE.A-G-A-I-N!!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cosi555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackheathMotorInn, Owner at Blackheath Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear cosi555,
Thank you for your recent review ,but it is shame you chose to omit several facts in the account of your stay.
When phoning to book, you requested a DOUBLE room with a view and were advised that only Deluxe rooms or the Spa Suite were looking onto the gardens, the Standard rooms that had that outlook were booked.
The Standard rooms at the front of the motel were available and you said that would be fine.

Yes I was nice and friendly when you checked in and I was again when you came back later to see if you could have a room away from the road.Yes you could but you didn't want to pay the extra, so again you said you would stay in the room booked.No mention was then made of the room being cramped, dank, mouldy or loud.If mentioned AND had it been true, every effort would have been made to rectify the situation. However,the rooms are regularly spring cleaned and cleaned daily to a very high standard( as noted at the last AAA inspection)
You knew when you booked that you would be close to the road, so if noise was an issue for you why go ahead and book?
You were also mistaken in stating the sheets were unclean, my husband launders them and at all times clean fresh sheets are used.

Prior to you checking out I was advised that you had used both the Queen and Single beds, whilst booking and paying for a Double. On check out , you denied using the 2nd bed until I phoned the room and spoke again to housekeeper.You then claimed that you were not aware that Twin share was an extra $10.I then politely showed you on the website, where you initially inquired, the clause that states twin share is an extra $10.

I later apologized on your behalf,to the 2 elderly guests whose misfortune it was to be packing their car as your partner did a wheel spin in the gravel car park on departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The good things: large room, rustic look, plenty coffee, sugar, tea and milk, plenty of clean towels, small and uncrowded motel.
The bad things: Incredibly noisy room (trucks all night, and trains with horns) (even ear plugs aren't enough); bit dark and dingy; single bed smelt musty like it hadn't been changed in months; there was a towel covering the floor under the old-style air conditioner (must be due to a leak), and floor under it smelt musty and mouldy; one of the powerpoints didn't work; small toilet which was low and squashed next to wall; awkward to use water from sink taps; outer covers on beds were very old and stained; single bed was smaller than average single size (good for kids only) and very soft (broken springs?). Be warned they may add charges for unintentional extra usage of facilities without clear explanations.

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere near road rooms, way too noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Szivem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I was surprised by all the positive reviews on here because my husband and I did not think this place was THAT great by any means.
When we arrived the man at reception seemed a bit rushed but was friendly.
The rooms are outdated but they are spacious and also have upgraded TVs.
The sheets ---- NEED to be changed. They are not crisp and they are not white. They are old and dingy, and so is the bathroom.
The location, however, is good for walking to bars and restaurants. Just be aware it is close to the train station which is loud at night.
I would recommend spending a bit more and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilFlatFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were happy at the Blackheath Motor Inn for the one night we spent here as a family. While the room wasn't all that large, it did have a bit more character than the usual motel room. We also felt the bed was more comfortable than most. My only real complaint was the traffic noise - being right on the Great Western Highway, I did find the noise of passing traffic to be quite noticeable, although it does depend on the person, as it didn't bother my wife. There is a nice garden/lawn at the side which the kids enjoyed. (Re things nearby, we enjoyed our dinner (despite the long wait) at the pub/restaurant just a 2 minute walk (left) down the road, and if you do no other walk/lookout in the Blue Mountains, head down the first side street after the motel (towards Katoomba) to Pulpit Rock - it is a spectacular view for a short 5-10 min walk !) In summary, traffic noise aside, this is a good option in Blackheath.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WallanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I was looking for a budget stay in the Blue Mountains and came accross the Blackheath Motor Inn.
I booked 2 standard rooms on their website. The booking process went smoothly and i even received a personal email from the owner.
On reception i was warmly greeted. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
Good selection of tv channels on flatscreen tv. Complimentary tea and coffee.
The owners clearly take pride in their work and provide details of recommended places to eat and drink as well as other things to do.
I would stay again and i would recommend to anyone searching for budget accomodation.
Just great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jd-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews