We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis only 2 hours from Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenella Blue Mountains
Ranked #2 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

According to the literature given to us upon arrival Glenella Guest House has been operating as a guest house since 1909. In a building with such character it has been good to see a considerable number of the new additions have been kept in sympathy with the original decor. Keeping to the integrity of the building is paramount in a business that puts so much emphasis on personal service and I can see why it is so popular with wedding parties.
We however are just here for a couple of days and find it an excellent base from which to do some sightseeing in the Blue Mountain area.
With very comfortable rooms and tea making facilities in the room we felt very soon at home. As this part of Australia is subject to climatic variations we more associate with our home in the UK it was pleasing to see that the temperature control on the a/c doubles as a heater too, we needed this a little last night!
A relaxing communal lounge with large TV and ample supply of DVD's was appreciated as too was the veranda for outside sitting should the temperature rise. In the restaurant/dining room a very unique 14 seater couch certainly turned a few heads over a very ample breakfast.
Glenella is just off the main road in a very quiet end of Blackheath but easily within walking distance of a good number of differing dining experiences. With our host, Katherine, able to point us to a number of recommended restaurants our only problem seems to be not arranging to stay longer! A very relaxing break from the noise and mayhem of central Sydney, not so far away but, as far as we are concerned, in another world.

Room Tip: A room at the front was appreciated for a personal veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoshSod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

As other writers have noted Glenella is ideally situated close to the action in Blackheath, an easy walk to station, shops and eateries and a great base for walking. The rooms are small but comfortable with quality linens and comfortable beds. Each room has reverse cycle air conditioning (a must in the changeable mountain climate) but also has opening windows which open onto Blackheath garden suburbia. The property is looking tired and in need of a little sprucing up, and perhaps the owners are working on this. The hostess, Katherine, was welcoming and her recommendations for dinner were detailed and spot on. Given Glenella's past in the culinary world it is disappointing to see the dining room relegated to a breakfast space. We only opted forcereal and toast though were offered a cooked breakfast. If you're a drinker coffee I'd suggest specifying 'strong' or going for a post breakfast stroll to one of the many coffee spots in Blackheath.

Those who remember the Glenella glory days of the 80's may want to hold off revisiting until this incarnation of the property decides what it wants to do. But for the price it was an OK stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirraburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

On the fifth week of our Australian vacation, we found this guesthouse a welcome and unexpected stay. After staying at nearly a dozen locations across Australia, for this price range we thought this was an excellent value and tops our list. In addition to a lovely, albeit cozy room, there was great attention to the little details. We had high quality sheets and large, thick bath towels (my 6'4" husband fit), plus a bottle of water, tea and coffee in our room. In the morning, we had a HUGE cooked breakfast including cappuccinos at no extra charge. As others have noted the host, Katherine, was terrific and went out of her way to be accomodating. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on, she was flexible with our schedule, and had good local knowledge.

We didn't realize how good the location was until we went to Katumba (eek!) after two days in Blackheath. We did not see any of the cleaning issues in our room or the dining area mentioned by previous reviewer. (Our teacups were even changed out during our two night stay.)

We are recommending this location to all of our Aussie friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very attractive looking 'old world' property but that's where the charm ends.

The standard double room is the smallest room I have ever stayed in. It is less than 9 foot square, which means there is no space for a wardrobe, just a tiny hanging rail & a small chest of drawers, with most of the area taken up by the double bed.

In spite of the room being so small, the owners must have still found it too great an effort to clean, as all surfaces were thick with dust and the area under the bed was just horrific. On top of this there was an infestation of moths in the curtains.

Breakfast was ok, but again, the dining room floor was covered in old bits of food and dirt and didn't look like it had been cleaned for weeks.

The owners really need to get their act together. Buy themselves a vacuum Cleaner! Dirty isn't quaint. Rooms need cleaning every now & again. Also guests need to be warned that the 'standard double rooms' are really just single rooms with a double bed squeezed in.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard double room and if you suffer from asthma, bring a face mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This property is only a couple minutes walk from the restaurants, cafes, pub and railway station in Blackheath. It is an attractive large old house. There is some off-street parking. The manager was very friendly. The common room is the first room you walk into. It is a large area and has couches, a large table, TV, books etc. A nice place to spend some time and maybe meet some other guests. And just as well because our room was very small. I don't mind a small room but this was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in. Plus our room needed a bit of TLC as well. We had a verandah which was nice. Maybe there are larger rooms but they don't have verandahs. Maybe that is the trade-off. I believe the food here is good but we didn't get around to trying it.

Blackheath was a small sleepy town 10 to 15 years ago. It is becoming a bit trendier these days. This Guest House has the makings of being a very nice place but it just isn't quite there yet. The small room will always be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. If there are large rooms but they don't have verandahs, and you want acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickey_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I don't usually use words like "charming" when describing places, but there's no way to avoid it: this place is. The hostess, Katherine, was terribly nice and looked after everything we needed. Our room was small, but it was comfortable, and it opened out onto the veranda where we sat, drank wine and nursed our post-hike aches.

It's convenient too: Glenella is very close to everything in Blackheath...restaurants, shops...even the train station is only a few minutes' walk. Of course, breakfast was even more convenient as Katherine turned out an excellent hot meal in the dining room each day.

One piece of advice for anyone planning to use this as home base for a hike in the Blue Mountains National Park: drive to/from the park, or arrange to be picked up, especially if you do the Grand Canyon hike. You end up a 45 minute walk from the hotel.

One final note, for any French speakers planning to hike in the Blue Mountains (and we met several): Katherine speaks excellent French.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

What a lovely surprise this historic guest house is!
We only stayed one night but wished we'd booked for longer.
The rooms and the guest areas are full of old world charm and the whole place has a cosy charm.
The location is perfect, just down the street from the centre of Blackheath with it's cafes and restaurants and antique shops.
And it's right in the centre of the mountains close to lots of bushwalks etc.
The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was a treat!
We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieBushSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.3 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#4 of 7 in Blackheath
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Blackheath
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Secrets Hideaway
Secrets Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Blackheath
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenella Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenella Blue Mountains

Address: 56-60 Govetts Leap Rd, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range: $116 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenella Blue Mountains 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage-listed Glenella Guesthouse B&B is within walking distance of local shops, restaurants and bush walks. Public transport is within minutes from the property. All rooms offer private en-suite facilities with queen beds. Lounge has fireplace for winter, access to a fridge. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenella Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenella Blue Mountains Blackheath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing