We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dining experience ”

Blue Jax Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Blackheath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Description: Private Dining for Dinner Parties, all Celebrations, Murder Mystery Events, Weddings. Bookings required. Cuisine customised to your requests. From corporate events to Bookclubs to Birthday Parties Blue Jax, caters with great tasting food, attention to detail and excellent personal service. We want your visit with us to be perfect.
Restaurant details
Description: Private Dining for Dinner Parties, all Celebrations, Murder Mystery Events, Weddings. Bookings required. Cuisine customised to your requests. From corporate events to Bookclubs to Birthday Parties Blue Jax, caters with great tasting food, attention to detail and excellent personal service. We want your visit with us to be perfect.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

Lovely romantic restaurant with wood fireplace beautiful garden views. Waiter was fantastic gave us our space but was always available when required. Food was delicious very large servings and very quick service. Would highly recommend this restaurant we look forward to visiting again.

Thank belljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 91 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

Warm friendly mountains service and ambience coupled with a respectable serving of “pub grub”. The Sydney menu prices do not match the quality of the food. Unfortunately a little disappointing.

1  Thank janine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki G, Owner at Blue Jax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Thank you Janine for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018

It was a stinking hot day, and we felt a little wary about going anywhere at all for lunch. When we arrived at Blue Jax, we were greeted by the owner and escorted into the very pleasantly cool restaurant. We were the only table booked for lunch, and the owner spent a considerable time talking with us - a really nice chap.

The menu looked interesting, but fairly brief. We chose the crab salad and field mushroom & thyme risotto for entrées. We had the prawn and pea risotto, chicken & leek scaloppini and lamb cutlets with sidewinders for mains.The crab salad was a good sized serve, with a lettuce base and apart from the crab it had garnishes of mango pieces, avocado and pickled onions. The mushroom risotto was another good sized serve which disappeared quickly. My chicken was absolutely delicious, while we all waited in anticipation for the lamb cutlets, or more particularly the accompanying sidewinders, which I always thought were rattlesnakes, but turned out to be little curls of potato. The prawn and pea risotto was adjudged excellent.

There were tempting desserts available, but we had all had plenty to eat. There were also three side dishes on the menu which we didn't try - next time I go there [and there will be a next time] I will be sure to try the broccoli with pine nuts and white sauce side dish.

The meal was very good value - entrees $16-18, mains $25-32 and desserts $16.

Blue Jax restaurant is part of The George boutique hotel and rooms are available for those who would like to stay the night. The rooms are currently being upgraded and the finished rooms look really comfortable
.
And one final point about the presentation of the menu - 'with' is spelled out in full and not represented by the underlined letter w, as it is in so many establishments which should know better. Sorry, just a pet gripe of mine!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank grahamwoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have been to Blue Jax quite a few times now and we keep going back, food is amazing, service is fantastic, the staff are lovely and the owners come around through the evening making sure everything is to your liking. The tables are spaced out so you don’t feel like you are sitting on top of each other. We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely quiet restaurant with great food and great service.

Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki G, Owner at Blue Jax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Thanks Erin, It is always good to see you both. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017

Came on a Friday night (make sure to call ahead to check when it's open as we realised too late it was closed on Thursday). The restaurant is part of a boutique hotel.

There was only one guy doing service but he was really attentive and gave us a good suggestion for the next day. We had the seafood chowder, confit duck and cherries, and beef and burgundy pie. The food was all pretty nice and the atmosphere and setting was comfy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kazza_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki G, Owner at Blue Jax Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Hi kazza_oz,
We are very pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, we love our guests to enjoy their meal in a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Jax Restaurant also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Jax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing