We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak sandwich”
Review of Wattle Cafe

Wattle Cafe
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Blackheath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best steak sandwich”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is worth visiting.. Great coffee, cakes and the best steak sandwiches.. Be hungry if you order one

Helpful?
Thank Axel_Omen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    92
    24
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Chips with the lime aoili were awesome. I had the chicken ceasar salad and it was large and very tasty and also easy to eat. The waitress was lovely and accommodating. Kid friendly. Bit pricey but food was great quality, and I'm happy to pay for great food

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good food, reasonably priced, prompt service”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stopped in there on Sunday on the way back from the Elvis Festival in Parkes. Paid $11 for the egg/bacon/rocket salad & cheese roll which, contrary to other people's opinion, I regarded as quite reasonable. Long black was just right - not too strong that you could stand a spoon up in it, nor too weak. I earn good money and am not afraid to spend it if I think I'm getting good value.
Service was good, even though the staff were being run off their feet at 11 am on a Sunday in the Blue Mountains. I had just walked in there from next door where I had been asked to take a seat and wait for service....after 10 minutes I got up and went to the Wattle Cafe.
On the minus side, and it's a minor gripe, they could do with those magnetic curtains over the door to keep those flies out. That or an air curtain/blower would do the trick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overly priced”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We called in on Sunday afternoon & ordered one salad & 4 coffees which cost just over $30 which was a lot higher than what was on the menus. Didn't notice until we had paid for it what the total was charged but if they have a surcharge on Sundays then it should be clearly noted for customers to see...that's all we could put the overcharge to which equated to 20% of the bill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 20072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great little cafe”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

good coffee, and nice breakfasts. Visited twice while we were in Blackheath recently. Definitely a place to head back to on our next visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank youdalep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wattle Cafe also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Wattle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing