We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Playhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Barraba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maitland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico !”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just spent the past weekend at The Playhouse, part of a group of school friends and partners .
This was our fifteenth annual get together, experiencing a different venue each year, including a week in Tuscany.
We were all mightily impressed with the facilities, the food, but more importantly with Andrew and his wonderful staff. As other reviewers have said, their warm and generous hospitality is just wonderful.
If you are a group of friends looking for a venue to stay at, I don't think you will leave disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgio1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
22
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for work for 2 nights. The hospitality was very good and the food was excellent both breakfast and dinner. They have a little theatrette and art exhibition.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is my first posting on Trip Advisor and I have stayed in over twenty countries across five continents but I felt compelled to review this one.
I organised a Bridal Shower 'High Tea' for a girlfriend at The Playhouse Hotel and was blown away by how such a beautiful, artistic hotel with an intimate theatre could possibly be in such a remote area such as rural NSW. It is quite peculiar how it is set out, like something you might find in London or Europe.
Andrew and Hadden the hosts, along with their friendly team were very accommodating and bent over backwards for what I had asked of them and the food was scrumptious and plentiful.
We stayed in the apartment room which was like a studio room with a double bed and two single beds and a kitchenette, we required an additional bed so there were three single bed and it was still very spacious, modern and clean.
The prices for both food and accommodation are very, very, reasonable (In comparison to the same quality you would find in the major cities, infact, I am yet to find an equally nice hotel in Sydney).
I would love to stay at the Playhouse Hotel again, next time with my husband.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiced85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We felt like we were at home by the end of the stay. The food is first class and the staff are incredibly accommodating. There are so many different spaces in the hotel and always something going on. We loved it! Country hospitality at its best, yet class all over!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyliem3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had a meeting there today. Wow!!!
The food was to die for, the dessert yummo.
The serve was absolutely brilliant, nothing was to much trouble, everyone was so polite and best of all everyone had a smile on their face. And we did too.
Well done guys and girls.
We will be back :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raelene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at The Playhouse in September 2011 with our 9 year old son, who had an absolute ball helping Andrew set up for a function not to mention hanging around the cinema. I have visited many times and always get a buzz from the vibe that Andrew, Haddon and the staff create. Everything's done with energy and enthusiasm. Nothing is too much trouble. And you have a choice- you can be part of the whirlwind or withdraw to a comfy chair with the papers and a very good coffee or a freshly-prepared, beautifully-presented yummy treat. Our room was quiet and comfortable with quality furnishings and linen, We also had a kitchenette and dining table, which we didn't use as the food downstairs is too good to miss out. The Playhouse is not just a hotel, it's a consuming passion for the owners. There's always something happening ... a play, a movie, a dinner, an exhibition, a performance. Although many events are planned in advance they often have that fresh, spontaneous atmosphere that is born of creativity and a sense of fun. I have come away every time with a smile on my face. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: One night is not enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We chanced upon The Play House quite by chance.We were tired and ready for a 'day off' from travelling.I think that the hotel and it's hosts Haddon & Andrew are wounderful!They immediatly plied us with coffee and a very clean and comfortable room. We were not able to eat there that night, but all the meals the next day were perfect, there was no menue, it was fish that night..I don't eat fish..not a problem, another dish was made for me.! I think we were lucky to be able to stay two nights without booking.I would recommend booking. We even had our own private viewing in the 'cinama'. Andrew and Haddon clearly love their hotel and almost hate the thought of guests having to pay !!

Room Tip: Ask to see it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Playhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playhouse Hotel

Property: The Playhouse Hotel
Address: 121-123 Queen St, Barraba, New South Wales 2347, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Barraba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barraba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular boutique hotel backs up superb amenities with friendly service. Situated halfway between Sydney and Brisbane, the hotel makes a great place for an overnight stay. It's also the perfect place for hosting special events such as reunions, small conferences, parties and so on. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing