We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private getaway”
Review of Hotel Lagunita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lagunita
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I found Yelapa and Hotel Lagunita in a travel magazine as a place to escape it all. And Yelapa was perfect for that. Luke and his staff are wonderful and provide a beautiful natural setting. I was planning on being there 6 days and if I did nothing but sit on the beach with a beer and a book I would have been very happy. I was lucky to share my time with some other great people I met there. Had a blast exploring the town and playing soccer on the beach and swimming and fishing with my new friends.
It's the best deal you'll ever find for beachfront rooms. I went in August which can be very hot and humid, but afternoon rain cooled off everything. As everyone else says it's not the Ritz but Hotel Lagunita has ten times more charm! Say hi to Charlie and the Pie Lady! I have since recommended it to 2 friends of mine and they both fell in love with the hotel and the people of Yelapa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 352 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Always a nice treat to get away for the weekend. Hotel Lagunita and Yelapa sure fit the bill.

Living in Vallarta, while paradise most of the time, its always nice to break up your routine and leave town. Yepala and Hotel Lagunita are a perfect blend of tranquility and relaxation.

The cabanas are very rustic, and provide only the basics. But then you do not need much to enjoy the pueblo. Service is very friendly. Hotel food, acceptable.

Go enjoy.

Room Tip: All the cabanas are great. Most with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPS634fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time service was great and food was better. The greatest thing about yelps is that you are away from civilization. Expect a relaxing getaway with a lot of options to do each day. Only bad thing was no AC. I would choose a different time to return if I do decide to return. I normally never choose to hit the same place twice as my motto is "how can you have a favorite place when you have not seen them all." however I may plan another trip here in December for the migration of the whales. Great value and some rooms do have AC so request one of those if you stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CannonK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The service was great, the food was awesome, but the rooms were barely average. As a few of the reviews have said, it's a step above camping and I happen to agree. Very little to no water pressure for a shower, electricity went off a few times while we were there, no a/c, and the fans in the room are very weak! However, the food was very good and the service was as well. Very peaceful and quiet. If I went back I would find a place with a/c, but I would go to Hotel Lagunita to eat!

Room Tip: Room #4 and #7 have a/c. Make sure you get one of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have sent numerous emails to this hotel regarding a birthday surprise for my wife and even contacted them directly through Facebook without receiving an answer. They did answer on Facebook and asked me to resend my email because of a "technical glitch" but that was the last I heard from them. I now feel that they are deliberatly ignoring me. They must be doing really well if they can afford to be this rude to potential customers. If this typifies the service at this hotel them beware!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank MexEng72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Let me tell you, i love Yelapa, such a beautiful place with spectacular lagoon, clear water and peaceful environment! Not for everyone! Wild life is all around you, and at nighttime it gets really creepy at times...well, Lagunita is in a perfect spot, steps to the ocean, to the pier..room although was a disappointment. As people said before, it misses love and care. Needs a facelift..and there is no door between the bathroom and the room, my bf had to wait outside all the time i needed to use a toilet. No privacy, and very little security, i mean open window space, so everybody can get in.. Dusty bug net, fallen apart furniture..
We liked it in the way, it was an adventure, like nothing we ever experienced, but i want to feel safe when i sleep, and may be won't do open air palapa again. Not afraid of crabs, iguanas or geicos, but little bugs at night were annoying, and i was worried about that no window situation ..people were nice though and as i menyioned the place looks like a paradise...from outside!)))lol
No shampoo, just a bar of soap , ladies.
Pool looked clean, but there is rocks inside, so be carefull, and its small..
Overall, great idea, but misses attention and love!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 209Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for a week in a palapa on the beach at the Hotel Lagunita. It was great. This isn't your spa experience -- think simple. No TV, no telephone, no Internet in the room. Just a thatched roof, bed with mosquito canopy, and the sound of the surf at night. If you used to be a backpacker and want to relax on a remote beach away from traffic, noise, and the &*%# telephone and email, then this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Its hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
6.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
10.4 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#79 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
315 reviews
12.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#70 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
152 reviews
13.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,478 reviews
14.4 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#78 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lagunita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lagunita

Address: Barcina 3 la Playa, Yelapa, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range: $70 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lagunita 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El hotel Lagunita está ubicado en la hermosa y tranquila playa de Yelapa, el lugar es una celebración de los sentidos, donde la mente, cuerpo y el espíritu convergen. Con sus 32 Casitas y Suites de palapa, su alberca de agua natural dominando el mar, la alegría y colorido de sus habitaciones con fabulosas vistas al océano y la playa, te harán suspirar y sentir que estás en el paraíso. Vive la naturaleza en todo su esplendor en un lugar mágico. Alejado completamente del bullicio de las ciudades, al llegar al muelle usted sabrá que está en un lugar verdaderamente único. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lagunita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunita Hotel Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing