We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of Hotel Lagunita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lagunita
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The service was great, the food was awesome, but the rooms were barely average. As a few of the reviews have said, it's a step above camping and I happen to agree. Very little to no water pressure for a shower, electricity went off a few times while we were there, no a/c, and the fans in the room are very weak! However, the food was very good and the service was as well. Very peaceful and quiet. If I went back I would find a place with a/c, but I would go to Hotel Lagunita to eat!

Room Tip: Room #4 and #7 have a/c. Make sure you get one of these rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lagunita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 343 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have sent numerous emails to this hotel regarding a birthday surprise for my wife and even contacted them directly through Facebook without receiving an answer. They did answer on Facebook and asked me to resend my email because of a "technical glitch" but that was the last I heard from them. I now feel that they are deliberatly ignoring me. They must be doing really well if they can afford to be this rude to potential customers. If this typifies the service at this hotel them beware!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank MexEng72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Let me tell you, i love Yelapa, such a beautiful place with spectacular lagoon, clear water and peaceful environment! Not for everyone! Wild life is all around you, and at nighttime it gets really creepy at times...well, Lagunita is in a perfect spot, steps to the ocean, to the pier..room although was a disappointment. As people said before, it misses love and care. Needs a facelift..and there is no door between the bathroom and the room, my bf had to wait outside all the time i needed to use a toilet. No privacy, and very little security, i mean open window space, so everybody can get in.. Dusty bug net, fallen apart furniture..
We liked it in the way, it was an adventure, like nothing we ever experienced, but i want to feel safe when i sleep, and may be won't do open air palapa again. Not afraid of crabs, iguanas or geicos, but little bugs at night were annoying, and i was worried about that no window situation ..people were nice though and as i menyioned the place looks like a paradise...from outside!)))lol
No shampoo, just a bar of soap , ladies.
Pool looked clean, but there is rocks inside, so be carefull, and its small..
Overall, great idea, but misses attention and love!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 209Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for a week in a palapa on the beach at the Hotel Lagunita. It was great. This isn't your spa experience -- think simple. No TV, no telephone, no Internet in the room. Just a thatched roof, bed with mosquito canopy, and the sound of the surf at night. If you used to be a backpacker and want to relax on a remote beach away from traffic, noise, and the &*%# telephone and email, then this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Its hard to go wrong.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wedding took place at Hotel Lagunita on June 2, 2012. I had discovered the place the summer before and we vacationed here and found it to be perfect for out tastes. The wedding turned out amazing, and better than I had expected. I am a full time student and work 30 hours a week, which really took away my ability to do much planning. I was relieved that it had no effect on the outcome of the wedding. The owner Luke helped put the finishing touches on the decorations. There were about 30 people staying as guests at Lagunita, and they were loving the rustic palapa style hotel. The rooms are all open somewhat to the environment, and if you are okay with that, then you will have a perfect time. The kitchen cooks great food and the eggs we have there are the best tasting eggs my husband and I have ever had. No egg in the US tastes this good and it is noticeably different. Several guests after the wedding dinner commented to us that it was one of the best meals they have had.

You are forced to relax at Lagunita, and by the time the wedding started, every person was in full leisure mode. The location really helps to take away all of the unnecessary stress that most weddings carry. The hotel helps set up and tear down, and they will stay open at the bar, as long as the guests are up.
Like so many others have said, if you are a pure resortist and need AC blasting in your room to sleep and room service, this is NOT for you. Wild life can get into your room. One of our cousins had a snake get into the bathroom, but it was taken care of by the help very swiftly. If you like being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the ocean just several yards outside of your door and enjoy friendly people on top of a simple beautiful location, you will love it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeisureTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

First know that the rooms are palapas, 4 walls but not up to the ceiling. Some wild life may enter. We had a crab in the bathroom, but he left quietly! And considering we were there in rainy season, surprisingly few bugs. We had a "Honeymoon Suite" room 19 with one queen bed. It is directly in front of the pool with a great view of the town and beach. We did have to walk a few feet from our porch to see the sunset over the bay. Bed was comfortable. Rooms are plain. It's the place Yelapa that you go for.
We ate all of our meals in the restaurant. It was reasonably priced and had a variety of items on the menu. They did not have everything every day as again , it was summer slow season. What they offered was fresh and tasty. Service too was good. You can eat whereever you wish; your room, porch, beach, or even in the restaurant.
We enjoyed it for the novelty of the place, arriving and departing by boat and having nothing to do. If this appeals to you - try it

Room Tip: Room 19 is large, has a queen bed and overlooks the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liquipure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you are looking for a 5 star all-inclusive, then this is not the vacation spot for you. However, if you're looking for a rustic, clean, friendly, and relaxing vacation experience right on the water then check it out. We read the reviews extensively beforehand so were ready for the lack of air conditioning, occasional lizard / bug in the room, and open concept to the palapa. We arrived at the pier and we were immediately met by a helpful staff member who carried our bags to our palapa and then we were off to reception - where we were met by Luke with a greeting by our first names! The food was great and our goal was R&R and that is exactly what we got...some days it felt like we were the only people on the beach (some mornings we truly were). I did find both the bed and pillow hard as a rock but quickly got use to it. As noted by other reviewers we too experienced power outages, and they were not a huge inconvenience. Bring a flashlight so the evening trips to and from Yelapa go that much smoother. When the sun goes down, the stairs can be quite a challenge in the dark. We traveled May 1st, so it's considered off season so some of the restaurants in Yelapa were hit and miss on when they would be open. That said, we still found somewhere to eat. We are already planning our trip back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kblack_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
6.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
13.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#35 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,430 reviews
12.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#84 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
312 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#70 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
14.4 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#80 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lagunita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lagunita

Address: Barcina 3 la Playa, Yelapa, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range: $63 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lagunita 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lagunita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunita Hotel Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing