We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Category: "Rip-off Rustic"”
Review of Hotel Lagunita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lagunita
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Hotel Category: "Rip-off Rustic"”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Please, as you consider this place, read the "terrible" and "poor" reviews first, and take them to heart. I wish I had! If I can save even one person fromthe disappointment we experienced, the time taken to write this will have been well worth it.
After reading positive reviews, I considered Yelapa for a family vacation. Thankfully, only one friend could accompany me. Had the entire family come, I'd have been disowned.

"Rustic" can be charming. But at Hotel Lagunita, the terms are not synonymous. I suspect the owner laughs all the way to the bank, chuckling at sucker tourists who think this place is quaint, instead of seeing it as his profitable cash-cow dump.

There's nothing wrong with "basic" accommodation, if clean. Not the case at Hotel Lagunita. Privacy? Peace and quiet? Forget it, in these very open cabins. A vacation on a beach between jungle and bay? Not when un-soft sand reeks of dog and cat urine.

I didn't find the village of Yelapa particularly attractive or friendly, and that was another disappointment. But if you want to go, at least find a place to stay other than Hotel Lagunita.

Room Tip: Get one that is NOT part of a "duplex" with neighbors just on the other side of a flimsy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucasYelapa, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
On behalf of all of us here at The Hotel Lagunita, please accept our apologies for failing to meet and exceed your expectations. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us while in Yelapa, It was a disappointment to read that your experience during your stay didn’t leave you with a positive feeling. We pride ourselves on our staff’s responsiveness and courtesy and have shared your comments with the leadership team. Given another chance, I am confident that we will provide you the level of service we expect to provide our guest. If you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, please contact me through the hotels website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    110
    36
    33
    22
See reviews for
56
165
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great food!
Great roooms!
Great staff!

Best place in Yelapa!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucasYelapa, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review! We are flattered by your comments and look forward to having you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Perched between the base of the Sierra Madre mountains and a beautiful little lagoon that is part of Banderas Bay sits the humble little Hotel Lagunita. The hotel is situated on the north side of the lagoon facing the south and overlooking the quaint village of Yelapa with spectacular views of the bay and the mountains.
 
I had visited Yelapa twice before and had always enjoyed the feel of Hotel Lagunita as I passed it while walking from the pier to one of the beach clubs and on into the village. It's a place that had always been something I wanted to experience.
 
Finally, the opportunity to spend four nights at Hotel Lagunita presented itself via an internet special and I quickly seized the opportunity. Upon arrival to the reception desk we were greeted rather casually by the front desk clerk that simply asked me to fill out the check-in form. No warm smiles or meaningful welcoming were forthcoming. But, he was efficient. In my opinion smiles and a true feeling of welcoming cost nothing. But, they go far in creating an atmosphere of appreciation and hospitality and a good first impression of what's to come.
 
Nevertheless, he pointed us toward the direction of the cabana and off we go. Cabana #5 was easy to find and is perfectly located  right on the beach and steps away from the beach club. This particular cabana is round with two double beds a shower, sink and toilet. The lower walls are layered stones, the upper part of the walls are fashioned of latticed bamboo and it has a palapa roof. Half of the front side wall can be raised thus providing an exquisite view of the lagoon and the village of Yelapa. The sounds of the ocean waves from your bed at night are glorious and they will lull you to sleep.
 
The room is simply furnished, the beds were for the most part comfortable, linens were clean and insect netting was provided for each bed. The housekeeper efficiently serviced the cabana daily and towels and soap were supplied as well as bottled water provided by our bedside. Bring your own shampoo and other toiletries.
 
The grounds were well kept and clean. However, on the first day of arrival the pool was filled with algae to the degree that I wondered why frog's legs were not on the menu at dinner that night. But, by the third day it had been cleaned and was back in use.
 
Upon arrival Wi-Fi service was available around the entire complex - even in the restaurant and beach club area. That was very nice. But, by the second afternoon it was intermittently available only around the reception area or close to the reception area on the beach.
 
The beach club is very nice with beautiful palapas, hammocks, loungers, chairs and tables and drink and food service is available at your palapa directly on the beach. The outdoor dining area turns out some excellent food from the kitchen. They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks all day long and the prices are very reasonable for the great quality of food and service provided from the staff. Sampled other places, but decided to stay on-property because of the quality of the beach club and the meals. Highly recommend both! There's really no need to leave the complex if you just want to kick back and relax.
 
Hotel Lagunita promises nothing more than it has to offer and that was part of the charm for us. However, management might be wise to take a closer look at some of the smaller things that could make a huge difference in customer perception and experience - little things so easy to address.
 
Hotel Lagunita certainly needs a little love and attention here and there from its owners but if you are looking for a peaceful and rustic getaway this is the place in Yelapa. If you're looking for Four Seasons quality and service this is not the place for you. I will certainly return in the future as it is a great place to leave everyday home and work life behind.
 
I was speaking with a friend on the phone while I was there. He asked, "How is it?" I replied, "Well, there's nothing to do here, so I feel compelled to do nothing." It was a beautiful way to escape humanity.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithMayPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I come to Hotel Lagunitas every year with friends and we always love the atmosphere in this wonderful place.
The food is bountiful, fresh, healthy and tasty.
Atmosphere is outstanding with candle-lit dinners on the beach.

Rooms are romantic with mosquito netting and palapa style construction.
Helpful staff and a full spa service too.

I will be going back next year in March...
Julia Tindall

Room Tip: For couples, ask for a separate room for privacy, not an attached room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliatindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucasYelapa, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Lagunita, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We are happy to read you had a very enjoyable stay. We have made note of the issues with the pool and have addressed those. We will also making upgrades to our rooms during the slow season. We hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Sadly the Lagunita is not the same place we stayed in in 2006. Pool was scummy, thief breaking into the palapas on the first night. Sad, but true. Next time I think we will stay at a rental home in the town of Yelapa as it is still a wonderful place to visit.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Yelapa is heavenly - accessible only by boat, with no cars and transportation in town by mule or ATV. There is a crescent shaped beach, quaint town, hiking, and overall laid-back vibe. (Although the sense of underlyng tension between some locals and ex-pats was a bit weird.) The beach was pretty quiet while we were there with the exception of one day when a cruise ship was in PV and day-trippers arrived.

Hotel Lagunita rooms are VERY basic; really, a step up from camping. As others have noted, the cleanliness factor is not high, if that kind of thing bothers you (spiderwebs, dingy linen, rusty taps, but nothing overly offensive). I understand you are paying for the location, but we felt the rooms were overpriced, expecially as breakfast is not included as it usually is at a Mexican hotel. If you are at all worried about security, this place is not for you - palapas, which are located right on the beach, have a 5-foot opening above the doors - dead easy to scale - and there is little or no security. I question why rooms cannot be more secure while remaining open-air (ie, put in bamboo grills above the doors). It was nice to hear the waves at night, but a bit disconcerting to be that exposed, which made the quality of sleep not great.

A safe is available at the front desk. Desk staff were friendly but seemed a little out of it most of the time. Beach towels were not always available ("being laundered"), the pool is grotty, and they charge $100 pesos per person to use the kayaks, which just sit on the beach all day, which is a bit cheeky given the overpriced room we stayed in for 4 nights. There is an English-book exchange, massage hut, optional excursions and gift store (which was not open in the 4 days we were there although low-key local vendors roamed the beach).

The restaurant was consistently excellent and the wait staff very friendly and helpful. The shrimp omlette for breakfast was fantastic and the coffee piping hot and plentiful. Lunch and drinks could be served at your beach chair or palm-leaf beach hut. Dinner was served at tables on the sand with candles in Mexican blown glass, and a view of the bay at night - absolutely stunning. Plenty of delicious Mexican options including lots of seafood. We ate in town and at other beach cafes, but really preferred the Lagunita restaurant. It was convenient as meals could be charged to the room and other places were cash only (with no cash machine in town).

Overall, if returning to Yelapa I would explore other accommodation options, but eat at the fantastic Lagunita restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is attached to another - some only have half-walls separating them which could be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NoFixedPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I whisked my sweetie away to Yelapa to get away from the hustle and bustle of life for a few days. I thought I carefully chose my hotel selection based on photos & limited selection of lodging while in beautiful Yelapa for a few days.

Overall, the Lagunitas "resort" is really just a series of huts -- definitely minimalist, which is fine if you're like us and not planning on being in the room except mainly to sleep. But the room itself really wasn't up to par. In the honeymoon "suite" we found one Full size bed and on the other side of a make-shift "privacy wall", there were two other twin beds. Pretty strange. It wasn't warm (in furnishings), just a bed, a side table, a dresser and mirror. No bottled water, no clock, nothing. For the $150 USD we paid, it really could have been a better experience. Also, there was a serious ant issue, bathroom plumbing was quite the experience (scalding hot water, then freezing cold, then scalding hot). Less than ideal.

Food at the restaurant was consistently great -- I recommend Huevos Rancheros & delicious coffee. I'd eat at the restaurant again but definitely not stay at this place. It needs a face lift, hospitality team checking on folks and some furniture outside the huts where we can sit outside. The "honeymoon suite" had a large tiled flat porch of sorts but because of all of the bugs, we didnt want to sit directly on the ant trail. the only option was to bring out the only chair we had in our room. Kinda weird.

When we arrived, they had lost our reservation. After an hour or so, they finally figured it out and gave us room #17.
Pool wasn't working - wish we had known ahead of time.
Overall experience here at hotel lagunitas is a C+.

Room Tip: Do not select the Honeymoon suite unless you're traveling with other people (or kids) and plan o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fritoboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
6.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
42 reviews
12.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#68 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,358 reviews
14.4 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#89 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
158 reviews
15.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lagunita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lagunita

Property: Hotel Lagunita
Address: Barcina 3 la Playa, Yelapa, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lagunita 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lagunita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunita Hotel Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing