We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verana: Nirvana”
Review of Verana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verana
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Verana: Nirvana”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I'm so glad I put aside my irrational fears about bugs and drug lords to spend a week in this serene and gorgeous place. Verana's combination of stylish design, excellent cuisine, and rugged outdoorsiness make for a one-of-a kind experience. A short list of do's and dont's:

Do:
* Bring a sweater and long pants--nights can be chilly
* Bring a book or two or three. Lounging by the pool or in your house is wonderful.
* Take the cooking class. Chef Fabian is amazingly talented.
* Take the tequila tasting class. You're smack in the middle of the state of Jalisco--one of the few places in the world that is authorized to produce tequila. So, when in Rome...
* Mingle with the other guests. Verana attracts diverse and interesting people. We had a blast meeting and talking with everyone.
* Get the meal plan. Fantastic cuisine is one of Verana's greatest strengths.

Don't:
* worry excessively about bugs. We saw almost no bugs during our stay. No mosquitoes or biting bugs. We saw one scorpion. No other guest that I spoke to saw one, so I'm convinced that those critters are fairly rare.
* Don't take the trip to the Marietas Islands. The islands are overrun with tourists from Puerto Vallarta and that took away from the experience of the islands.
* Don't leave food in your house. Most houses are not enclosed so the resident coati will sneak in for a visit and make off with any snacks you might leave around.
* Don't be afraid of the coati. He's cute and harmless.

Room Tip: Loved the pool house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DomenicaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    19
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
124
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Well, after completing ten visits to Verana it seems time to add our review to the long list. We have been fortunate to be able to return to Verana year after year since 2002 and continue to enjoy the evolving story of Verana.

What got us to Verana was desire for something different than your regular big name resort, and Verana does deliver on that. What keeps us coming back are the straightforward logistics of a non-stop 3hr flight from San Francisco to Puerto Vallarta (and by now the taxi to Boca and boat to Yelapa have become routine), the staff and guests at Verana, who are always integral part of the experience, and the knowledge that as soon as we set foot on the panga, it’ll be time to relax.

Verana is one with its surroundings, and as a guest you will become part of its rhythm: the sights of the Bay of Banderas and the village of Yelapa, the sounds of the jungle, the smell and taste of the wonderful kitchen, the conversations at the bar.

As many reviewers have noted, Verana is not for everyone. While Puerto Vallarta airport has improved a lot over the years, it’s still quite a trip by taxi to Boca, and by boat to Verana. Verana now offers a private pick-up service from the airport, which makes that part of the journey more efficient. Thanks to the piers at Boca and Verana one does not get wet anymore when getting on and off the boat, and the 20 minute ride along the coast remains enjoyable every time.

The walk up the hill to the resort is a bit strenuous, rooms without walls take a bit to get used to, and the tejons - raccoon-like local creatures - will get into your food if not stowed away. Scorpions have apparently mostly retreated, but you will be closer to nature than you might expect.

Verana offers both relaxation (an excellent spa) and activity (organized by the staff). Don’t miss a walk down to Yelapa, a quirky mixture of Mexican fishing village, beach town (with daily boats from Puerto Vallarta) and ex pat hangout. The staff at Verana is usually recruited both locally and from around the world and is very casual, friendly and engaging, however, don’t expect Verana to be traditional Mexican.

We have usually visited between later December (Christmas) and early March, and have enjoyed mostly consistent weather and temperatures in the high 70’s (or high 20’s centigrade), usually dry and partly cloudy.

Many thanks for Veronique, Heinz, and everyone at Verana for making this such a special place, we are planning to be back in December.

Room Tip: Do your research on line before picking a room. There are no bad rooms, but all are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Raoulsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of high end resorts as well as "eco" type resorts and this place is a wonderful combination of the two. Verana is only accessible via boat and it sits high up on a hill overlooking the most stunning vista. You really get a sense of being in a remote, beautiful, exotic locale.

Almost all the rooms are open air style palapas and at night they are mostly illuminated by candles the staff lights. The setting is extraordinary, the staff is friendly, attentive and a lot of fun to talk to. They are extremely knowledgeable of the area and can take you on lovely hikes and remote day trips. The food was out of this world fresh. The sushi we had was caught that day, as was everything we consumed. One night we had tacos with twenty salsas made that day.

Verana is extremely initmate and the small own it its above is a charming old style Mexican town that has no roads going in or out (that I know of).

I would want to stay in the "pool House" if I went there again. Go if you can! It is an experience you will not forget. A++++

I could not think of one thing to complain about. Oh but just a tip, if you have trouble walking or find going uphill a problem, this is NOT the place for you. The whole resort rests on a steep incline.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

In a magical remote tropical setting with wonderful & accommodating staff.
Put it on your 'must go to' list!

Room Tip: The Pool House
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSprott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

As many of the previous reviewers alluded, Verana is a wonderful place. Regardless of what you are used to, you will be impressed by the level of service, quality of food, privacy, beautiful view and unique accommodations.

To give you some perspective, we are a married, no kids, many pets couple in the 35-44 demo. We are big fans of foodie-quality, sub 25-room boutiques. We have stayed at other TripAdvisor faves like the Caves (cliff dwellings in Negril), La Zebra (palapas on unspoiled beach in Tulum) and Casa de Mita (more traditional brick and mortar in Punta Mita). We’ve also enjoyed several of the larger gourmet all-inclusives dotting the Riviera Maya, but those don’t matter here.

Transport: First, PVR is one of the best airports anywhere to get in and out of. From there, we took the Verana VIP transfer service in order to avoid the mayhem of negotiating a cab. I’m still not sure it was worth the extra cost, as we still ended up in a regular cab to Verana.(that disappointment was lessened on the return trip in a Yukon-type SUV) We were dropped off on a bustling little beach where we had a cold one before jumping on the Verana panga for the 30-min ride to the property. Sure, a little bumpy here and there, but you are heading to paradise!

Resort: Once off the dock, we were promptly met (shout out Bernardo and Kris!) and escorted up the stone stairs, across dribbling brooks, past friendly burros and to a table with refreshing infused waters. If you are chain-smoking or drinking heavily on the way in, the trek up to the property can be a task. But if you are in any kind of shape, you will love it from the first stone step. Exercise without even realizing it, as you are more focused on the nature around you. Leave the Buns of Steel DVDs at home! #datedreference

Rooms: Every room is different and we toured them all. I would be happy to stay in any of them as each has a distinct character and unique design. We stayed in the Palapa. The only walls were around the toilet. Open air living at it’s best. Incredible views from any spot. Sit on the east side for the sunrise over the Sierras. Lay on the west side to catch some afternoon sun. Take a shower while trying to catch a whale breaching in the bay.

Food and Drink: Everything delicious. We live by downtown Dallas, have done foodie tours of Chicago and LA and lil’ Verana could stand up to any of them. Amazing sauces, creative and fresh. Like sashimi? How about sashimi that was swimming a couple of hours before you eat it. F.R.E.S.H.
Danny’s (sometimes Joel’s) bar is a nice place to try some very interesting twists on traditional cocktails from a true mixologist. He’ll even teach you how to whip them up.

Activities: Usually in places this remote, you need to be happy with doing nothing. However, at Verana, you can walk to the nearby fishing village of Yelapa for fish tacos and a sand beach. There’s half day excursions to private remote beaches, the Marietas Islands (highly recommend), kayaks and snorkeling gear. Or hit the yoga studio or spa for a full line of services, including the best massages you may ever have.

With so many interesting places to travel, it’s tough to settle on one. I guarantee if you pick Verana, you will not be disappointed!
ps. We didn’t spot a scorpion anywhere. Vampire bats and chupacabras, yes, but no scorpions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

One of my favorite places in the world! My husband and I have been here twice now, and we are sure to go back. Why? Because everything about Verana is simple and understated, yet amazing in every way. The food- fresh, interesting and delicious. Drinks- I have dreams about their margaritas, they are that good. Spa- doesn't get better than the opportunity to see a whale while getting a massage from their expert talent. Yoga from the platform first thing in the morning- perfect way to start your day. And the palapas- they are so unique. Open air, designed to just fit right into the mountainside- without disturbing anyone else or anything. The only bad thing about this place? Where ever you decide to vacation after Verana, won't be as good. At least we haven't found any place yet!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique AND incredibly private, so you really can't go wrong with any choice. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here, and it was so perfect for us. We want to come back every year! From the impeccable service to the unforgettable views and the amazing food and drinks, the whole experience is one we'll never forget. The people that stay there are adventure travelers who are looking for luxury. I can't say anything but good things! Wish I was there now.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clevelandblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
15.7 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#67 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verana

Property: Verana
Address: Calle Zaragoza No 404, Yelapa 48304, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 30-miles south of Puerto Vallarta floating above the Bay of Banderas, embraced by the mountains of the Valle de la Sierra Oriental, carved out of lush Mexican jungle on a hillside rests Verana. It is as unusual as it is remote. Unique design that is rustic yet sophisticated. Designed for travelers with a sense of adventure and appreciation of tranquility and natural beauty. An indoor/outdoor Spa adds to the amenities of a luxurious getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verana Hotel Yelapa
Verana Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing