We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Taxi to Yelapa”
Review of Yelapa Waterfalls

Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Yelapa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Water Taxi to Yelapa”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yelapa is a picturesque fishing village about 45 minutes South of Puerto Vallarta by water taxi. The ride in the water taxi is exhilarating, especially on a big sea day. The town of Yelapa is hilly and offers two waterfalls. One in the town, and one a good hike or horse ride to reach. Best to hire a guide to the furthest waterfall.
The beach is along a beautiful cove. Depending on the sea conditions swimming/snorkelling can be fun.

Lots of restaurants on the beach and in the town.Try the Yelapa Pie sold by ladies along the beach. Getting on and off the boats can be tricky in heavy sea conditions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RodS701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    146
    55
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun day was had by all”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited Yelapa while on a cruise last week. We took one of the ships excursions with Vallarta Adventures.
We had fun snorkeling on the way to Yelapa. Once there we hiked to the water fall, and then made our way back to the beach.
This is a beautiful little fishing village about 45mins. South of Villarta by boat.
It turned out to be the highlight of the day.
I would really recommend seeing this beautiful place.

Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“THE BEST time and we want to go back!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have traveled to many places and done some pretty cool stuff. My trip to Yelapa was one of my favorites of all time!
Our visit to Yelapa was very unplanned, interesting and one of our favorite days! We had played with the idea of doing a tour to the beach via Vallarta Adventures or renting a taxi ride from the Marina and decided against it (so glad we did!) We instead read that you could take a local water taxi from Boca de Tomatlan (a little further south from Mismaloya) for super cheap. I can't remember the price but it was 1/4 the price of taking a tour boat/taxi from the Marina. We drove from our resort and parked in some guy's gated parking spot. We paid him $5 to watch the car. He was such a sweet man and totally kept our car safe while we were gone. He even showed up where to find the guy to buy \water taxi tickets from.We were the only tourists on the boat--such a cool experience. Many locals were going to/from work to the other beaches south of P.V. only accessible via water taxi. After ~45 min (not exactly sure on the time) we arrived at Yelapa! We were dropped off at the most fun restaurant--Fanny's! Fanny is the owner and we talked with him the whole time. He has the most interesting experiences! We received wonderful service and felt like we were the only customers. We ate right on the beach in our chairs, drinking cold beers and munching on delicious chips and fresh salsa. I ordered deliciously amazing homemade chicken Mole---yummmmm. We also had one of the house specialties--passion fruit margaritas-yummy! Fanny told us about the Yelapa waterfalls. We packed up our stuff while he saved our seats and we took a 1.5 break from the beach. When we came back we were happy to have our seats back.
While eating lunch we mentioned to Fanny that we really wanted to go deep sea fishing. He introduced us to this guy eating lunch there. His name was Danny and he takes people out fishing--he was there eating lunch while the tourists he took fishing sat and ate their catches. FIND HIM AND GO FISHING! I cannot recommend him enough!!!!!!!!We haphazardly set up a fishing date for the next day. We mutually agreed to meet at 0700 the next morning back at Boca. We were at first skeptical that he wouldn't show (and I'm sure he thought the same) but it all worked out and we had a blast! He was the coolest guy ever and had a lot of fishing experience. Everyone in Mismaloya knew him by name and knew how to find him/get a hold of him--even when he was out fishing! Danny and Fanny alone made our trip to Yelapa (and then the next day) a success. It was one of the best experiences I've ever had.
Yelapa was out of a book/move (Lost, Jurassic Park, anything with paradise in it?) and I wish we could go back. The company, food, scenery, everything. YOU MUST GO!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVida85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“so much fun!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After spending some time on the beach and walking around we decided to do the hike to the falls. The sorta confusing hike (we just figured out how to get to the road by someone pointing to where we were supposed to be going) ended up being a really good time. It took you through the small, sleepy, run down town and you got to interact with the locals. It took us about 25-30 minutes but we weren't racing or anything. Once we got there we jumped into the very cold water, took some pictures and then left. There is a restaurant right at the top by the falls that offers local food and cold beers. We just enjoyed the hike and refreshing swim at the end. You should definitely go!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great walk to falls and you see town”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The walk to the falls is great and you get to see some parts of the town. There are no cars so all the day trippers come in by water taxi. Hardest thing about them is getting in and out of them in moving seas. Great places to eat and the beach and water is so nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wengod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yelapa Waterfalls also viewed

 
Cabo Corrientes, Jalisco
 

Been to Yelapa Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing