We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical spot for an evening.”
Review of Yelapa Oasis

Yelapa Oasis
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Yelapa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: A unique experience where the river meets the ocean and simple meets extraordinary. Welcoming artists from around the world to perform and exhibit their work. Cafe, Bar, Casita rentals, and fully equipped Pilates studio, with warm personal attention, a mellow atmosphere, and an array of quality services unlike any other place in town. We are on the shores of the Tuito River, just steps from the main beach in Yelapa, a short boat ride from Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. A truly unique experience!
Snohomish, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magical spot for an evening.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had seen the flyers posted around Yelapa for live music and decided to check it out. We walked by during the day and saw a beautiful garden setting with tall bamboo and many other plants. We went back at night and heard some wonderful music and had a few tasty drinks. We had decided to have a 1/2 order of the Coconut Shrimp and we were not disappointed.
The service was excellent and the owner, Sebastian, was our server as well. We took time to talk to us during a break in the music and yet was still able to serve his other customers. He was fully engaged with our conversation and yet was aware of all the other customers around him. Prices were a bit hi but the setting made it worthwhile.
The evening was very romantic and we will return the next time we are in Yelapa.
I understand there are rooms available and we will consider staying there next time as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7traintripper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well managed Yelapa resort on River”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Oasis Restaurant is open again for high season. From the pueblo walk up river a short distance and on your left amidst an impressive stand of large bamboo is the entrance. A short walk to the restaurant and bar where you will find a dedicated wait staff. Upstairs enjoy the big screen TV for special events or movies.

Sebastion and mother Cheryl are an ecclectic management team that go to length to make your dining experience at Oasis memorable and wanting to come back. Management and service are a notch above the rest. The grounds are impeccable and a beautiful setting for a memorable dining experience with ambiance and character.

I like that Oasis always has something going on. Live band, movies, special features on big screen upstairs. Look out for posted signs in the pueblo. Buen provecho!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good food and location. Expensive”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great location with a beautiful facility. Upstairs from the cooking area is a large open palapa roofed structure with a free reading library. Movie nights and entertainment occasionally. Food is generally good, but tends to be expensive relative to other places in Yelapa. MANY good places to eat there!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This place is amazing! Cheryl has really turned this place around!

Amazing landscape! Amazing host! You should hear her sing!

Food great! Real mexican!

Will return

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We did not stay here, but ate at the restaurant one night. The Oasis is just that: a hidden gem just up the river from the beach in Yelapa. The grounds are lush and lovely, situated on the bank of the Tuito River. The dinner tables are set up outside on the terrace. We had a delicious and elegant dinner, with a couple of interesting drinks suggested by Cheryl and the bartender. Service is efficient and pleasant. We took a quick look at the palapas and they look quite nice from the outside. Put this place on your list.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastWestFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yelapa Oasis also viewed

 
Yelapa, Costalegre
 

Been to Yelapa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing