We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect sunny, non-touristy Mexico”
Review of MiraMar Yelapa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MiraMar Yelapa
Ranked #1 of 6 Yelapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Yelapa is the perfect place to relax by the ocean and soak up some sun… exactly what we were looking for to get away from our eternal Spring rain. Very rustic, get-away-from-it-all Mexcio at its most charming.

And Manta Rey (the house we rented) is located in a perfect spot on the ocean overlooking the activity in the bay. The house has everything you need. Very well stocked, even had a half bottle of tequila and limes! Lots of hot water and a great deck with lounge chairs and hammock. The local restaurants are quaint, but have surprisingly good food. The owners, Fernando and Kendra provide great recommendations for eating and activities. And Fernando and his brother are available for fishing or snorkeling expeditions (we caught ahi and were invited to Kendra and Feranando’s to feast on it that evening). Manta Rey is perfect for a couple, but their other places are larger. The Jungle House is up a pretty steep hill, so get someone to help if you have much luggage.

We give 2 thumbs up to the hike to the large waterfall (Beautiful pool to swim in and nobody else around.) as well as fishing and snorkeling. We spent a lot of time on the deck - one of the best spots we found anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golddog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 211 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

Dear Kendra and Fernando,

Thank you for a phenomenal stay in Yelapa! You guys made us feel so welcome. Everything here was comfortable and great fun! This has been a perfect vacation and a lovely home to spend it in. Those few extra steps up the hill to get here are more than worth it. I especially appreciated how quiet and private the casa is.

We enjoyed watching and listening to many beautiful birds at Casa Jungle and grew particularly fond of Coba, our daily feathered visitor. The view from this place is truly spectacular.

We are heading home relaxed, well fed, inspired, nicely tanned, and with big smiles. Yelapa is the best and you've both been the best of hosts. Thank you for everything! We wish you all the best with all your dreams and endeavors. Don't be surprised if you see us back here soon!

Cheers,

Reuben and Zoey

Room Tip: Excellent service, super friendly owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyaweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was my second trip to Yelapa, the first with my husband. I chose Casa Manta Ray because it has screens on the windows and sliding door, and because of the incredible water view from the patio. It was just what we needed. Very clean, awesome view from large patio overlooking the ocean and boats in the harbor, and centrally located. We were able to read, explore the town, eat fabulous food and be nurtured by the wonderful owners Fernando and Kendra. We felt welcomed and encouraged to truly vacation and relax. They have the restaurant scene in Yelapa dialed in. It is very fun to discover the unique places to eat in Yelapa!

The kitchen at Casa Manta Ray was just right. Fernando cooked the fish we caught for us to celebrate our 30th anniversary. It was an incredible meal, one of the highlights of our trip. This man is a chef (he is very humble..don't let this fool you!)

Make sure to go fishing with Fernando, it was such a delightful time. We saw whales breeching, we saw a school of dolphins, and the sweet villages along the shoreline as we got closer to our fishing destination. Both my hubby and I caught spanish mackeral (YUM). The best sushi EVER, and it was fabulous cooked two diff. ways by Fernando as well.

Kendra, who was born in the US, is such a great guide and resourceful person in Yelapa. So very kind and helpful. These two truly made our stay in Yelapa very special. Yelapa was a wonderful part of our anniversary trip (we stayed in Puerto Vallarta as well).

Room Tip: C. Manta Ray is perfect for a couple/small family
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank georgiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We just came back from a short 3 night stay at Casa Bella Orquidea. This was our third trip to Yelapa and our fist time staying in town. The location of the rental was great, a 5 minute walk to the main beach and a few minutes into town. The Casa itself was just perfect. We stayed with another couple and had plenty of room, there was actually two additional beds which would have been perfect for kids. The deck was amazing, looking out over the beach and bay. The only downfall to the place was the road noise. You do hear four wheelers, people walking by and all the animals since it is an open walled house. The main bedroom was fine but the other couple slept in the room that faced the road and had trouble sleeping. Otherwise, it was an amazing trip. Mainly thanks to Kendra and Fernando, the lovely couple who manage the property. They took great care of us and Fernando even hand delivered us an amazing fresh red snapper to cook on the bbq. They offered us great advice and will take you out fishing or on other boat trips, really whatever you want to do! We didnt end up doing much but relaxing on the beach since it was such a short trip. We will definately go back and will book with the Garcias' but will probably check out their other properties.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimijimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I eagerly sought a respite from the tourist madness of Puerto Vallarta and found it in Yelapa. We stayed in Casa Manta Ray, and the view alone could have kept us there for two more weeks. The house was clean and we especially enjoyed having coffee on the beautiful deck each morning. The food, the scenery, the people (Fernando and Kendra are GREAT) - all were perfect. I can't wait to make it back when we get a chance. We were kept awake one night by a party at the Yacht Club, but nothing a pair of earplugs wouldn't have fixed. The other nights we fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves. Check out Fernando's boat tour/adventure company as well - we went on a tour to the Marietas Islands and saw a Humpback whale! Miramar Yelapa is efinitely a simple, affordable, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I loved staying at MiraMar, very comfortable, wonderful thoughtful sincere hosts, clean comfortable can't wait to come back. Much more welcoming and real than a resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheddadidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Kendra and Fernando are the sweetest hosts ever, this house is located right over the water with a fantastic view of town and the beach. Yelapa is a vacation dream come true. It's easy to get around, but not overly crowded. It's easy to relax- there's not much to do, but plenty to entertain yourself with if you need that. Schedule a trip now, you will not be disappointed. Even if you only have a few days, learn how to truly relax- Yelapa style.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagevanwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
362 reviews
7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
45 reviews
15.1 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,000 reviews
15.5 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#25 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
331 reviews
14.1 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#33 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MiraMar Yelapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MiraMar Yelapa

Address: Marlyn # 19 | Col El Cerrito, Yelapa 48440, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yelapa
Price Range: $60 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At MiraMar we offer great service including top rated houses and activities as well as event planning. As one of the founding families, we know what Yelapa has to offer and we have made our services a step above the rest. We aren't a resort. Yelapa is remote, quaint, charming. Today there are still no roads into town, and the only way to get here is by boat. If adventure travel is your thing, come escape with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing