We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lagunita(Yelapa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Casa Pericos(Yelapa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
22
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful junglemexican jungleamazing placemosquito netget awaymariarafanaturepropertywaterfallaccommodationsparadisevillage
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 25 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

I only stayed at Los Naranjos for a single night but wished I could have stayed much longer. Maria and Rafael have created a special place were you can truly relax.

The retreat is about 15 minutes walk from the beach and on the very edge of the village just inside the jungle.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015

This amazing Eco retreat in the mexican jungle is a slice of heaven on earth. Sleeping in the open air palapas listening to the waterfall and the birds at night is a wonderfully peaceful thing to experience. The rooms were very well kept with everything you need to have a wonderful stay. Marie and Rafa go out of their way to make sure you have a great experience. They both have so much knowledge for nature and the jungle around you and really enjoy sharing this with you. The food was out of this world amazing and I highly recommend having it included in your stay. The resort is very quit, private and set back from the rest of Yelapa but is only a ten minute walk to the beach and restaurants and shops are closer still. I felt completely safe and at home and never had to worry about any of my belongings during my stay.If you are looking for a chance to connect to nature and learn about yourself this is the place to go!!

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2015

If you ever have the opportunity to go to Yelapa, Mexico, please try the Los Naranjos Retreat. It is a magnificent, rustic escape. Maria and Rafa, the host, prepare wholesome, natural, organic meals and treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: The open-air palaps make you feel like you are living with nature.
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0le555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed 1 week in "Casa Salate". It was an incredible and unforgettable natural experience. At night we heard all noises of the jungle which at the first night was new but then put us into sleep like nothing. Maria and Rafa picked us up with a horse to carry on our luggage. They were very welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

First, go with an open mind and remember you are not in Manhattan with room service or sirens or horns a honking or any other city, you are in the jungle. Plug-in to natures abounding energy, at this jungle haven. Plan to sleep in nature and wake up to and by nature instead of the alarm clock. You will be sleeping in a palapa ( is an open-sided dwelling with a thatched roof made of dried palm leaves). That's what its about, right? You will have an orchestra of crickets serenade you and in the morning the birds, roosters and dogs will tell you it's a new dawn. This is a slice of heaven. You don't need to worry about your belongings as they are safe. The grounds are beautiful with art throughout. The staff is warm and attentive. You will have daily maid service that bring you fresh water and towels daily and I noticed that the bed linens were changed during my stay which was a surprise to me. To avoid being eaten by the mosquitoes I suggest taking vitamin B starting about one month before traveling. The beds do have mosquito netting on them as well. It took a couple days to adjust to the sounds of nature when trying to go to sleep. I didn't mind that. I enjoyed looking up at all the stars in the sky. It was an adjustment to hear the sounds around the palapa as well. You will hear a rustle in the fallen leaves or brush even if it is a lizard so don't be alarmed. I was at first and then relaxed. If you are in a room with one bed and you are a couple, you can expect the bed to be a full size bed. It's not quite a double size bed that you would get in the states.
Don't keep any food products in your palapa as it will attract things that you don't want, even if it is in a package. If you have meals at the property they will be fresh and delicious with a beautiful presentation. Love goes into all that they do!

If you get a chance, or shall I say, make the time to have a massage from Maria. You will be outside under the canopy enclosed by fabric screens that hang from trees or posts. The bottom line is that it is private. When choosing the time make sure it will be warm enough for you and be prepared for a two hour massage. Maria is gentle and you can feel the heat and healing life force in her hands from the second she touches you. She will melt away whatever you have going on in your body.

I enjoyed doing yoga on their octagonal deck that is over the creek. The creek holds a great deal of energy even if it is not flowing. It's nice just to sit there and take it all in.

I have been at Los Naranjos twice and would definitely stay there again.
I like that it is a 10 minute walk to town or the beach. The walk exposes you to the friendly local people and how they live from day to day. It is very different from life in a major city. ATV's buzz past you back and forth as do the working animals when you are on the path.

I gave feedback to Rafa and Maria anytime things came up. If it was something that needed attention it was take care of immediately. They aim to please!

I encourage you to give up the typical four walled enclosed unit and stay here.

If you are physically challenged this may not be the place for you. There are lots of rocks to look out for on the paths and there are lots of steps to climb. But all of it adds to its charm!

Room Tip: I stayed in Casa Salate upstairs. Its a great hike up the hillside. They have made steps up to the location and keep your eye open for art along the way. You will have privacy but it is not that far from everyone.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews