We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Idea of Heaven”
Review of El Jardin Yelapa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Jardin Yelapa
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yelapa
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
“Our Idea of Heaven”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Imagine a village in Paradise with burros instead of cars. Instead of on roads, you'll wander and probably get pleasantly lost on cobblestone footpaths as they wind through homes and restaurants. Children run around safely. Dogs scurry everywhere. Every restaurant is better than the last, the tables all outside. Fairly recent Ex Pats make a living side by side with welcoming indigenous families who have been there for more than 500 years. Tourists are there to be, not to buy. Try the boat trip with Ferdinand to the Marietta's: near -- at your toes, the beach alive with tiny hermit crabs if you sit still to look; fresh ceviche with fish caught by Paul and guacamole made right there; on the horizon, on the boat trip back, in all directions . . there were whales blowing, one breaching and one even lobtailing. Make sure you hike to the waterfall and take a dip. On the way there, you'll walk through a river valley of homes sprinkled with tended gardens, unkempt trash, roosters and other pets.

To get to El Jardin, you will walk along a wave washed path along the bay. You could not imagine a more beautiful place to go to sleep and wake up - swaying on a hanging bed, looking through our toes at the bay. In January not even a net was needed. Staying with Chrissi, the owner, is like visiting a beloved college friend. The finest ping pong table in the western hemisphere looks out over Banderos Bay and calls to locals and visitors on many afternoons. On Wifi, we even joyfully toasted our our Denver Broncos with shots of Tequila while they lost their tragic playoff game the the Ravens. El Jardin was the perfect place for our family of 4, including our 22 year old son and 19 year old daughter, to be together. We are just sorry we missed the Saturday night dance at the Yacht Club that apparently brings together every dancing spirit from near and far - cancelled we heard because an elderly village man lost his wife the day before. Yelapa is a rare, precious and unpolished gem. El Jardin was home away from home.

A few practical tips - ONLY buy one way water taxi tickets; do not be tempted by the aggressive water taxi brokers in Puerto Vallarta. Only buy tickets from Sergio in the office to the left as you approach the pier. And be careful about food and water. Read everything Chrissi sends you ahead of time - especially the part about no ATMs in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time at El Jardin just kicking back doing a whole lot of nothing! Rocky was a fantastic host who's hospitality went way beyond any expectations. We stayed in the Eagle's Nest which was a quaint pelapa with a beautiful view of Yelapa with a cute balcony to take it all in. The resort has a great chill out area with hammocks and a big open air kitchen that you can use at your leisure. We did get a little rained on but hey, it's rainy season do it's to be expected! Highly recommend this place, don't miss out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

El Jardin is located in the very peaceful area of Jalisco, Yelapa. Its easy to get to and only a short walk away from the town, which in itself is so small and peaceful its easy to miss. Its maybe a 15 minute walk to the main beach

The accommodation itself is rustic, and wlecoming. The whole place has a laid back feel to it, with hammocks to laze in, a small beach just a stones throw away, and an area to catch some sun and enjoy a margarita if it takes your fancy

The host who I met, Rocky, went above and beyond what a host should do and was great at answering any questions and giving recommendations. Thanks to him it felt like home from home, and the whole weekend was like a taste of Heaven and at the same time supporting eco-tourism and very affordable.

All my communication in booking and paying was easy and no hassel.

I honestly cannot find fault

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view, and are just as peaceful and comfortale as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our family lives and works in Puerto Vallarta Mexico. Yelapa, Mexico is about an hour away by bus and water taxi from us. So we planned our first overnight getaway to Yelapa and El Jardin was our choice for overnight accommodations just this past weekend.

We were looking for something rustic, charming and a place that was comfortable for our family.

My husband and two teenagers, age 13 and 15, had a wonderful and very memorable experience. We loved that El Jardin was situated on the ¨point¨ and had a great smaller beach..(playa Isabel) about a 2 minute walk from El Jardin. It was also about a 10 minute walk to the actual bustle of the city. Lovely walk along a stone and dirt path that follows the ocean.

We stayed in Casa Banana and we shared a room with fantastic views and comfy beds. Our cabana had 2 singles and 1 hanging queen bed, all with mosquito netting and lots of cozy bedding. Towels and extra beach blankets were provided. There are 2 shared bathrooms on site but i did notice that a couple of the rooms had their own bathrooms too. Our room also had bottled water available, books for reading, mirror and plenty of space around the beds.

The on-site staff. She was wonderful and full of information about Yelapa and El Jardin. We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanaBworldtaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family (mom and kids 20 and 22) traveled to Yelapa in Januany 2012. We really loved El Jardin. We stayed in Casa Banana. Beds were comfy and living space clean. We had a beautiful view of the bay. We loved the rustic feel and great snorkeling right in front of the compound. Our hosts were warm, kind and very helpful. We spent our days at the beach, hiking to the water falls, horseback riding and just hangin' out. It is a wonderful place and we will return at the end of this year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpsonGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our first time staying in Yelapa, although we had taken a day trip before. If you come from PV on water taxi and ask to be let off at Playa Isabel (a tip- fare seems to be cheaper if you buy it right when you want to board the taxi than at a beach travel stand; also one thing we found confusing was locating where to board the boat as the Los Muertos pier is not so much a pier right now as it is a collection of posts sticking out of the water on Playa Los Muertos right near Blue Shrimp restaurant, La Palapa, etc). The owners of El Jardin were extremely friendly and welcoming and gave us lots of great recommendations on what to do, where to eat, arranging spa services, etc. Served wonderful fish and dinner food. Breakfast is very basic but eating it on a porch that basically meets the ocean makes up for it. We liked that there was a fridge and containers to store food you could bring yourself. Rooms have great views of ocean and for a couple I would recommend casa bamboo or eagles nest. Town of Yelapa is a short walk away on a rocky beach path ( would be difficult for those with mobility issues).
El Jardin was quite rustic and I think the priorities of the owners are to create a friendly, natural place to stay rather than one of cleanliness or comfort. I really detested the composting toilet which stunk prohibitively and was not addressed during our stay. There was no housekeeping, which is fine, but if you are paying $100 night and the room you are staying is exposed to the elements and to walk up to your room requires navigating sand, dirt, water, and (on the path) donkey dung, it would-be nice to have some basic cleaning service available, even just sweeping. At the end of 3 days our floor was covered in leaves and sand, our outdoor shower had mud and leaves in it, and our whole room stunk horribly from the toilet. Of course when we got out of the shower our wet feet would pick up sand which was then transferred into our bed despite our best efforts.
I think with some minor improvements in maintenance and amenities this would be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KVKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed in yelap in November 2011. We met a local who recommended coming to El Jardin for their ceviche on Tuesday night. We showed up and met Rocky and Anne and had a great time sharing stories, drinking the deadliest margaritas and having a wonderful fresh ceviche. A warm welcome and honest people. We will see them again. A bit of a rough path and definately don't go anywhere without a flashlight!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandDanielle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
12.9 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#67 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
14.3 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#39 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Pericos
Casa Pericos
#2 of 6 in Yelapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Yelapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Yelapa

Property: El Jardin Yelapa
Address: Huachinango 63, Yelapa 48440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is an eco-friendly garden retreat with the ocean on one side and the jungle on the other. Beautiful gardens surround the open air sleeping palapas. The communal area is open anytime, where guests can mingle, relax, read, dine, lay in a hammock or play one of the many games provided. There are recycling guidelines on-site and the manager will introduce you to the communal spaces at the start of your visit. The common areas are great way to meet people and relax. We have a great local cook who is available for meals and often dinners will be arranged for guests. Our casas are a "labor of love". We have worked hard to get the casas to the state they are in and continue to work to make improvements to make them better and more comfortable for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing