We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven”
Review of El Jardin Yelapa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Jardin Yelapa
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yelapa
Reviewed July 14, 2012

El Jardin is located in the very peaceful area of Jalisco, Yelapa. Its easy to get to and only a short walk away from the town, which in itself is so small and peaceful its easy to miss. Its maybe a 15 minute walk to the main beach

The accommodation itself is rustic, and wlecoming. The whole place has a laid back feel to it, with hammocks to laze in, a small beach just a stones throw away, and an area to catch some sun and enjoy a margarita if it takes your fancy

The host who I met, Rocky, went above and beyond what a host should do and was great at answering any questions and giving recommendations. Thanks to him it felt like home from home, and the whole weekend was like a taste of Heaven and at the same time supporting eco-tourism and very affordable.

All my communication in booking and paying was easy and no hassel.

I honestly cannot find fault

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view, and are just as peaceful and comfortale as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our family lives and works in Puerto Vallarta Mexico. Yelapa, Mexico is about an hour away by bus and water taxi from us. So we planned our first overnight getaway to Yelapa and El Jardin was our choice for overnight accommodations just this past weekend.

We were looking for something rustic, charming and a place that was comfortable for our family.

My husband and two teenagers, age 13 and 15, had a wonderful and very memorable experience. We loved that El Jardin was situated on the ¨point¨ and had a great smaller beach..(playa Isabel) about a 2 minute walk from El Jardin. It was also about a 10 minute walk to the actual bustle of the city. Lovely walk along a stone and dirt path that follows the ocean.

We stayed in Casa Banana and we shared a room with fantastic views and comfy beds. Our cabana had 2 singles and 1 hanging queen bed, all with mosquito netting and lots of cozy bedding. Towels and extra beach blankets were provided. There are 2 shared bathrooms on site but i did notice that a couple of the rooms had their own bathrooms too. Our room also had bottled water available, books for reading, mirror and plenty of space around the beds.

The on-site staff. She was wonderful and full of information about Yelapa and El Jardin. We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanaBworldtaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family (mom and kids 20 and 22) traveled to Yelapa in Januany 2012. We really loved El Jardin. We stayed in Casa Banana. Beds were comfy and living space clean. We had a beautiful view of the bay. We loved the rustic feel and great snorkeling right in front of the compound. Our hosts were warm, kind and very helpful. We spent our days at the beach, hiking to the water falls, horseback riding and just hangin' out. It is a wonderful place and we will return at the end of this year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimpsonGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our first time staying in Yelapa, although we had taken a day trip before. If you come from PV on water taxi and ask to be let off at Playa Isabel (a tip- fare seems to be cheaper if you buy it right when you want to board the taxi than at a beach travel stand; also one thing we found confusing was locating where to board the boat as the Los Muertos pier is not so much a pier right now as it is a collection of posts sticking out of the water on Playa Los Muertos right near Blue Shrimp restaurant, La Palapa, etc). The owners of El Jardin were extremely friendly and welcoming and gave us lots of great recommendations on what to do, where to eat, arranging spa services, etc. Served wonderful fish and dinner food. Breakfast is very basic but eating it on a porch that basically meets the ocean makes up for it. We liked that there was a fridge and containers to store food you could bring yourself. Rooms have great views of ocean and for a couple I would recommend casa bamboo or eagles nest. Town of Yelapa is a short walk away on a rocky beach path ( would be difficult for those with mobility issues).
El Jardin was quite rustic and I think the priorities of the owners are to create a friendly, natural place to stay rather than one of cleanliness or comfort. I really detested the composting toilet which stunk prohibitively and was not addressed during our stay. There was no housekeeping, which is fine, but if you are paying $100 night and the room you are staying is exposed to the elements and to walk up to your room requires navigating sand, dirt, water, and (on the path) donkey dung, it would-be nice to have some basic cleaning service available, even just sweeping. At the end of 3 days our floor was covered in leaves and sand, our outdoor shower had mud and leaves in it, and our whole room stunk horribly from the toilet. Of course when we got out of the shower our wet feet would pick up sand which was then transferred into our bed despite our best efforts.
I think with some minor improvements in maintenance and amenities this would be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KVKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed in yelap in November 2011. We met a local who recommended coming to El Jardin for their ceviche on Tuesday night. We showed up and met Rocky and Anne and had a great time sharing stories, drinking the deadliest margaritas and having a wonderful fresh ceviche. A warm welcome and honest people. We will see them again. A bit of a rough path and definately don't go anywhere without a flashlight!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoDamnLuckyVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed in Casa Luna next door to main El Jardin b&b. Location and views are awesome! People are friendly and we feel like we made some friends for life. Had our wedding ceremony in the yard and it was beautiful and perfect. Call or email Carolyn Songin of Yelapa Connexion for amazing concierge service, yelapaconnexion@gmail.com . This is slightly rustic but very comfortable place. Paradise in our eyes. Thanks Chrissi, Ann from El Jardin/casa santa cruz.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wised2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

What I loved about El Jardine was how open to the air everything was. Staying in the rooms was like staying in a tree house, falling asleep looking out on the ocean every night with a breeze on your face is hard to top. We were there during the dry season, so it was never muggy or damp. Just clear and sunny and beautiful the whole stay. I never felt like I was inside, which is what I wanted while I was staying in such a warm scenic place.
Everything is very do it yourself here. There is a community kitchen to cook in. For the most part house keeping made the beds and emptied the trash, but other than that I felt like we had a run of the whole place. There was a management woman there that answered any questions we had, and helped us figure things out in the area.
Yelapa is an unforgettable place, but the memories I have of where we stayed at El Jardine are also pretty unforgettable. I was really sad to leave. I hope I can come back next year. What an incredible trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yelapa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
352 reviews
131.4 mi away
Casa Bahia Bonita
Casa Bahia Bonita
#5 of 6 in Yelapa
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Pericos
Casa Pericos
#2 of 6 in Yelapa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Wellness Retreat
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin Yelapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin Yelapa

Address: Huachinango 63, Yelapa 48440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yelapa
Price Range: $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is an eco-friendly garden retreat with the ocean on one side and the jungle on the other. Beautiful gardens surround the open air sleeping palapas. The communal area is open anytime, where guests can mingle, relax, read, dine, lay in a hammock or play one of the many games provided. There are recycling guidelines on-site and the manager will introduce you to the communal spaces at the start of your visit. The common areas are great way to meet people and relax. We have a great local cook who is available for meals and often dinners will be arranged for guests. Our casas are a "labor of love". We have worked hard to get the casas to the state they are in and continue to work to make improvements to make them better and more comfortable for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing