We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Restaurant”
Review of El Pollo Bollo

El Pollo Bollo
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Yelapa
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Yelapa is small village. This place has no address or website, but can easily be found for tourists visiting Yelapa
Southern Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Jungle Restaurant”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

One of the more reasonably priced and most satisfying meals in Yelapa. I order the 'median' or half order and it is more than enough for me. The chicken dishes are great but so is everything else and the mashed potatoes are delicious, even though I at first questioned the need for serving them with beans AND rice. The pina coladas are my favourite and what I look forward to every year when I come here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pollo y Arrechera”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Been going to this restaurant for about 5 years, because I keep coming back to Yelapa. The meals are huge but can do half order. Their specialty is chicken and its yummy. I rarely eat beef but the arrechera is amazingly good and tender. Meals are served with bean, rice, mashed potato, small salad and tortillas. Impossible to eat it all!!! There I also a seafood option with shrimp or fish. Soda, beer, sangria and margaritas. Gotta go for the chicken and beef!!! Many locals eat here, take this as a good sign and do yourself a favor, go to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pollo Bollo”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent BBQ restaurant. I recommend the BBQ platter! The margaritas are delicious! Reasonable prices, top value for your pesos!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canadave61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Favorite of Locals and Tourists Alike”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

You will get your belly full here with good size portions and satisfying, delicious food. There is not one thing on their menu not worth raving about. The staff is professional and prompt. With a name like Pollo Bollo you better try the chicken, but I look forward to the scewers of fish and vegies, mashed potatoes, warm rice...I'm drooling thiking about it. Always busy, not open every day or all season, worth the wait!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfort food, and lots of it”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a comfort food restaurant with good service and cold beer, and it's helpful to know this before you go. Do not expect fancy food, but expect good food. It's located in town, and has been full when we ate there. You will see many Yelapans at Pollo Bollo. I had ribs on our most recent visit, and they were excellent. Family members enjoyed their dinners as well. The portions are generous, to say the least, the waiters are attentive and efficient, and the prices are low. The dining crowd was happy and talkative, and everyone seemd to be having a good time and an extra beer. That's the type of place you'll find, and we enjoyed it. You won't need breakfast the next morning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastWestFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Bollo also viewed

 
Yelapa, Costalegre
 
Yelapa, Costalegre
 

Been to El Pollo Bollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing