We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My beloved Yelapa family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casas de los Suenos
Ranked #4 of 6 Yelapa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I've been to Yelapa many times so this Year I decided to share its magic with friends, so I celebrated my birthday there. Since there had been a cancelation, we were able to take over the entire Suenos property: 6 casitas that will sleep up to 20 guests.
There aren't enough supurlatives to describe our experience. Everyone gushed about the beaury of the surroundings. Shannon accomodated everyone with warmth and grace that went beyond hospitality! I can't add anything about the beauty of the rooms or views or service that hasn't been said above.
I fell in love with Suenos and the Yateses on a couple earlier trips to Yelapa, but this time I felt like we all became family. Is there something that's beyond perfect? If so, Suenos is it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keenplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2011

My wife and I spent a week in the Coronado del Sol palapas at the Casa de los Suenos. What a great place to spend a week of total relaxation!
Our papalas was the highest one on the property and thus had the better view. I would highly recommend that one because it offers more privacy than most of the others.
The palapas was elegantly appointed with minimal and rustic mexican furniture. No need to have any more than what is already there. Marcelina did a great job cleaning our room every day.
I would recomend bringing ear plugs for the first couple of nights since the sound of the surf below can be unsettling for some. There are also 10 millions roosters in Yelapa and they start their day at 5:00am.
David was a great host and he did a great job entertaining all/some of his guests late afternoon. It gives the opportunity to meet the other guests and share information on what to do, where to go, ...
I will conclude that Los Suenos is the most professional outfit in Yelapa, ... by far.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcopolo_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

First off; how to describe Yelapa? What made Yelapa so special was the people; locals, gringos, expats, you name it - they're there! It really is a community, not just another tourist town. My wife and I enjoy travelling 'below the radar' and avoid touristy areas and all-inclusive resorts like the flu. We had visited Yelapa the prior year on a day trip from PV and immediately wanted to come back for longer. From the beach, Yelapa seems like another sleepy little beach/fishing village, but the art, music, food scene in Yelapa was equal to anything we had experienced in the rest of Mexico. There is literally too much to do in Yelapa to do it justice in one review article! Art Supper & Shows, live music, hiking, eating, beach, and too many interesting people to meet!
David and Shannon were the most fabulous hosts any person could ask for. From the second David meets you on the pier; you can't help but relax and start to slip into the slow and liesurely pace that is Yelapa. The 'grande finale' of each day was David's margaruita hour where all the guests gathered in the courtyard to compare the day's notes and debate the nights choice of restaurant for supper. (Numerous world issues and problems were also solved during these sessions; but couldn't be recalled the next morning for some reason!?)
We stayed in the spectacular palapa at the top of the complex; "Dillon's lookout"! It was great, even when we got to experience a true-blue tropical storm. The palapa had a kitchenette, but we never did use it due to inexpensive and fantastic eating options located in and around Yelapa. We usually started our day at The Oasis for breakfast and then headed out for the day. More than one night we would end up back at Oasis for a night-cap.
I could go on for ever, but won't for brevity sake. I would highly recommend Yelapa in general and Casa de los Suenos for certain to anyone wanting to relax and enjoy the company of very interesting and lovable people.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg-n-Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The Casas de los Suenos are a group of beautiful, secluded palapas up in the hills above the beach in Yelapa. The houses are simple but are nicely put together and comfortable. We stayed in the Corona del Sol, the highest and most secluded on the property. The one drawback is that all of the houses are a five to ten minute hike up the hill from both the town and the beach, and the Corona del Sol is still a long stairway up once you get there.

But, the hike up brings incredible views of the bay and the beach. The house had a kitchen, comfortable dining area, and big cozy bed, and the high ceilings meant you had a great view from anywhere in the house, making it an incredible place to stay. We had a hard time getting out every morning just because it was so nice to stay in.

The staff was likewise fantastic. It was the off-season, but Maria was always helpful in letting us know the good (and open) places to eat, gave suggestions for daytime activities, and set us up with guides and boat rentals any time we needed. Overall it was a really great experience, and I highly recommend the casas.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We fell in love with Casas de los Suenos when we first stayed there
in 2008. It's centrally located, but private. Casas range from
cute and cozy to downright gorgeous, they are all well maintained,
and several of them have a lovely view of bougainvillea or the
Yelapa hillside and cove. Hosts Shannon and David Yates are on top
of every detail and seem to delight in offering the best hospitality
anyone could hope for.

But really, all you need to know about this place is that they have
***PILLOWTOP BEDS***, not the (unfortunately common in Yelapa) bendy
hanging beds that have you and your companion clinging to your
respective edge lest you both roll into the middle on top of each
other. It's much easier to enjoy your travels when you wake up
well rested after a comfy night of sleep on a pillowtop mattress.

During our first stay at Suenos, we were making the initial
arrangements for our wedding, and because we enjoyed it there so
much, we knew we wanted to have our rehearsal dinner BBQ in the
courtyard at Suenos. We reserved the whole place for the wedding
weekend, and of all the places we could have stayed in Yelapa during
our wedding, we chose to stay at Suenos, in Corona del Sol, the cozy
little nest for two with an amazing view.

In the ensuing 16 months leading up to our wedding, we got a taste
of what it's like to have a group stay at Suenos, and grew even more
fond of the place and its hosts in the process. Shannon and David
took care of everything--putting the right number of beds in the
right rooms; keeping track of which guests were arriving on which
water taxi and making sure someone was there to meet them, even when
rough surf kept throwing the boats off-schedule--and although we had
plenty to worry about planning a wedding in a place like Yelapa, we
never once had to spend a minute worrying about anything at
Suenos. The place looked absolutely gorgeous for our rehearsal
dinner, and our guests were completely comfortable and well taken
care of.
In addition to tending to the nuts and bolts of hospitality, the
hosts went above and beyond to assist us with our wedding weekend
preparations (let me just repeat: not that easy in Yelapa!).
Although there were many uncertainties, one thing we knew for sure
is that the weather would be fine and dry in February. Nobody had
ever heard of rain in February. Until this year: 2009-2010 ended
up being an El Nin~o year, with unheard-of freak rainstorms
throughout the season. With all of our wedding festivities
scheduled to be outside and storms continuing up through just over a
week before our wedding, we were wracking our brains as to how to
shelter our guests, and Shannon and David heroically made a research
trip to Puerto Vallarta for us and helped us track down rentable
tents. Anyone who's ever tried to do business with vendors in
Yelapa or even Puerto Vallarta will know that for most of them,
email is not an option--legwork and one or more face-to-face
inquiries are a must, and Shannon and David were willing to do that
legwork for us, saving us from a giant headache, and picked up a box
of decorations for us on the same trip.

With everything we had to do to plan a ceremony and two meals for
fifty friends and relatives in a town with no cars and limited
telecommunications, their assistance made a huge difference and we
will always remember with gratitude how they went above and beyond
in making our wedding weekend a success.

We'd call Suenos the best of both worlds--rock-solid reliability and
efficiency delivered in a warm, friendly, laid-back Yelapa style.
We can't wait to go back.

Emily and Bonnie
San Francisco, California, USA

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
4  Thank bonniefSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Casas de los Suenos and cannot wait to return. David and Shannon were lovely hosts who always had a great restaurant to recommend or activity to suggest. The rooms were clean and well appointed. I was lucky enough to be able to take yoga classes next door and could slip out of Corona and right up the path to the wonderful yoga studio next door. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We spent four days of our honeymoon at the Casa del Sol, and it could not have been more romantic. We danced every night in our magnificent palapa. We lounged in the mornings on our very private veranda with coffee and goodies that we bought the day before at the bakery in the pueblo. We listened to the sounds of Yelapa which are roosters crowing, dogs barking, waves breaking, breezes blowing, birds calling (watch out for the Chacalackas), and Mexican waltzes. We gazed at the beautiful vista of water and mountains with frigate birds, buzzards ,and pelicans floating on the wind. We were surrounded by the lush jumgle. After 10 days of palapa living we could not adjust to the vacuum of walled sound. David and Shannon, our hosts, are a delight and very interesting people. In the late afternoons we were able to meet some neat other people that were guests there as well. There was an informal get together every afternoon if you chose to attend. Their rescue dachshund, Winston, greeted you as you moved through the central palapa. The food in the restaurants around the pueblo was excellent. Always a treat.
One caveat. Yelapa is not for everyone. If you are not in good shape for walking/climbing steps, you're probably going to question why you chose Yelapa for a vacation. We liked walking and hiking. Some folks don't. This is not a place where you are going to be waited on hand and foot. Stay at the all-inclusives in Puerto Vallarta if that is your idea of a vacation. Yelapa is for taking your time....savoring whatever is on the wind at the moment....no tomorrow, no yesterday; just right now.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buddhabythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
13.3 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#3 of 4 in Yelapa
346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
#75 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas de los Suenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas de los Suenos

Address: Marlyn 70, Yelapa 48440, Mexico (Formerly La Casa de los Suenos)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yelapa
Price Range: $70 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming around the bend on the water taxi into the bay of Yelapa, whether it be for the first or for the hundredth time, is one of the most magical moments you'll ever feel. Yelapa is a place to come for total relaxation and adventure combined. Paths instead of roads, boats instead of buses, a symphony of ocean waves, tropical birds, roosters, donkeys and more, all combine to make Yelapa feel like a place out of time, a true tropical paradise. Casa de los Sueños is conveniently located just off the main path up river from the pueblo of Yelapa. Nestled in manicured jungle gardens, perched above the lagoon, it is an easy three minute river crossing to the beach. Los Sueños boasts a rich history full of wild characters and world class travelers. Built up in the 70s by the Shapiro family, the property has been a meeting place for actors, musicians, and artists since its beginning. After 40 years in the community, it was a natural extension for the Roberts family to takeover the property in 2011 and continue the Los Sueños tradition. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing