We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Million Dollar View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Bahia Bonita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Bahia Bonita
Ranked #5 of 6 Yelapa B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Million Dollar View!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The view from our spacious balcony was truly beautiful...gave me the feeling that I was living "The Life Styles of The Rich and Famous" for a fraction of the cost...The balcony in The Tortuga room was so large and spacious there were two hammocks that we could both enjoy as the Tropical breeze cooled us as we lolled away the afternoon...a world class view, but at the same time a privacy that a romantic couple can truly enjoy!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 1 night at the casa bahia bonita in February. We chose the Tortuga room (top floor) and it was fantastic. The view was incredible. It was a bit of a walk to town, but we were on vacation and had nothing but time. The view was incredible! I give it a 4 star rating because I felt the cost $110 USD was a bit high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The View from the Balcony Suites are the best in Yelapa, you can look out over the whole bay. Located steps from the pier from which the taxi boat drops you off. Steps from the beach and Hotel Lagunita (not really a 'hotel' but little bungalow rentals) where the food is always delicious. Hint: Convienient because sometimes the river is too high to cross to get to the restaurants in the village and open all year, even in low season. Casa Bahia Bonita has spacious rooms equipt with mini fridge, little gas stove, and sink. Hot water in the shower is very nice. Room was always cleaned spotless no matter what time of day we eventually left the room. It's very quiet as well. From the balcony you can be entertained watching all the boats come and go. Some of the open air homes you can rent here get a chili breeze at night off the ocean but Bahia Bonita has nice closing glass screen doors so you can enjoy the view while staying warm. Lots of great places to stay in Yelapa but this is got everything you need for a great price! Yelapa is Paradise!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I actually really like this place, but I'm giving it low stars because they dramatically increased their prices this year. We stayed in Casa Bonita in 2011 for 2 nights - stayed in the very pleasant Delfin suite, and we paid $60 a night. We were going back to Yelapa for 3 nights this year (after a week in Vallarta) and were going to stay at Casa Bonita again. However, when we checked prices online they had increased the price for the same room to $115 per night. Although the place is very nice, it is pretty basic, and not worth that price in this location. We ended up staying at Hotel Lagunita (right next door on the beach), which was really nice, for $140 for THREE nights (so less than $50 a night). Unless Bonita drops their prices they will lose a lot of business (they looked empty when we were there).

Room Tip: Delfin is the best suite - it has a large patio and has a great view over the bay of Yelapa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabahiabonita, Owner at Casa Bahia Bonita, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi sr Dave , the rates you mentioned correspond to the Christmas and Easter seasons,
These are the prices for September and October 2012

Dolphin Room $35 us per night second floor with ocean front
Sol Room $45us per night third floor with ocean floor
Tortuga Room $55us per night fourth floor with ocean floor

We recommend asking rates depending on the season by sending an e-mail

Regards

Eduardo Garcia
Casa Bahia Bonita
Yelapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed at Casa Bahia Bonita in Yelapa for one night in the middle of a weeklong stay in Puerto Vallarta. We had been to Yelapa on a day trip about five years ago and wanted to return and spend more time. Now that we've spent one night in Yelapa we want to return and spend two or three nights. We brought our three kids (12 boy, 10 & 8 girls) and they loved it but I think the lack of a pool would have become a problem for the kids after a few days.

As for Casa Bahia Bonita, very nice clean safe place with a great view. We rented the third floor which consists of two units Suite Eclipse & Suite Sol. This gave us three separate bedrooms and three king beds. Suite Sol had a type of pull out bed that we didn't use. The kitchens were functional but had minimal utensils. The minimal utensils did not matter to us because all we needed was the fridge. We did miss having a functional coffee maker though.

The location is good but a little challenging. It's good if you are looking for peace and quiet and you don't mind some stairs and some walking. It's very close to the pier so getting the little luggage we had up to the third floor was no big deal but it is a bit of a climb. If we had any quantity of groceries or luggage it would have been a chore. The pier is a nice place to hang out and snorkel or sun bathe. We spent most of our full day on the pier.

The town of Yelapa is on the other side of the bay so getting to town is about a 30 minute walk that includes wading across a shallow river and trudging through a lot of soft sand. We didn't head for town until after sunset and the adventure that followed would freak out many less traveled folks. I would recommend finding your way during daylight hours but I must say that my kids (who are very adventurous) had a blast trying to find our way through the back alleys of a town whose streets are as wide as alleys and the alleys are barley paths. Eventually we made our way to a great reasonable dinner at a place called Eclipse. We bought a few supplies at a local store and headed back on an equally challenging return trip to our hotel. Along the way we stopped at the bar at Hotel Lagunita for a very resonable drink and snack. We ended up having lunch there the next day and it was under $50 U.S. for five of us including a few drinks. We ate lunch at one of the places on the main beach (that caters to the day trip folks) right after we arrived and it was a little more expensive but still reasonable.

Casa Bahia Bonita was great and we did not get enough of Yelapa. Casa Bahia Bonita is very new and the owners are a family of very nice Yelapan folks. If they would offer a boat taxi ride across the bay to guests it would make the trip into town much more convenient. Although I think it would have been less of a chore if we were just a couple rather than a family of five.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hynds1797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
330 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
41 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#65 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,791 reviews
14.4 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#97 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
153 reviews
13.7 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#37 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bahia Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bahia Bonita

Property: Casa Bahia Bonita
Address: Yelapa Bay, Yelapa, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Bahia Bonita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Bahia Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing