We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paridise in Paridise”
Review of Casa Pericos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Pericos
Ranked #2 of 6 Yelapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
“Paridise in Paridise”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here before the top floor was done. But the second floor where we stayed was amazing. Unlike lots of Mexican rentals the furniture was exceptionally comfortable. The arrangement of the beds in one big room seemed a bit strange but worked for us. Every morning we saw whales, porpoises and mantas right in front of the house. Can't get a better place in yelapa

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverbeenadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
101
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
railsoz
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

First off, this traveler has been from Amsterdam to Australia, New York to San Fran, Hawaii to Hanoi, Paris to the Poconos, and this place is definitely a favorite!!! From the relaxation of the accommodations to the fun people and locals of the Pueblo, this place truly gives the stressed out a place to unwind and enjoy the slower speed of life. Casa Pericos is beautiful, comfortable and just the right distance from the village and beach to give you two vacations in one. All of your needs will be attended to by your wonderful host and Concierge, Carolyn. Either hang out at your Palapa all day and watch the whales and porpoises come through the bay, perhaps take a sea kayak ride, or walk down the coast through town and find your way to the beach and margaritas!!! No cars, No phones, No TV (internet if you need, but why, RELAX!!!) just the sound of the waves and the crackle of the ice cubes in your drink next to you… Perfect!

Room Tip: Each level of this Palapa has its own charm, can't go wrong... If just the two of you traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank railsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Let me start by saying that I was VERY nervous about visiting Mexico due to all the reports of criminal activity. We fly into PV and I felt somewhat safe there but I felt 100% safe in Yelapa. Everyone seemed to know everyone and by the end of our trip some of the locals knew us by first name. People in Yelapa were very friendly and there was not one moment there that made me feel nervous or uneasy (and I tend to be a nervous person). I honestly believe that most parts of Mexico are very safe as long as you keep your eyes open and don't put yourself in dangerous situations.

We stayed in the Vista romantica room and it was wonderful. We had people staying above and below us and not once did I ever hear anyone. I was a little concerned about about bugs and other critters since the space was so exposed to the outside but it was never a problem. Didn't even need to use my bug spray or the net for the bed. Remember to take a flashlight for night time walking. I would recommend ear plugs because the waves can be a little loud. Was VERY happy to find that I could use my hair dryer there....not an air dry kinda gal.

Carolyn was awesome and very helpful. She was very easy to get ahold of either via telephone or e-mail. Please read her instructions carefully because we failed to tell the water taxi exactly where to drop us off at (which is in her instructions) and we got dropped off at the furthest pier. It turned out to be ok because we found someone to take us there on an ATV with our luggage which was a lot of fun. I highly recommend a lunch or dinner at Verana and Carolyn can make a reservation for you.....about a 20 minute walk and it has spectacular views. Most mornings and sometimes for lunch we ate at Angelina's Garden and Miguel was a great server.....food was always great. The kayaking that is included with your stay was great/convenient....as long as the waves aren't too big. We did the 10 minute hike to the waterfall but didn't get a chance to do the longer hike......couldn't break away from the beach chair and margaritas.

If your looking for a safe and relaxing beach vacation with friendly people this is the place for you. Highly recommend visiting Yelapa and staying at Casa Pericos. I plan on going back in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Casa Pericos was fabulous and certainly exceeded our expectations. Carolyn, the concierge that is part of this property, made our trip so much easier. We took advantage of the "stock your fridge" with a custom list of items we selected prior to traveling. Cold beer (Negra Modelo if you like a darker beer), fruit, guacamole, salsa, chips, the best ceviche, and other items were all stocked and waiting for us when we arrived. You will be dropped off at a small beach close to the casa but I would recommend paying for the porter service to carry your bags to the house as the walkway is a stone pathway that the porter navigates better than you will with heavy bags. Well worth the $10-$15 tip. The accomodations were spectacular. The view was incredible. We stayed in the penthouse so we had 2 floors, a hot tub, and full kitchen that came in handy for a light breakfast and/or dinner. Yelapa is full of incredible places to eat like Cafe Bahia (Bloody Mary's, bean soup, and breakfast burritos are a must), Los Abuelos (only seats 12 but the best dinner burritos, YUM!), and Tacos y Mas were a few of our favorites. If you go to the beach, go to Angelina's Garden and Miguel will be your server on the beach. He was wonderful. Take in the 10 minute hike to the in-town waterfall. It is a really nice waterfall complete with a bar and gazebo once you arrive. You can take the longer 1.5 hour hike up the river to the other waterfall and well worth the effort. You will pass Christina's on the way for a wonderful vegan lunch served along the river and be sure to stop at El Manguito on the way back for Bloody Mary's and other wonderful food selections. Be sure to take flashlights for night walking in town and a must to get back to the casa after dark. The other wonderful experience was having in-house massages. Carolyn can arrange single massages or you can have couples massages. Carolyn truly made our experience so much better and we are already planning our next trip back to Yelapa.

Room Tip: We were very happy that we brought ear plugs as the water hitting up against the rocks makes a loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieKosloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

As I own a winter home in Puerto Vallarta, I try to visit lovely Yelapa at least once a year and highly recommend it to others. Having seen the evolution of Casa Pericos over the past few years, I was eager to experiencing staying there myself and - just this month (1/12) - invited four friends to join me in the penthouse unit. What an amazing property! Beautifully maintained and integrated into the jungle hillside, Casa Pericos is a wonderful hybrid of rustic adventure and luxurious comforts. I couldn't recommend it more highly. On top of that, the concierge Carolyn went above and beyond the call, always at our beck and call whenever we needed something. If they have availability, I eagerly recommend you stay there! ; )

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coats G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We Just returned from a 21 dat vacation to PV and spent 4 nights in the middle at Casa Pericos in Yelapa. It was absolutely lovely! We had the lower unit, Cielito Lindo which is a studio with kitchenette. Very clean and nicely decorated with 2 queen beds. The casa has a unique open wall/ I was a little concerned about privacy when I booked but the sound of the waves crashing just a floor level below the balcony created total privacy for conversation or anything else! We frequently found ourselves just sitting for hours gazing at the spectacular view from the comfy chairs placed to perfectly take advantage of sunset over the cove. Love Yelapa, the quiet from no cars!!! was deeply satisfying. Each morning I loved to watch the donkeys as they passed directly below my balcony with the daily loads of water bottles, food stuffs, propane tanks etc that they were delivering to residents along the coast. The in house concierge Carolyn is great. As helpful as you need her to be, or she will leave you totally alone. She arranged for a massage for 2 in the penthouse suite for us for Michaels birthday, great massage therapists and so worth it as your feet and calves get a good workout climbing the steep pathways that wind charmingly thru Yelapa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luckyjtaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Just to relax, have fun or play... This is an amazing place to stay... Ive been going to Yelapa for many years and evidently there is no other place I would stay now than this house... The owners are great, the views are perfect... Thanks for a wonderfull unforgetable time!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
339 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
43 reviews
10.7 mi away
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
Villa Azalea - Luxury B&B
#69 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,875 reviews
14.3 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#36 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,383 reviews
11.1 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#87 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pericos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pericos

Property: Casa Pericos
Address: Huachanango 51, Yelapa 48440, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pericos 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pericos, located on "The Point" in Yelapa only a few palapas down from Isabel's Beach, is the newest and most finely appointed Guest House/Vacation Rental in Yelapa. Casa Pericos, which translates as "House of the Parrots", are three romantic Indonesian-inspired loft suites rising within a beautiful jungle canopy filled with parrots and butterflies directly on the ocean. All three romantic Indonesian-inspired loft suites of Casa Pericos sleep up to 14 when rented together, but may be easily closed off to be two or three very spacious lofts, all with private baths and separate kitchens to accommodate our guest's needs.With breathtaking ocean and jungle views, calm warm ocean breezes, and waters teaming sea life literally at your front door, you will immediately understand why people are instantly lured to jump into the water before they even unpack. Once settled in, take a soak in our Zen Soaking tub with expansive jungle and ocean views, or shower in our private outdoor shower pavilion, before enjoying a margarita on your balcony overlooking Banderas Bay. We are located in the quietest area of Yelapa on The Point, yet Casa Pericos is only a five minute walk to the village restaurants and two locals dance clubs, or 20 minutes walking to the main beach or nearest waterfall. Begin your journey with us below as we explore each of our three Indonesian-inspired loft suites at Casa Pericos and the eco-barefoot experience Yelapa offers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Pericos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pericos Hotel Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing