We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Casa Vortex

Casa Vortex
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Vortex
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yelapa
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Of the many lodging options in Yelapa, Casa Vortex offers a very fair price and a convenient, central location, halfway between the village and the main beach. It has a well equipped kitchen with drinking water provided, room enough for a family, awesome views of the beach and the lagoon with abundant bird life. We loved the bright colors of the decor, the ocean breeze blowing through at all times, and there were no mosquitos during our stay. One could easily pay twice the Vortex weekly rate for a small palapa with no kitchen at, say, the popular Hotel Lagunita. However, American standards of hotel amenities and cleanliness do not apply. I won't say it was dirty, but dust, rust and sand are pervasive in an open-air tropical environment. Be prepared to climb in and out of small boats and drag luggage up steep, dark stairs, so travel light and bring a flashlight. The bed, though comfortable, is a mattress on the floor in a loft with a low ceiling, accessed by ladder, and you make the bed yourself from ample bedding provided. With other rentals on all sides, noisy neighbors were an issue for us, but the soothing sounds of the ocean helped compensate. The hosts, who live downstairs and run the Cafe Vortex are very friendly and helpful. Yelapa in general is a great destination for the adventurous, able-bodied traveler who doesn't mind roughing it a bit - a trip back in time to village life with slower, gentler pace. And the food everywhere was outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Casa Vortex
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay in Yelapa and Casa Vortex. Nestled on the hillside, steps from the beach, the location could not have been any better. The loft like bed room is overlooking the ocean and the sounds of the rolling waves is so soothing. Casa Vortex has a kitchen in which we prepared daily meals ( although I personally didn't cook, I enjoyed watching from the hammock). The cafe below has amazing smoothies!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank susanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is sort of an conco-like place built into the side of the mountain just about 40 or 50 steps about the beach. The location couldn't be better!!! You feel like your in a beautiful bird house above the gorgeous white sand beach and the turquoise bay!! My husband went right for the hammock in front of the expansive view and stayed there for hours, happily unwinding!. . It's a big, open design. A kitchen with all you need. A comfy living area, that sleeps at least two, and a loft that sleeps two. It's in the greatest location, right off the path between the best beach and the path to the main part of town. And one of the best restaurants right nearby!!You're right on the best swimming beach in Yelapa!! I can't believe that you get all this for the price. We will definitely be back, many times!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2008
Thank QuebecMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yelapa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lagunita
Hotel Lagunita
#2 of 4 in Yelapa
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Wellness Retreat
0.0 mi away
Casa Bahia Bonita
Casa Bahia Bonita
#5 of 6 in Yelapa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Pericos
Casa Pericos
#2 of 6 in Yelapa
175 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vortex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vortex

Address: Yelapa, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Yelapa
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing