We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
27
2
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
2
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marietta islands toaster oven humpback whales two couples puerta vallarta felipe richard house breached steps hike flashlight town patio casa boat life
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2018

We could only book five days (because of other bookings) but it was a great experience. We wish we could have stayed longer. The property is beautifully landscaped and has a stunning view of the Pacific. The open air kitchen/dining/lounging area was perfect and bedrooms were private and comfortable. We had all the amenities that we needed including a nice bluetooth sound system, drip coffee maker, microwave, toaster oven, fridge and pantry. Walks to town were the perfect way to stay active. The shoreline path requires flashlights after dark but was doable for our middle aged crew. Felipe and Yanet were quite friendly and always asking how things were going. Felipe took us out on his boat to Las Marietas Islands NP for a great day of beach, wildlife viewing, and snorkeling. On the way back we witnessed many breaches of humpback whales which was a thrill. Another trip to the little town of Chimo and a lobster/shrimp lunch was a highlight. I highly recommend Casa Coco and Yelapa in general. It is a great escape from crazy Puerta Vallarta. Richard and Nathalie have a great thing going with this casa.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

My family of 6 adults just stayed at Casa Coco again, for 13 days this time. We knew what to expect (see my prior review) but what we found was nothing short of magic. And compounding magic as the trip progressed. From day 1 the humpback whales were visible from the garden terrace as they breached and blew spouts in the bay. We started counting them, in the same way you count shooting stars, but soon gave up there was such an abundance. In the still nights we watched the cruise ships come and go from Puerto Vallarta and couldn't help but to feel sad for the poor souls on board as we sipped our tea and coffees and listened to the calming jungle as the lights of Yelapa glistened across the bay. It didn't take long to adapt to the tranquility as life became a circadian rhythm depending only on small choices — where to eat our breakfast, which beach to mark the idling of our day, whether or not to buy a coke at the market as we wander through town on our way back to Casa Coco. Let me be clear. This review is a difficult thing to write. You must go. And no, please do not, as Casa Coco truly is a best kept secret. When you lounge on the terrace watching the whales during the day and constellations at night, you'll know precisely what I mean. You'll know that nothing else can possibly compare.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chad-Denver1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

My family and I have stayed at 5 different rental casas in Yelapa and this is hands down the casa with the best view. From the kitchen and various patios you can see from the town of Yelapa all the way to Marietas Islands. You can whale watch with a hot cup of coffee while overlooking the most stunning garden all at your doorstep.

We also enjoyed being away from the hussle and bustle of town. While the jungle surrounds Casa Coco, it doesn't invade it, thanks in large part to the property layout and endless work of the caretakers in keeping the garden distinct. There are even brick walls dividing sections of the garden and one with an alcove harboring an outdoor shower.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention how well the kitchen was stocked with utensils and cutlery, making home cooked meals easy.

If you want a garden paradise with an endlessy mesmerizing view, then this is your place. Yes, you must hike a short trail up to the casa, but the steps are concrete and wide and there is even a resting bench part way up. How many steps? Not so many. Especially considering each step brings you closer to the tranquil heaven that is Casa Coco. In fact, I'll be booking again here shortly.

Stayed: March 2017
4  Thank Chad-Denver1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Please note that Casa Rosa has been sold and is no longer one of the rentals. All of which adds to your privacy. we stayed there with our 19 year old son and his friend. They were apprehensive about such a long time... That changed very quickly. First of all just staying at Casa Coco and being woken up by exotic birds, sun rising from behind and then swoops all around the front front of this Villa. Add some hot coffee in the morning before you fellow guests arise and enjoy out on the terrace. or walk back and see if any Passion Fruits fell from the tree in back during the night. And then the town of Yelapa is only a 15 minute walk on a trail next to the Ocean. We noticed that none of the people locked their doors. Small town advantages. and the town of Yelapa is a whole other wonderful story. Enjoy it before it is ruined.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2016

This was the first time I was visiting the Pacific Coast of Mexico. After a wonderful walk along the shore and climbing up to the house, you are rewarded with an overwhelming view of the entire Yelapa Bay from the terrace of the house.
The house is wonderfully thought out, with one bedroom and a bathroom on each end separated by an inner court leading to the back of the house. It also houses a large, covered outdoor kitchen on one side and a beautiful dining room (with a large dining table) for friends and family to gather. The kitchen is large enough to allow for preparing and cooking the food with others without feeling crowded.

In January morning sun would shine on the terrace, bringing a welcome warmth after the cool nights. And if you want to have some privacy, there is a few steps lower a terrace where you can enjoy the sun and be by yourself reading or meditating.

Felipe not only takes care of the lush garden, but he and his wife are always there with their care and attention. They always make themselves available to help and be of service whenever you call them. They also make sure the house is clean and there is enough drinking water, gas in the tank for the hot water, etc. Their kindness and smile are heartwarming, enriching the experience of your stay,

In short, it is a unique house ideally suited for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank farhad273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews