We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay for New Year”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
West Wittering, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claireand...
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely stay for New Year”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed as 2 families of 4 for a break which included new year. We were 4 adults and 4 children and the house had enough space to accommodate all of us with varying requirements. We especially enjoyed the large kitchen with dining table and sofa area for eating and catching up after a good walk along the beach. There is a main bathroom with bath & electric shower on the middle floor plus a shower room downstairs. The house was very clean with white linen and clean towels. There was an added benefit of a washing machine also if required. The main bedrooms were spacious and fully equipped, the bunk bed room is only suitable for small children as they are 'small' beds but perfectly fine and functional. The house is ideally located on a quiet street leading down to the beach. It has a variety of shops in the village centre 2 minutes walk, various takeaways such as fish and chips, chinese plus a pub and coffee shop / cafes. Great proximity to the beach which we enjoyed walking along from east wittering to West wittering where there is a nice coffee stop before returning back. We would definitely return to the house and would thoroughly recommend it to others. Amanda made the booking process very easy and was a great help in providing information about the house and location prior to booking - thank you!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review Claire and for booking with Wellies & Windbreaks. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, fabulous garden, relaxed house”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a glorious 2 week holiday staying at Sherkin. The house is very well located with a very short walk to both the shops and to the beach. The house has a lovely atmosphere - white floorboards and 'beach-house' in style and we felt very relaxed during our stay. The highlight of the house is a great garden that is clearly loved and well-maintained. The house is a bit of a tardis - big open plan kitchen at the back of the house where we spent most of our time. The house was well laid out for our needs and we had everything ready for our arrival with beds made up and towels put out. We had great meals nearby at Samphire (for dinner), Drifters and Billy's on the Beach (for lunch) and Drift In (for coffees/breakfasts). The house has parking outside (for 2 cars at a squeeze) and a useful side entrance for bringing stuff home from the beach. A great holiday, so thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Garden
Liked least: No tumble dryer!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments Annabel. I am glad you enjoyed your family holiday and so many of the great local restaurants. Thank you for booking with Wellies & Windbreaks. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetoski...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great house in a great location”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely week here. There were 4 adults , 4 children, and one toddler and there was plenty of room for us all. The open plan living space downstairs is lovely and opens out onto a lovely enclosed garden which has a good bbq. It is very clean and modern with well equipped kitchen. Free wifi is available. The upstairs rooms are all spacious except for the top floor bunk room which is small but fine for us. Parking is tight for two people carriers but we squeezed them in. The location is great just a short stroll to the beach or shops/restaurants. We had nice fish and chips across the road, good family fayre at the Boulevard Restaurant opposite, and took a short stroll to the tesco express for any supplies. The butchers was great quality for BBQ meat. There is also a shop which sells all the things you might need for the beach. We bought wetsuits in the end as the water was a bit chilly to stay in for any length of time without them. Check the tide times so you know the best time to go to the beach. We enjoyed the beach at East and West Wittering plus crabbing off Dell Quay. We also enjoyed a day shopping in Chichester. Perhaps having a couple of boogie boards to use when visiting would be a nice touch. A great holiday house in a fab location :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious well equipped house in fab location
Liked least: Tight parking for two large cars but they do fit
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review and also for your recommendations. I am delighted that you all had a wonderful holiday. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim539
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and really nice, comfy place to go away for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Sherkin is in a great spot and is really nicely fitted out. Everything was easy and we slotted straight into the house for a relaxing weekend away with old friends and our children. Hot chocolate from the cafe down the road and excellent chips from the fish and chip shop up the road went down well too!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
Thanks so much for your comments Tim. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEI30
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, spacious holiday home!”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were so thrilled with Sherkin - a lovely big house which catered well for our group of 3 small families. It's well equipped with plenty of space, and the décor is really nicely done - homely - coastal - tasteful - really feels like you're on holiday! The back garden is large and completely enclosed so very safe for little ones. Even in October the kids made good use of it - I'm sure it would be wonderful in the Summer with the bi-fold doors open and to eat outside.

It's a few minutes walk to East Wittering Beach and right off the high street so everything you need is on the doorstep.

The house really worked for us and I would definitely stay again if in the area - in fact have already recommended it to a friend for her family holiday.

We visited the Butterfly, Bird and Beasts attraction nearby which was surprisingly good - we were there for 5 hours, great value for money, and the younger kids enjoyed all the outdoor play, animals and the themed Halloween treasure hunt.

We also visited the beach several times (both East and West Wittering) as well as Barn Yard garden centre where they had some lovely half term activities on for the kids.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank you so much for your positive comments about Sherkin and also all your top tips for things to do in the area with young children. We do hope to have you back one day and look forward to welcoming your friend. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great house, great time”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

East Wittering is a great and thriving village with everything we wanted. Good butcher, green grocer, restaurants (excellent Indian (Moonlight) just over the road and all within about 300 yards, literally. Going the other way is the beach, that's a bit further, about 500 yards.
The house is lovely, we were glad of the parking spaces which we used, and the lovely sunny back garden.
There is loads of room, we positively rattled around inside. I suppose the acid test is would we book up again next year? And the answer to that is year, definitely. Any drawbacks? If you want to be miles from anywhere or right on the beach then this is not for you. Beach-wise its great for us. Close enough to always be able to pop down and yet far enough up Shore Road (which is a quiet cul-de-sac leading from the village to the beach) to avoid strong winds etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really
Liked least: That the Indian Restaurant was at least 300 yards away. Pity it wasn't closer!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
Thank you so much for your review and all of your top tips. They will be invaluable to potential guests reading your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojomimi2...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A place we will be returning to again and again”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a great find! This is truly a hidden gem- huge and spacious, beautifully decorated, cosy with fireplaces and huge sofas, a stone's throw from the beach and furnished with all the amenities one could need. We had an amazing, comfortable, fun and VERY relaxing stay at Shirken. The Witterings are just a brilliant place to holiday- beaches for the kids, supping, windsurfing and kiting, cute cafes and pubs. So for us to find a really spacious and luxurious house smack bang in the middle of all this to holiday in en famille was just an extra bonus. We'll be booking every year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully furnished and so close to the beach
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thanks so much for your positive review Jo. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing