We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a quiet location near beach, shops...”

Review of Thornton

Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Open planning living and dinning Entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Kitchen, dinning and living area with views into the garden.
Open planning living and dinning
Entrance hall
Range cooker, 90cm wide oven and 5 gas hobs. Kitchen island and breakfast bar.
Dinning table for 8 people
Living room area
Rear of the house and garden with outside table  for 8 and terrace with coffee table.
Master bedroom (Super King Bed) with en-suite bathroom.
En-suite bathroom to the master bedroom.
Twin bedroom upstairs
Double bedroom downstairs (King Size Bed)
Twin bed downstairs with trundle bed if requested.
Family bathroom downstairs with walk in shower and large bath
Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer and microwave.
Front of house with ample parking for 3 cars
The local beach at high tide - 4 minutes walk away!
Wood Burner for those cold winter days.
Floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
West Wittering, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
royalflus...
2 reviews
“Great house in a quiet location near beach, shops and restaurants”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great week here, despite being peak season it never felt really packed like other seaside UK destinations. Fabulous house; spacious and very well equipped. East Wittering beach is close by and a hidden gem at low tide when the sand comes out. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the property, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and agree that it is a hidden gem!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaJoValle...
Vallentuna
1 review
“Fantastic house we can higly recommend it!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 5 days, five adults and two children and all of us liked the house immensely.
Every room in the house is spacious and clean.
There was nothing lacking, everything we needed was there.
An easy walk down to the beach and also close to shops and restaurants. The owners were very helpful in giving us tips about restaurants and what to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, we are so glad that you had such a wonderful time and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 5 days and had a fantastic experience. Booking was very easy. The house is beautiful and very well equipped. The house was very clean on arrival and we even got a bottle of Champagne from the owners. The location is great, only a 5 minute walk from both the beach and town. Would definitely recommend this place to friends and we will probably be back!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
What a lovely review thank you so much, we are so glad you had a lovely time and would welcome you back again soon. Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaEken
1 review
“Lovely house and garden close to local beach.”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely house with spacious and nice rooms and open plan living area. Kids loved playing in the paddling pool and with slide in beautiful garden.
House is only a few minutes walk from local beach, but needed car for kids to get to the main West Wittering sandy beach. (Local beach is only sandy at low tide.)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Thanks you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, there are tide times in the house and also a tide clock, we find it helpful to plan our days around the tides so as to make the most of the local beach. I hope this is of help for future guests. Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The openplan living area.
Liked least: Lack of wardrobes in the downstairs bedrooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are glad you had such a lovely week! Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
karenandj...
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely family Christmas setting”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great Christmas week at Thorton. The house was a great size and the extension and decor was of a high standard. The Christmas tree made us feel at home straight away. The bedrooms are a good size and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were very warm and cozy even on the windiest days. The close proximity to the beach made it easy to go for a quick winter stroll, and the shops were walking distance too. It was definitely a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A beautiful house which was extremely comfortable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
We are so glad you had a good Christmas at Thornton, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Bob and Georgie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous luxury home in superb location with nearby restaurants.”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We received excellent service by owners, who thoughtfully included a welcome bottle of bubbles!! Booking was extremely easy.

We enjoyed that the combined living, dining and kitchen area of the house was exceptionally spacious and bright, with a lovelyt log burner and doors leading out to garden. Therefore, if we were not dining out, it was brilliant dining in!! All bedrooms were of a generous size and had very comfortable beds.

There is plenty of local ammenities, including banks, supermarkets, fishmonger, butcher, baker, greengrocers, restaurants and cafes, all within a few minutes walk. There is also ample take-away/home delivery restaurants. We loved the seafood in particular!!! The house is also only a short walk to the beach.

We enjoyed the relaxation of "Thornton" and the house was immaculate, spacious and very comfortable. Best overall for location, as there is no need to drive to the restaurants, cafes etc., as all are within a few minutes walk. The standard of cuisine available locally was excellent too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property, spacious and comfortable home. Near all amenities.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back at Thornton before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing