We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend retreat”
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roundabout Hotel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend retreat”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for myself and my work colleague Kelly, we shared a twin room.
The hotel has great curb appeal with pretty fairy lights strung around the oak facade.
Our room was massive! Very beautifully decorated, country style with a modern twist. We had a archway which lead to a dressing room with a sofa, then the bathroom.
Restaurant was small but very expensive when you're away on a work budget, meals staring from £16.
Foreign waitress was the only let down. Quite bad English and didn't really understand a lot!
Good breakfast included in the £84 we paid.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NCCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    92
    45
    19
    12
See reviews for
60
130
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stopped at the Roundabout Hotel on a business trip and happy with the stay. The room was well appointed - only criticism is that it was on the small side. The food was good, both evening before and breakfast. It was a very quiet Sunday evening

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djgwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I grew up in this area and so know just how stunning a location the Roundabout is set in. The countryside is beautiful and the hotel is very pretty. We took some friends and each had a deluxe room which was nicely furnished and comfortable, set in what seems like a little cottage next to the hotel. I slept really well in my four poster bed!

The hotel could be a true 4 star but the service really lets it down. From check-in to the attitude over the broken wifi to the service at breakfast, it's all a little too close to a certain 70s sitcom. The staff were very pleasant, they just didn't seem to "get it".

We ate dinner in the restaurant. Dining options in West Chiltington are very limited. There's the hotel and the Five Bells pub. That's it. We had lunch in the Five Bells so thought we'd try the hotel restaurant for dinner and I was very glad we did. The food was very good. I would certainly recommend dining there.

Breakfast was a different story. Whilst the quality of the ingredients was exceptional, there just wasn't enough to constitute a "full english". One piece of bacon, one sausage, one egg, half a tomato and warm bread (the toaster was broken) doesn't really look good no matter how tasty it is. Perhaps they just need to serve it on a smaller plate. It's a shame because I don't think I've tasted bacon and sausage that good in a hotel ever.

This is a beautiful hotel set in amazing countryside. In my opinion, with more professional service, it could be so much better. But maybe I'm just fussy and impatient. I wouldn't want to put anybody off visiting the area, just adjust your expectations accordingly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weary235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Today we had an amazing tea at this hotel. 5 of us worked our way through egg mayo, cheese and tomatoe, cucumber and smoked salmon sandwiches all of which were served on White and brown bread. This was followed by warm scones with jam and cream and then by an array of freshly made patisserie including raspberry tarts, shortbread,white and dark chocolate slice, a light fruit torte and a white chocolate cup. All washed down with a variety of teas which were topped up on request. At less than £20 each this is a really excellent price. There was no one to rush us and we sat for over 2 hours enjoying the tea and the company. I would encourage you to book yours!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights from 24 September and really enjoyed it. It's peaceful, calm and very pleasant. We had a beautiful ground-floor room that was very comfortable and clean. We had a car and there was plenty of carparking, but it would be difficult to get there without your own transport. We had dinner there and it was delicious, as was the breakfast. Staff were excellent and very helpful with local information. We had hoped to be able to leave the car there and either walk or use public transport to look around the area, but neither is possible because of its location. However, we would certainly stay there again, particularly if we wanted a few days of peace and quite!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed shere on a Saturday night. Hotel is a nice old building but lacks maintenance. The towel radiator in the bathroom was hanging off the wall, the shower screen's rubber seal was damaged and the bathroom floor was lino....all of which are not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel charging £110 per night.
The room was also very hot but this is to be expected with an old building.
Dinner was lovely but the young lad who waited on us couldn't even manage a forced smile. Breakfast was ok but I have had a lot better, an offer of a second coffee would have been nice as well as the option of a poached egg.
Customer service was ok but they could do a lot better, we didn't feel like guests more like an inconvenience.
Overall this is a good hotel but for the money you could stay in a hell of a lot better one.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettynicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked in on Monday 30th for 2 nights as I was going to a funeral in the area there were in total 10 in our party staying in the hotel it was an over sight of the bereaved family not to booking a table for dinner the dining room was booked out the assistant manager was a little bit sharp with my cousin when she complained about this in defence of the hotel they did give us a special rate [IF ONE DOES NOT KNOW THE AREA THERE IS NO WHERE ELSE TO EAT] I think the hotel knowing we where traveling from Northern Ireland could have kept a table for us. There was little hot water & hard to get the taps to work the cooked breakfast was a little over cooked with only I PERSON serving a full dinning room !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are small also if you find stair don't go to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chiltington
2.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
1,010 reviews
5.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,606 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
358 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Property: Roundabout Hotel
Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident's lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing