We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning does not begin to describe the food here.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tillington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Horse Guards Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tillington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning does not begin to describe the food here.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I am not accustomed to writing reviews however if anywhere deserves it it is the Horse Guards.
The food is consistently brilliant .I am consistently surprised by the imaginative menu .I suspect the chef must be an alien life form his food is certainly out of this world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmetman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    37
    10
    10
    2
See reviews for
49
112
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rudgwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We love eating out and have dined at many establishments throughput the southeast. The horse guards is our favourite, although 40 minutes from home, it is the pub we frequent the most when we want to treat ourselves. We are never disappointed, the food is amazing, the welcome is warm, the garden tranquil, the atmosphere enchanting, the staff delightful.
We always book in advance as it is very popular.
This is my first review on trip advisor and it is no surprise to me that my first review is for the Horse Guards.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have now eaten at Horseguards Inn about ten times in as many months and every visit has been a success. Quirky and interesting décor and garden, friendly hosts, superb, confident food - every day has a new and different menu. We love taking friends there - it charms them all. Our favourite place by far. Excellent for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went here on the off chance on a Bank Holiday weekend and it was very busy. As we were happy to sit outside on a lovely evening we were happily accommodated.
The outside area has been very thoughtfully created and even has blankets available for when it gets a bit chilly.
I had the vegetarian sausages, my husband the pork belly. Both meals were attractive, hot and wonderfully flavoursome. The service was quick and friendly.
I found this pub absolutely delightful in every aspect. Too many pubs in this county claim to be something they're very clearly not but this one is the Real Deal and is worthy of a five star review.
I can't recommend highly enough and we will return very soon but will remember to book in advance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in the Cottage at the Horse Guards for one night last week,and had evening dinner there.The whole experience was first class,it is a pub you would recommend without any hesitation.The accommodation was superb as was the food.The beer garden is excellent with chickens running around,and the pub is quirky and very interesting.The food is pricey,but brilliant,you will find it hard to beat this place,we hope to return asap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dean,Chichester United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Recommended by a friend, we met up as 3 couples on a busy Saturday night. Booking is essential as the whole restaurant was full! Always a good sign! I loved the whole experience! The ambience as you walk in, the friendly staff, the eclectic mix of wall and window decoration and of course the menu! I love the way everything is listed as where it was sourced too! A really nice touch. The menu was exciting and I really wanted to try most of it! I cannot remember the last time I sat down to eat and felt so enthused about what I was going to have! This is all down to the clever description and imaginative dishes! Everything we had as a group of 6 was spot on for taste, presentation, amount etc. It is pricey but in this world you get what you pay for and these are not cheap ingredients and there is real skill in this kitchen! My favourite thing last night? Possibly the parfait which was such a fabulous combination of flavours and just melted in the mouth. But it was all totally delicious and I urge you to give it a try! It's now my new favourite restaurant in the area!

Room Tip: Parking is on the roadside but it is a very quiet road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH0lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable pub atmosphere with country charm . Clever delivery of local seasonal foods and great quality. There is always something on the menu that appeals to our family gatherings . A favourite with the young and old. The crispy Alexander is a novel treat ! For the less adventurous Sussex
ribeye steak is a real winner . The wines are moderately priced. Hard to find a better combination of quality and value in the area.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillington
4.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
268 reviews
6.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
505 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse Guards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse Guards Inn

Property: The Horse Guards Inn
Address: Upperton Road, Tillington GU28 9AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Tillington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tillington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse Guards Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 300 year-old Inn close to the historic towns of Petworth and Midhurst.Accommodation available, all en suite, and a la carte dining.The pub attracts a clientele, who appreciate its friendly atmosphere, quality wines, and imaginative well presented food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Horse Guards Hotel Tillington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing