We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tillington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Horse Guards Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tillington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a wonderful two night break in the cottage at the Horse Guards Inn. The cottage was so quaint and dressed with some lovely touches like the handmade curtains at the windows and little hearts hanging on the walls. It had a surprisingly hot and powerful shower too.
The pub itself is very homely with open fires, eclectic decor and very friendly staff. The food was divine, with the menu changing daily and a lot of the ingredients locally sourced. The staff were very knowledgeable about both the menu and the area and made some wonderful recommendations. We spent a lovely day wandering on Clymping beach and shopping in Arundel.
We've already booked in for another visit later this year and I can't wait!!

Room Tip: The Inn has 3 rooms. The cottage has an upstairs bedroom with a downstairs seating area and bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Spragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    38
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
53
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I started off thinking what a pretty little pub, shabby chic interior. The best Bloody Mary I've had in a long time. Seared scallops and black pudding, very tasty although a bit mean on the scallops. Excellently cooked steak, Dogs actively encouraged!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trufflesgirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Charming old pub perched on a slope opposite Tillington church. Daily changing menu is excellent, dishes carefully prepared and presented, and provenance proudly displayed. Breakfasts smashing as well. Some well-kept ales on tap, and although very popular for eating, the bar areas - with 3 log fires - still have a nice pub feel. The rooms are quirky, very comfortable, and spotless. Service very cheerful and professional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed last night for just one night in this delightful inn. The double room was very nice,low ceilings and sloping floor. We had a delicious evening meal with friends,the pork was very good ,so tender. The staff were all very friendly,well done to Sam and his wife for all their hard work. Breakfast was also good served in a sunny room ,with a real fire.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a lovely stay in the little cottage where we were allowed to bring our dog! That made it so nice because he was allowed to join us in the pub for lunch, dinner and breakfast too. They provided a cute little wicker basket and dog bowls. The cottage is wonderful, perfectly clean and every little bit of space is decorated so sweetly.

The pub serves amazing food, actually fantastic for all the meals we ate there. There is homemade stuff to buy and take away with you like biscotti, jams and chutneys.

Great location for long walks over Petworth Park we did a 2 hour walk and probably only covered 1/5 of it!

Already planning another trip there because there was about ten things on the menu I wanted to try and couldn't fit in anymore!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_Gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in the double room last weekend and just wanted to say how wonderful we think the Horseguards Inn is! We felt instantly at home, with the beautiful interior, good food and lovely staff. They have managed to create an amazing atmosphere- the fact they have put so much love in to the small details is really clear.

We'll be recommending The Horseguards in to all of our friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We met up with friends at this pub after Christmas - and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal in lovely surroundings with super food. The bread selection was tasty and a far cry from the boring selection that is normally served - this has delicious homemade dips and sauces. I had feared the main courses would be too rich and heavy but they were delicious and perfectly sized.

The service was excellent and attentive - we look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillington
4.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
523 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse Guards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse Guards Inn

Property: The Horse Guards Inn
Address: Upperton Road, Tillington GU28 9AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Tillington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tillington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse Guards Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 300 year-old Inn close to the historic towns of Petworth and Midhurst.Accommodation available, all en suite, and a la carte dining.The pub attracts a clientele, who appreciate its friendly atmosphere, quality wines, and imaginative well presented food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Horse Guards Hotel Tillington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing