We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horse Guards Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tillington
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Inn(Fittleworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chequers Hotel(Pulborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roundabout Hotel(West Chiltington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
215
42
15
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
42
15
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpetworth parkfudgekedgereevenisonlunch with friendslovely lunchcheeseboardfood is locally sourcedhomemade jamsthree roomstwin roomsussex villagea lovely staycottagealesdowns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 287 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

From the ginger biscuit before dinner to the marmalade at the end of breakfast, everything was excellent. These two items are made here - so we bought some to take away. Mind your head everywhere! And I'm still not sure whether it was the floor or the drink which was uneven and sloping....!

Room Tip: ask the staff - there are not many to choose from!!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This Inn is much nicer inside than out and is a very popular eating place in the area There are only three rooms let out so it feels more personal. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the food is superb.
The only fault was the lack of parking but this would not deter us from returning.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get the twin room at the front as this was the only one available of the three. The decor was tasteful and the room was light and spacious with a large en suite. We would choose this room again.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyann50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We travelled from Yorkshire to attend a wedding and took pot luck at booking a place to stay. What a fabulous find The Horse Guards Inn turned out to be . The staff could not have been more helpful - from phoning us on the day to say that our room was ready early so that we could change, to giving us taxi numbers and finding us a table for lunch in their very, very busy restaurant.We returned from the wedding when the last customers were leaving, but the bar staff were still happy to serve us drinks and chat.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent and served with a smile.
Just wish we could have stayed longer - maybe next time !!
A tip if you are staying and want to eat in the restaurant - book ahead - it is very busy - says something about the quality of the food - it would be a shame to miss out !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

How good this place is.

We stayed there for two nights for a friends wedding earlier in the year, we were put up in the double room above the bar and had a meal there on the Friday night with the bride's family.

Everything was absolutely top notch, the food was amazing, I almost cried at how good the local south downs venison was. Breakfast was very good, lots of local produce (they have their own garden veg and hen eggs), make their own granola and sell their own chutneys and pickles.

Garden is lovely, shabby chic deckchairs and hammock to enjoy a well-kept pint of ale (I think they had a Ringwood one and one other when we were there).

Room had a pretty view of the church and a low beam although I managed to avoid banging my head. Staff were very friendly and did their best to accomodate us and the two other couples staying in the other rooms, finding extra hair dryers for the ladies at short notice!

We have booked a night there over Christmas as I got the impression it would be super cozy in the winter, really really looking forward to it

Room Tip: If you are tall don't go for the room over the bar! The "cottage" is seperate from the pub and while it is bigger it is about £40 a night more.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I highly recommend this lovely old pub. Pretty rooms - characterful and well equipped with nice little touches like home made biscuits. Good food in the very ambient restaurant and very friendly staff. Right next to Petworth which is an interesting stately home with nice grounds for walking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisEDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews