We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tillington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Horse Guards Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tillington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My family and I had a lovely lunch here today after a walk around Petworth Park on a beautiful sunny day. The pub is in a beautiful Sussex village, the decor is just gorgeous offering a wonderful English cottage feel. The service was warm friendly extremely attentive and the food delicious. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank jinx010408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Visited this adorable pub regularly in the past few months for lovely sunday lunches .The menus are changed regularly so every time i have visited i have difficulty choosing what to have ,have not been disappointed yet!! .See you again on sunday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinChichester h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We attended a friend's wedding close by, and managed to book the twin room (thinking we'd probably not get one... and end up miles away in a faceless budgethotel.com) and as we had not read any reviews, we didn't know what to expect.

To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement. This is a beautiful little pub, with a charming and quirky country style. There's lots to take in, but it creates a very welcoming & cosy atmosphere.

The wedding was quite early in the day, and I had forgotten to call the pub to request an early check-in, but this wasn't a problem - in fact they were apologetic that the fresh flowers had yet to be placed in the room (they arrived 5 minutes later!) The twin room had an amazing view of the south downs from the bathroom window, and a nice view of the church on the other side of the road from the room.

Back downstairs we could tell from the signs & menu that a lot of the produce was locally sourced and I managed to grab a great pint of Harvey's Sussex whilst waiting for the taxi. So, first impressions were promising.

The following morning, nursing sore heads, we arrived a little late downstairs... thinking we might be refused breakfast, but we shouldn't have worried as fresh black coffee was rustled up in an instant and our breakfast orders were taken. I usually judge a B&B on the quality of the breakfast - and this one didn't disappoint. The full English was fantastic - perfect amount & obviously well sourced ingredients, down to the artisan bread. Black pudding & fried bread also made a welcome appearance - and my wife's scrambled eggs with smoked salmon also looked amazing. With pots of tea and quality bottled juices (and what looked like homemade muesli), we were very impressed.

The twin room does have a pump affixed to the toilet (which has been noted in other reviews),but this wasn't anything that spoiled the room or our stay - it just made the sort of noise you'd expect from a pump - and there was a bath rather than a shower, but this wasn't a problem either.

The staff were courteous & helpful - making the overall experience very enjoyable, and we'd recommend the place to anyone who wants to stay in this very beautiful part of West Sussex.

...oh, and the wedding was amazing also! If there was a WeddingAdvisor site I'd be scoring that 5 stars & 'Excellent' also.

Room Tip: The twin is above the breakfast room, so light sleepers who want lie-ins might want to opt for the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zola-Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently returned from a two day break at The Horseguards Inn. What a gem! From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a near perfect old pub. There are three bedrooms - we stayed in one of the doubles - beware of low beams! The room was very comfortable (once we learnt to avoid said beams). When we stay again we shall book the twin room as it is a beam free environment! Bathrooms are not perfect but this is reflected in the price.

The pub itself is delightful. It is cosy, welcoming, eclectic, very old and very interesting. The food on both nights was great - the chef certainly knows what he is doing. The breakfasts were so good and substantial that we managed without lunch whilst out and about and saved ourselves to be able to make the most of the evening menu. The staff are lovely and seem a great team. We shall definitely return when our batteries need recharging (and even when they don't).

Room Tip: Go for the twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Me, my husband and 2 friends went for dinner here last night and it was just lovely

The pub is very quirky with lots to look at. The garden is stunning too. Didn't see any chickens running around though!

I had onion soup with homemade rustic bread, locally reared rump steak cooked to perfection with yummy homemade chunky chips and victoria plum eaton mess. It was fabulous.

It was well worth the 45 min drive and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BeckyMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent the night at Horseguards staying in the double room this weekend. This is one of the best places we have visited, a fantastic pub and lovely place to stay. Quirky, unforced feeling 'shabby chic' - clearly a lot of thought goes into the details. Obviously very animal friendly - we loved the idea of paying your chosen price for sweets into the dog bone fund, and chilling out pre-dinner with our gin n tonics whilst the chickens and chick pottered about (see photo!). Dinner was, quite simply, divine. From the bread with dipping sauces (very clever and unusual sauces) to perfect steak and my beef salad. Almost Michelin standard. Utterly yummy breakfast and relaxed dining. We will be back.

Oh ps definitely child friendly - certainly the children were enjoying the garden in the afternoon - having fun wandering around and looking for the cat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double - great for a couple but I guess if you wanted more space might be better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepysussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We love this pub and I had to add to the plethora of positive reviews so anyone who's considering a visit has a bit more encouragement. Really! We've been coming to TheHorse Guards Inn for several years and Sam and his beautiful wife are to be commended for creating one of the best places to eat, refresh and relax. I hesitate to write more lest too many people discover this fantastic Inn, but here goes...
This is one of the loveliest pubs in the South Downs, in a peaceful and yet easy to get to setting. The interior is beautifully decorated and filled with truly delightful attention to detail, which all contributes to an instantly relaxing ambience the minute you step through the door. A perfect mix of country house and modern dining.
The food is outstanding and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Don't worry about parking - we have never had trouble when we've driven there but to be honest, the walk to the pub across the stunning Petworth Park is also recommended as both an appetiser, and a part of a wonderful day out. Park in Petworth and stroll through the Capability Brown landscape past grazing deer and centuries old oak and chestnut trees, to arrive to a warm welcome, fabulous service and delicious food. If the weather is good, the garden must not be missed. Sam and his wife have made this a little paradise of quiet and easy relaxation without being too tempted to cram in dozens of tables. Indoors our out, you could easily while away an afternoon then saunter back across the park for a gentle wander through Petworth's ancient streets. Go on, treat yourself!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sminuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillington
4.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#7 of 17 in Petworth
78 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse Guards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse Guards Inn

Address: Upperton Road, Tillington GU28 9AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Tillington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tillington
Price Range: $86 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse Guards Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 300 year-old Inn close to the historic towns of Petworth and Midhurst.Accommodation available, all en suite, and a la carte dining.The pub attracts a clientele, who appreciate its friendly atmosphere, quality wines, and imaginative well presented food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Horse Guards Hotel Tillington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing