We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sheer quality”
other travelers have booked this property
Shepherds hut with its own private garden and BBQ area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shepherds hut with its own private garden and BBQ area
Garden furniture outside the hut Looking beyound the garden to the paddocks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Shepherds hut with its own private garden and BBQ area
Garden furniture outside the hut
Looking beyound the garden to the paddocks.
Garden funiture and hut
Some of our sheep - Mango and Chuntney!
log burner inside the shepherds hut
bar b que with side burner
Kitchenette and wood burner
Looking up the hut towards the double bed
Ensuite bathroom
Dinning area with combi microwave/oven
Looking down the hut to the bathroom at the end
Toaster and kettle
Ensuite bathroom
Sink and toilet in the bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pulborough, Horsham District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
criptonla...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheer quality”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Let's face it, we all have reasons to stay away from home. Ours was that we wanted to see the Turner exhibition at nearby Petworth House. The house is a bit dour but the paintings were amazing. We are so glad we chose to stay at the Shepherd's Hut at Thatched cottage. The welcome was warm, and the Hut itself is sheer quality. Everything we needed was here, we even managed to sit out and have a cup of tea whilst we took in our surroundings. The class item was the corner of the barn with it's fridge and cooker, and welcoming basket! Electric heating and wi-fi kept us snug, and the sheep kept us entertained! We even took the local bus to Worthing for a day by the seaside. What a great place to stay, you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
Thank you ever so much for the review and also the lovely card you left in the hut. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and it was a real pleasure having you to stay. Sue and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinky5
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Spot - accurately described”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I arrived to be greeted by the owner, who showed me around the Shepherds Hut and where everything was. I was astounded - it was exactly like the pictures - maybe even better ! The Hut is tiny but the facilities are excellent and my daughter & I were very comfortable for the whole weekend. The garden and extended paddock were completely dog proof - so our little dog also had a great time
The area around Pulborough is beautiful, with plenty to do & see and great places to walk and eat
Take care on arrival, as we both missed the actual entrance - it is a large wooden gate on the corner opposite the ( now closed) Sussex Country Food shop, signed Thatched Cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hut was just charming, within a beautiful setting
Liked least: Lumpy mattress
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaunb123...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thought of everything, excellent stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Sue and Tim accepted our booking request very promptly and then sent through extremely detailed instructions about how to get there and what to do upon our arrival. The hut itself was small but in a cosy way with everything you could need for a short visit. It was very clean inside and towels, shampoo etc were provided. There was a "welcome pack" which had details on local activities, offered bikes to borrow for the day and included instructions on how to use everything in the hut. There was a basket full of evening activities and even an iPad which was set up to watch TV- this was a lovely and unexpected addition. We also discovered in the morning that there was a basket left for us in the nearby barn which had cereal, milk and bottles of water. There was an outdoor seating area and a BBQ, though we didn't get the chance to use this as there were a few hornets around but it was lovely to have the option. Overall it was a lovely stay and we would love to return if we were in the area again. The hosts were so welcoming when we met them and they had really thought off everything you could imagine needing. Shaun and Tiff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola S
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dainty and Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myself and my partner have just returned from staying at Elderflower and we very much enjoyed our stay. The directions were great and very easy to find, as the property is located on an A road which is a little tricky but once you know where you're going it's absolutely fine. Once the gate closed it was like a different world, so peaceful and quiet it instantly puts you at ease. Elderflower was just a dream! So dainty and so homely it is perfect for a little getaway. The whole hut was spotlessly clean and the iPad is a wonderful addition if you're slightly addicted to TV like myself! The dogs and the sheep were so lovely, unfortunately we only saw Tim the once and very briefly but he was lovely too. We would definitely like to return again in the future. Thank you for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Thanks so much for the review Nicola and so sorry we didn't see more of you. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and thank you for being such wonderful guests, Sue and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmamayt
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just come back from a weekend at Elderflower Shepherds Hut and it was perfect! I'd seen all the photos and positive reviews prior to booking so was excited to see if it would live up to its reviews. I'm happy to say that it did! Everything from emailing Sue prior to and after booking was extremely easy and helpful. The Hut itself is immaculate, decorated to perfection and with everything you would need for your stay inside, every last detail thought out for the benefit of the guests! With the added benefit of a private fenced garden with BBQ and a barn with more amenities inside and a welcome basket of goodies from the owners, I literally couldnt praise it enough. I just want to know whenough I can come back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Hi Emma, thank you so much for the review. I am so glad you had a good stay and we would love to see you again! All our best wishes Sue and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, First Class, Superb”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have just got back from our short stay at the hut, we have already recommended the place to family and friends.

On booking you will recieve an email with directions, information and contact details of the owners (who are lovley as are their dogs). Upon arrival everything was as described and checking in was hassle free.

The hut itself has everything you could need and is set in some beautiful gardens. We chose this because it was dog friendly and it certainly lived up to the tag. With an enclosed garden the spaniel couldnt have been happier.

One thing we weren't expecting was the barn area, this is private and is accessed from the private enclosed garden. In the barn is a a fridge, hot plate and further seating. We also found it a useful place to put the dog in his cage when he needed to dry out. The barn is really an extension of the living space.

The pictures of the hut and other reviews are actually what you get and really is high end glamping.

Wouldnt mind going back, but plenty of other places to explore so will just recommend it to anyone who wants a unique experience.

First class!

Thanks

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Thanks so much for the review with all the information is contained and the dogs are missing their playtime with Coco! Sue and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan E
UK
1 review
“A lovely, quirky place to stay for our weekend away.”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our first stay in a shepherds hut and were really pleased with the decision to stay in Elderflower. It was well equipped, very comfortable, spotlessly clean and a great place for our weekend in West Sussex. We'll definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Thanks very much Alan and we would love to see you again. Sue and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing