We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast and helpful staff”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chequers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Breakfast varied and very tasty, with lots of local and fresh ingredients used. The staff were very friendly and the surrounding area was tranquil. You can take a walk through a couple of fields to reach a small village with a newsagent, post office etc.

The beds were comfortable though the room was a little tired... some of the wall fixtures were loose and the windows didn't shut properly. The walls are very thin, so noise from people coming back late can be heard.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the room with the private external bathroom, you have to pass 2 bedrooms to get to the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x1x1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Chequers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 146 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

There is nothing at all wrong with this hotel per se: it is clean, warm, well-located, offers good breakfasts...but it just lacked a little something. Perhaps some TLC would make it more special and ensure it is the sort of accommodation that people might easily recommend.

Room 5 is a large room - very comfy double bed and a single bed, too (all for me!) - with a shower, bath and toilet ensuite. All clean. There were a few patches where the wallpaper was peeling and a part of the curtain rail wasn't too secure (it fell off), one of which could be attributed to the age of the property (constructed 1548) if I hadn't been staying in the modern wing. The bathroom was spotlessly clean as were all bed linens and towels.

Breakfast is served in the conservatory: generous 'help yourself' cereals, fruit and yoghurts and a good brew pave the way for a good breakfast cooked to order. Nice staff.

This is a nice place to stay for one or two nights but there wasn't anything about my visit that made me want to return. Priced at £70 per night, it is certainly good value for money so close to the South Downs (visible from Room 5) and is handy for tranpsort connections and local amenities (including two pubs and several places to eat).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a weekend here and enjoyed our stay. The setting is lovely, the staff are very helpful and provided a surprisingly good breakfast. Overall it does feel a little old fashioned/tired and decor needs updating but it has character! Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Make sure you get a room with an en-suite when booking. It is good value and has the potential to be lovely.

Room Tip: they have a four poster bed room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDK2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel Chequers is a small, characterful hotel with plenty of period features and old world charm. There is a cosy sitting room with a large open fireplace to the front and a large breakfast/dining room extension to the rear overlooking a modestly-sized but appealing garden. Our family of five stayed for one night on Sunday 5th May 2013 and our two rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. There was a good continental/cooked breakfast and a varied and appetising dinner menu (with the desserts deserving of special mention). The hotel is well-maintained, affordable and conveniently located to explore West Sussex. We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimondeMontford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is like a home from home. The rooms are delightful, the accommodations downstairs include a cosy sitting room with an open fire and a lovely conservatory dining-room (over-looking the charming enclosed garden), where you can enjoy exceptional breakfast, lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices. The chef is excellent and we have never been disappointed with any dishes we have ordered. There is also a good wine list very reasonably priced. The hosts are charming and welcoming, taking the time to get to know their guests personally but also discreet and unobtrusive. I believe the new owners took over a couple of years ago and the improvements since have transformed what used to be a very mediocre restaurant into one of the best places to dine in the local area. Originally from Pulborough, my family stays here each time we visit from China (and previously from the USA). There are a few family rooms to keep the children close and costs down. All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel for its comfort, service, atmosphere and its glorious cuisine.

Room Tip: The Arundel family room is the quietest and with the prettiest views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a Saturday night at the Chequers in a superior room.Dinner,which was served in the conservatory/dining room, was fine.Our room had all we needed was a little 'tired' and heavy on the brocade- a matter of taste not criticism..
Breakfast was very good.All meals were served by friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent a Friday night at The Chequers which was quiet and cosy. I had probably booked the cheapest room, but was upgraded to a room with en-suite shower for the same price. My room was warm, with a comfortable bed and a delightful painting of a snipe on the wall. I had been spotting snipe at the RSPB reserve earlier in the afternoon. There was a roaring log fire in the residents' sitting room which was the perfect place to sit reading. Dinner in the restaurant was quiet, and few of the specials seemed to be available, but breakfast the following morning was excellent and freshly cooked, and more guests were in evidence. Fabulous view from the car park and a great base for exploring the South Downs. Would definitely revisit.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank Monetfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulborough
2.7 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
327 reviews
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,087 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
9.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
7.8 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Address: Old Rectory Lane, Pulborough RH20 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Pulborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulborough
Price Range: $109 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chequers Hotel Pulborough is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty at the foot of the Downs National Park and on the doorstop of the South Downs Way - Local attractions include Arundel Town and Castle, Parham, Petworth House and Park, Goodwood, Fontwell, Fishbourne Roman Villa, Bignor, Chichester, Littlehampton, West Witterings Amberley and fantastic walks, runs and cycle routes right on the doorstop - a warm welcome awaits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Pulborough, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing