We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Pulborough
Post
Inbox
Search

“What a lovely little pub”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Pulborough
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Now under new ownership, fully open and refurbished The White Hart is situated on the upper reaches of the River Arun near Pulborough and the Historical Stopham Bridge. Freshly cooked traditional menu with a twist using locally sourced ingredients. Our talented team of chefs create all of our dishes by hand in our kitchens with everything from pizza dough to our fabulous deserts being home made. Perfect for business lunches, special occasions or just to visit and unwind for lunch or dinner The White Hart is the perfect place in a beautiful setting. Whether you wish to eat with us or just come in and have a drink (after all we are a pub!)A warm welcome awaits you at The White Hart by Stopham Bridge.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely little pub, nice and old fashioned. Food is a little on the expensive side for the portion size you have. But lots to choose from. I visited with my sister, mother, 8 month old son and 2 year old nephew. Not great for trying to manoeuvre a small pram but then it’s a pub so wouldn’t expect that. Would be a lovely place for couples. However, the staff were rude. They clearly didn’t like the idea of children being in there even though they were quiet and well behaved. When we received our food, the waitress just walked away without saying anything. So we got her attention again and asked for salt. When she bought it and walked away, we realised it was empty so asked again. After a short while, one of our party decided to order some more chips, the lady behind the bar responded to her “excuse me” with “what do you want now”. I don’t think this was necessary considering we went being difficult or asking for much! It’s a shame because it really is a lovely pub.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank emmawN1251FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 463 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Met friends from overseas for an informal midweek lunch. It has a quaint traditional pub feel and is very nice, albeit very small in both the bar and restaurant areas. Sadly they had sold out of what I hear are excellent pies but the fish and chips was very good, as was the Bon bons starter. Service was good and recommend as a nice traditional pub with good food.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank NTH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

Yes we're off again, just the three of us this time,and again venturing back to one more of our favourite places The White Heart.
Again as it is close to xmas we opted to pre book our lunchtime table,we hadn't visited the pub for quite a while but again we were warmly welcomed and the food was superb. If you venture out to see the pub, the inside decorations are great,but play safe and pre book a table.
We again Thank the girls at the White Hart for our lunch,and wish you a Merry Christmas.
From
Ray, Rosemary, and our dog Susie.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ray592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2019 via mobile

Nice beer. Nice food. Good service. Will certainly come back before the summer but it looks like you can sit outside by the ancient monument Stopham bridge too which would be great.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Pete73UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019

Been there on number of occaions this year, since moving to the area (Bury village, on A29). It is an olde English pub, very snug but welcoming to regulars and strangers alike. The adjoining restaurant is comfortable, but on fine summer evenings we really enjoyed dining al fresco under the marquee outside - lovely views of the pub exterior, the ancient bridge and a more gentle Arun river up here. Range of beers, wines, gins is good - managers know their wines, the part-timers not so knowledgeable, but genuinely friendly and want to help.
Food is very good, range of menu items, catering for an allergen and a vegetarian in our party was no problem. Food arrived timely, all meals (from two to six on different occasions) served together.
Toilets clean and maintained. The managers and staff are the key feature of this country pub. Will definitely be back soon.
One small point - the original pub is on a small scale and on different levels - those with mobility issues might struggle a bit; but in good weather there are plenty of easily accessible outdoors tables.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Pulborough, Horsham District
West Chiltington, Horsham District
 
Amberley, West Sussex
 
Pulborough, Horsham District
Pulborough, Horsham District
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing