We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice enough”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice enough”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

stayed here unplanned over the Jubilee weekend. Nice enough hotel, friendly staff. First room was very small and had to be asekd to be moved, which was no problem. Breakfast was really good, although as we booked the latest slot we could have 9.30am (on a sunday morning) they did ask if they could take the juice away which was annoying as the obviously wanted to get on, but dont say you can have breakfast at 9.30 if its too late!
Room was nice, but wasnt impressed with tea/coffee facilities - good ammount of things but no biscuit whatsoever, and this is the first time I have experienced this - maybe a small thing - but for me whenever I stay away I am hungry and I think its psycological as I know I cant acess a kitchen! Not having a biscuit was dissapointing. The hotel is nice - very 'oldy worldy' and if you love beams etc you will love this - personally having lived in a 17th century cottage I am over all that and dont like it so much. room faced road and was noisy as it was so hot had windows open which we had to shut due to noise so very hot!
All in all a nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for bigger if you get put in a box !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappyhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
66
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

went to the Angel today with my auntie for lunch & it was lovely, excellent food & well priced loved the chicken & bacon ceasar salad :) yummy!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolml75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I called to book and they couldn't find the reservation book. So called back, it took 15 minutes to book 2 rooms - one was for parents & child so they said had to have bigger room at £105. Fine didn't mind. But manager called next day was very rude and said other person forgot to say £30 extra for Child. Outrageous as if they couldn't honour the original price and had to rudely call to put up price and bark down the phone. Would not recommend such obnoxious service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Londontravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Really nice and friendly staff, we went on a Friday evening after hearing some good things and it was very busy and bustling with locals which I think is always a good sign.
great choice of ales- we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesbourgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I can highly recommend the rooms in this beautifully refurbished pub. I stayed over Christmas due to full house of relatives nearby and could not have been more pleased with room. Very large, superb bathroom, with sumptuous fittings. Mots impressive!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OuterHebridesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just stayed Boxing night. Spent very comfortable night, top notch room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justfielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We recently spent a week-end at the Angel, and simply loved our bedroom, which had a lovely old-world feel to it but with all mod cons. The bed was really comfortable, and big enough, which is a change from some hotel double beds. The breakfasts were superb, but we didn't honestly think the evening food was all that special - rather fussy and over-decorated, and not really tasting very good - perhaps we are spoilt, living in Yorkshire! This is a pity, as the owners took endless trouble to make us comfortable, and also to make our dog welcome. (I see most of your reviewers thought the food very good, so perhaps it is a matter of taste.)
Overall, we would love to come back the next time a family gathering brings us to Sussex.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedestrian51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
5.7 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Halfway Bridge
The Halfway Bridge
#3 of 17 in Petworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Angel Street, Petworth GU28 0BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently totally refurbished pub, which serves reasonably priced very good food and drinks. All dishes are made on the premises using the best ingredients. It has six letting bedrooms all en-suite with baths or showers. There is a beautiful beer garden out at the back of the premises. The car park (limited space) is opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Petworth
The Angel Inn Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing