We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of The Halfway Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Halfway Bridge
Ranked #3 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My partner and I live in Kent and wanted to escape for a weekend away to Arundal and Petworth at the last minute. I organised to stay at the Halfway Bridge Inn with Paul the owner who was very pleasant on the phone. Upon meeting him I was even more pleased by his hospitality and friendliness. The suite we stayed in was comfortable, spacious and very beautiful. The pub was not only superbly presented but the food was brilliant. The beef stew, the homemade chicken pie and the phenomenal bread and butter pudding and bread and butter ice cream had us talking about it to our friends afterwards and also recommending it. There was a good selection of wine and the breakfast included was delicious. I look forward to getting away yet again in the coming winter months to this little gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaKarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
104
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We only stayed for one night but would love to go back. Don't book through a third party, phone the owners direct as they are so friendly and may offer you a better deal. We got upgraded to their best suite for free. The rooms are set in a barn conversion, slightly behind the main Inn but it's only a short walk to the restaurant. Our room (no:6) had both a bedroom and a seperate sitting room with sofa, chairs, flat screen TV, DVD and CD player. The key selling point is the bathroom.......with a screen that can be slid back to enable you to watch TV whilst in the bath, which is big enough for two!!
By far the best thing about the Halfway Bridge is the food. We enjoyed fine dining, attentive staff and delicious food. The wine list is excellent and well priced compared to other similar establishments. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We spent a couple of nights at Halfway Bridge and we thoroughly enjoyed both of them. The room was spacious and comfortable (had DVD and CD player) and the staff were extremely friendly.

We had lunch and dinner on the first day at the Inn - both was absolutely superb! In fact, I was very pleasantly surprised by how good the food actually was.

I would happily recommend Halfway Bridge and I hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We took pot luck booking this Inn on the internet at relatively short notice - what a little gem! We just wanted a few relaxing days away but were delighted with what we found. The room in the barn coversion was lovely, contemporary furnishings and excellent facilities and above all blissfully quiet (the Inn is quite close to the main road). The quality of the breakfast was very good and we had dinner twice in our three days stay as there were so many things on the menu to temp. Hosts and staff very attentive, nothing too much trouble. Highly recommended for a very comfortable and relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Everything was faultless,the accomodation was superb and very quiet and every convenience was catered for .The food was excellent and whilst there was a delay one evening the management were sincere in their apologies and were attentive throughout
,reflecting this on the bill and providing a bottle of wine for our enjoyment .Nothing was too much trouble and the beer was in first class condition ,a real bonus as Doom Bar has to be my all time favorite tipple .For a truly luxurious and restful stay I can't rate it high enough

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fecrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I don't normally leave reviews or recommendations but having stayed at The Halfway Bridge recently I feel that I would like to share our experience as we would definitely recommend based on our experience. The accomodation is of a high quality and set back in peaceful conytryside (although the Pub itself ison a busy main road). The rooms are all suites and are converted from a Barn/Stables etc and have been converted very sympathically. The owners and staff were attentive but discrete and the food and service of a high standard. We would definitely recommend and stay again - it really was a pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrsJOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This was the first time we visited The Halfway Bridge after a recommendation from a friend. From the start all seemed good, gorgeous candellit interior, the kind of place you could happily lose an evening too. Unfortunately spending an hour and a half sat at a table surviving on olives, bread and a dissapointing first course lost the romance along the way. The staff were amiable enough originally and did their best to bluster excuses towards us, altough trying to find someone willing to make eye contact or present any kind of apology was far more of a challenge. We arrived on time for our table, ordered and waited..... our starters eventually arrived. My pigeon breast and mushroom souffle was quite different than described on the menu. In fact if someone whisked an egg with chopped up mushroom put it into a ramekin and then cooked in the microwave for 30 seconds it would have probably had exactly the same effect. We sat in the same room as two other tables the one to the left waited just as long and asked for a green salad which arrived 10 minutes later the one on the right sent their steak back for being undercooked and the poor chap watched his date finish her meal and stare into space before his meal resurfaced (we hope it did, we left by then!) At this point we both took the desicion to end our evening. A one course meal with an empty wine bottle that had already lasted an hour and a half was quite enough thank you. Such a shame! Desperately in need of a manager willing to approach and talk to customers about their issues rather than waiting fro them to go home and write bad reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goosey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
2.8 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
533 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
162 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Welldiggers Arms
The Welldiggers Arms
#6 of 17 in Petworth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halfway Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halfway Bridge

Property: The Halfway Bridge
Address: Halfway Bridge | Lodsworth, South Downs National Park, Petworth GU28 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halfway Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cleverly styled mix of restful shades, contemporary furnishings and quirky original features, our suite's decadent bathroom even allows you to watch a movie while you soak! With emphasis on boutique detail and maximum comfort, cafetieres with our own house blend of coffee and locally produced organic toiletries are indulgent finishing touches. For those quiet nights in each room comes equipped with flat screen Freeview TV and CD players. Some rooms also contain DVD players and a small selection of complimentary DVDs is available. Exclusive booking of Cowdray Barns can be arranged for corporate use, wedding parties or artistic retreats. Please contact us for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Halfway Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway Bridge Hotel Petworth
The Halfway Bridge Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing