We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halfway Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Halfway Bridge
Ranked #3 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for a perfect weekend break. The immaculate accommodation in a converted Barn, over the road from the pub, gave guests a wonderful sense of privacy with the advantage of our own pub /restaurant on the doorstep. The rooms were tastefully furnished and well equipped with very comfy beds. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful, The restaurant food was so delicious we ate there every evening. I need to recommend their homemade bread, truly scrumptious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    36
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
102
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was originally trying to book into Crab & Lobster and was disappointed to find it full so was delighted to see they had a sister pub/hotel. Halfway Bridge Inn was a delight from the moment we arrived. Picturesque setting, peace, quiet, gorgeous decor and welcoming staff greeted us. Delicious food for breakfast lunch and dinner (I recommend the haddock for breakfast and thai curry for dinner!) and lovely peaceful, nicely decorated rooms. I may have stumbled on Halfway Bridge by accident but next time I will make a point of making it my first choice. I'll be back!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room (double) as we booked really last minute. It would have been fine for a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had previously had lunch here several times and looked forward to spending a couple of days here. We were not disappointed. Our room was light and airy with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lawn at the back of the barns. The decor was tasteful and modern with comfortable seating, TV, DVD and Ipod base. There was also a fridge, tea and coffee making things and an iron and board, Bathroom was modern and fresh. Staff in the pub were friendly and the bar was open all day. Food at night and at breakfast was lovely. The pub is in a great location for a range of tourist attractions. Would stay here again and would also like to stay at sister hotel, the Crab and Lobster.

Room Tip: Pay extra, not a lot, for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everything about Halfway Bridge Inn exudes intelligent and thoughtful decor and service.

We loved our room and will certainly return even though there is a great deal of competition in the area. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds and pillows. Lovely soft towels in the bathroom, nice quality toiletries and a bar fridge with fresh milk in a small container, ground coffee and a caffetiere, delicious biscuits and two bottles of water. The accommodation in the converted barn is around the corner from the Inn itself, so is very quiet and peaceful with parking beside the barn. Just a short stroll down a leafy lane and one is back at the Inn.

May we suggest that if you feel like a lovely walk to the next village, Lodsworth, with another nice pub and prize-winning village shop, continue up the lane past the barn, in the opposite direction of the Inn. The lane quickly turns into a narrow walking path with pretty views. After a quarter of an hour one arrives at Lodsworth, a beautiful village with a pretty church and yard.

We thoroughly enjoyed our food at the Inn, both the evening meal and the breakfasts. We found the staff to be attentive and professional.

It was a faultless three night stay, and we are looking forward to a return as there is so much to see and do in the area. It appears that most of the neighbouring villages have pubs worthy of a visit, such as The Three Moles, The Foresters, and beautifully situated (on the village green/cricket pitch) Noah's Ark at Lurgashall.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are a lovely size. One doesn't feel cramped, just cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Surprised by previous review. We had a party of 14 for lunch on Sunday 26th for a 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived the welcome was very warm, friendly and helpful. Some of our party had travel problems and we ended up eating lunch very late but the kitchen and staff were very accommodating. The food and house wines were excellent and throughout everybody was commenting on the quality of the dishes, the friendly and helpful service and the efficiency and professionalism of the staff. One of our party had fairly extreme dietary restrictions and they provided a special meal for her without any problem.

Three of us stayed overnight in the beautifully converted barns. EAch room was more beautiful than the next - fabulous large beds, lovely cotton bedlinen, plump feather pillows and very tasteful, relaxing furnishings and decoration. And it was the little touches which made all the difference. The small fridge in each room had complimentary bottled water as well as a little carton of REAL milk and also a cafetiere with sachets of lovely Columbian ground coffee - a far cry from Nescafe granules and those horrible little pods of some kind of UHT or creamer.

Breakfast was delicious - a very good variety of choices. All the bread was home made and I bought two loaves to take home.

I will be recommending this place to everyone and will look forward to going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have been twice for lunch at Halfbridge House. The first time we were very impressed, but not this time. I booked lunch there to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived we were shown to our table, which was in the bar area and on route to the toilets. The welcoming was awful, the waitress took our drinks order, she was very rude and abrupt and made us feel that we had walked into a place where they didn't want any customers today.
A family arrived for lunch asking if there was a table for lunch, she was just as unfriendly to them.

We could see a table which was in a room away from the bar area, so asked if we could have that table instead. The head waitress said that was ok. She followed us in with a jug of water/glasses
Which she slammed down and walked away.
The whole service wasn't very good. Once we have finnished our meal, the food was ok, ( it was better last time).
We were asked if we wanted desert, I said can we see the menu.
We waited and waited, just being ignored, so in the end we grabbed someones attention and asked for bill.
Would we go back again, no, it is a great shame that the staff lack good manners and personalties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex, england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went for a Saturday lunch and found receprtion to be very friendly. Service excellent with good quality linen napkins. Nothing too much trouble and were were impressed that the waitress, when bringing our starters knew who was having what. Unfortunately her male colleague wasn't quite so well trained and said the usual " who's having the....?

Not cheap at £35 per head and particularly disappointed that I was charged £4 for a prawn cocktail on the table d'hote menu but £7.50 for an identical prawn cocktail from the a la carte as my daughter could not find a main course on the table d'hote menu that she liked. While we thoroughly enjoyed our meal, that £3.50 is enough to stop us going there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
2.8 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station
#1 of 17 in Petworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#2 of 17 in Petworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#9 of 17 in Petworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halfway Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halfway Bridge

Property: The Halfway Bridge
Address: Halfway Bridge | Lodsworth, South Downs National Park, Petworth GU28 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halfway Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cleverly styled mix of restful shades, contemporary furnishings and quirky original features, our suite's decadent bathroom even allows you to watch a movie while you soak! With emphasis on boutique detail and maximum comfort, cafetieres with our own house blend of coffee and locally produced organic toiletries are indulgent finishing touches. For those quiet nights in each room comes equipped with flat screen Freeview TV and CD players. Some rooms also contain DVD players and a small selection of complimentary DVDs is available. Exclusive booking of Cowdray Barns can be arranged for corporate use, wedding parties or artistic retreats. Please contact us for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Halfway Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway Bridge Hotel Petworth
The Halfway Bridge Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing