We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cannot recommend enough!”
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Kichen and Dining  area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Kichen and Dining  area
Kitchen
Open log fire and sky television
Living area showing Balcony Bedroom Three
Master Bedroom
Master Ensuite Bathroom
Bedroom Two
Ensuite bathroom to Bedroom Two
Bedroom 3
Bedroom Three showing tied back privacy curtains
Private walled garden
Al fresco dining area looking directly onto the South Downs
South facing garden
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Petworth, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Olivia J
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend enough!”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Tagents Barn is absolutely breathtaking and everything has been thought of. The barn's open plan nature with modern furnishings contrast well with the rustic beams, and it's a really delightful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are lovely, and there are plenty of kitchen utensils and mugs etc.

Thank you so much for a really fantastic stay - we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hztf1k
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect family get away”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Tagent's Barn and we spent almost three weeks there for Christmas and New Year following a brief stay last year. The other reviews are accurate - the location is unparalleled, the quality of the equipment, furnishings and general accommodation is outstanding and the owners are helpful, available but not intrusive.
I have two observations. First, Midhurst is less attractive than it used to be...it's full of charity shops and looks generally run down and unattractive. Petworth is a much better option. Secondly, the ground source heating - while environmentally sound - is slow to respond to changes in the weather and we spent much of our time too hot in the unseasonably warm weather.
We'll certainly be going back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nettiescr...
2 reviews
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great house in a beautiful setting. So close to cowdray park and amazing English Pubs everywhere. Loved it!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller...
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Barn is extravagant, luxurious and spacious. The kitchen is well appointed with a gas cooker, an electric oven, a dishwasher, microwave oven and two refrigerators. All three bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, all with a very high standard outfit. The beds are comfortable as well. The barn is cosy warm even with the open space. The garden is wonderful and even with bad weather you can sit outside and have a barbecue. We just loved this place and its surroundings.

The upper floor bedrooms are on a gallery and therefore open to the living room on the ground floor and to the other bedroom on the other gallery. A curtain gives you as much private sphere as needed. We were travelling as a family and enjoyed this modern, open space very much.

I can recommend this place to all people who want to enjoy active holidays. There are plenty of opportunities to bike, run and hike in the surroundings.

I would love to come back once.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern luxury of the place
Liked least: That the holiday only lasted one week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynda365
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

As a group of friends we have stayed in many places but this was by far our favourite. It was bigger than it looked in the photos and it really did have the WOW factor. Everything about it was perfect, lovely views, beautiful décor, comfy beds, cosy robes, a welcome pack and much more. It was situated in a beautiful area. We spent most of our time relaxing and also enjoyed visiting Petworth.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In a word "Stunning"”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This location is superb if you are looking for a very quiet village with a shop with papers and pub approx 1 km . The Barn is stunning, probably the highest quality fit out to kitchen , bedrooms, bathrooms we have ever stayed out and is a match to any 5 star hotel even down to fluffy white dressing gowns. Cannot fault from greetings, welcome pack, cleanliness, garden and BBQ, open log fire, .etc etc If we had to be real critical you will get some flys about which is not to un-common in old barns . We loved it and will most certainly be returning for longer next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overal quality, presentation and attention to detail
Liked least: I dont reall have any neg points !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff H
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture perfect and England to the core”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tagent's Barn truly exceeded our expectations. From the picturesque South Downs to the distant peeling church bells and the Graffham Village shop. All of this is complemented by the luxurious accommodations of the Barn itself.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing