We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“In a word "Stunning"”
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Kichen and Dining  area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Kichen and Dining  area
Kitchen
Open log fire and sky television
Living area showing Balcony Bedroom Three
Master Bedroom
Master Ensuite Bathroom
Bedroom Two
Ensuite bathroom to Bedroom Two
Bedroom 3
Bedroom Three showing tied back privacy curtains
Private walled garden
Al fresco dining area looking directly onto the South Downs
South facing garden
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Petworth, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bob S
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In a word "Stunning"”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This location is superb if you are looking for a very quiet village with a shop with papers and pub approx 1 km . The Barn is stunning, probably the highest quality fit out to kitchen , bedrooms, bathrooms we have ever stayed out and is a match to any 5 star hotel even down to fluffy white dressing gowns. Cannot fault from greetings, welcome pack, cleanliness, garden and BBQ, open log fire, .etc etc If we had to be real critical you will get some flys about which is not to un-common in old barns . We loved it and will most certainly be returning for longer next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overal quality, presentation and attention to detail
Liked least: I dont reall have any neg points !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff H
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture perfect and England to the core”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tagent's Barn truly exceeded our expectations. From the picturesque South Downs to the distant peeling church bells and the Graffham Village shop. All of this is complemented by the luxurious accommodations of the Barn itself.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobel
West Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ticked every box - just FAB-U-LOUS!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a weekend with three girl friends to celebrate my birthday. We just had the best time ever. The barn is superbly appointed from the white company bed linen, huge fluffy towels and robes to a vast assortment of glasses and crockery for dining. They have literally thought of everything to make it the most luxurious of conversions. The bed was so comfortable, the bathrooms all spotless with the highest spec showers and fittings, and even candles supplied! Superb. It is true that it is quite open plan and that may not suit everyone but we all went to bed at the same time (mind you by 2am I think I was past worrying!) so it did not matter. The garden was an added delight to sit in during the afternoon. The stereo system was awesome and much dancing was enjoyed by all with no one nearby to disturb! I'd love to say we will return but I don't think we could repeat such a perfect weekend but I'd like to try!! Highly recommended, thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury and the peaceful location
Liked least: Having to leave,
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
str2010
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good - i recommend it”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

the house is modern and comfortable and has many details which show that the owners really put a lot of care in their house. a place you really want to live in, not something that is "good enough" for to rent it out. the land around it is beautiful english countryside. you step out the door and you are right there.
a piece of information might be useful: from the six beds only two are in a separate master bedroom. the other four (2 double beds if you want) are in duplexes that are soundwise not separated from the big livingroom. if you all go to bed at the same time it´s fine. if some want to hang around in the livingroom
but some others want to sleep that might be a problem unless you are in the master bedroom.
i want to point out again that everything in the house and the garden with the BBQ is top-notch.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozric13
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most relaxing, peaceful, beautiful, well designed and equipped place I have ever stayed.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I came across Tagents Barn completely by accident, having spent many days looking for somewhere to stay for me and my family.

I decided to take a chance as the pictures looked amazing, and as we were travelling all the way from noisy Jakarta in Indonesia, I wanted somewhere that would be relaxing and peaceful and the complete opposite of a busy city.

After travelling over 24 hours we arrived at the Barn and we're met by the owner Annabel, it was exactly as described, sat at the end of a one way track in the middle of the south downs, surrounded by fields and forest, with amazing views down the valley into the local village, with no noise apart from birds.

Annabel showed us around, and there was nothing that had not been thought of, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, BBQ, outside tables, chairs, loungers, extra blankets and duvets, washing powder, washing liquid, pegs, bread, milk, eggs, fully equipped kitchen, logs for the fire, absolutely everything!.

If you just went out and just bought food, you would never have to leave, as everything is there!.

There was myself and 4 family members, 3 bathrooms and a guest wc, so no waiting to use the bathroom.

We had a BBQ one evening and had another 10 guests, everyone agreed the place was fantastic.

Our biggest regret is that we were not there all the time, as we had lots of days trips out.

I would whole heartedly recommend Tagents Barn, it is modern, funky, traditional, beautiful, relaxing all rolled into one.

We as a family will definitely be returning in the future.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“exceptional place to stay!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed here at Christmas in 2012 and had such a wonderful time. This barn is just perfect. Stylish, very comfortable and luxurious. The lighting is great too , with lots of different mood lights. The Kitchen was beautiful and if I had to make a suggestion it would just be to provide a bigger fridge. Though, i don't suppose everyone has a giant turkey and leftovers to accommodate. The location is beautiful and very peaceful. A wonderful holiday in an exceptional barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect comfy beds.
Liked least: Small fridge
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing