We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Railway Station
Nearby Hotels
The Swan Inn(Fittleworth)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chequers Hotel(Pulborough)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
$137
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roundabout Hotel(West Chiltington)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks(Five Oaks)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$44
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (611)
    Filter reviews
    612 results
    Traveler rating
    502
    99
    5
    2
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    502
    99
    5
    2
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewswaiting roompullman carriageafternoon teaon arrivalbadgers pubcream teaunique experienceticket officeporridgestep back in timesconesbreakfast is servedattention to detailspecial occasionrestored pullmanlog fireorient express
    Filter
    Updating list...
    564 - 569 of 612 reviews
    Reviewed February 8, 2011

    We decided to stay at the hotel on our way to Gatwick airport. We drove up after work and as we hadn't arrived by 7pm the hotel called just to make sure we weren't struggling to find them. The hotel staff were extremely friendly during our visit and went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. The carriage we stayed in was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast the next day was delicious and as we were only able to stay for one night we are now looking for an excuse for a return trip.

    • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Tourist186299
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 28, 2010

    We were looking for a night away after Christmas and were thrilled that we chose this wonderfully memorable place. As we entered the Old Railway station house we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff and the owner. We were taken to our railway carriage - wow! What a treat, The Pullman carriage has been beautifully restored. A pleasing area for making tea/coffee, a nicely decorated bathroom and along the corridor to the main bedroom/sitting area. We were in Flora 1 - not a huge space, but very comfortable. I am aware that other carriages offer more space and larger bathrooms, but this carriage did not disappoint. Behind the lovely wooden shutters, one will find the original train windows with their little sliding "openings" - great. The trains rest where the track used to be - now beautiful gardens providing a lovely setting.

    The main station house is open for coffee/tea and breakfast. We were offered a very nice pot of coffee and cake on arrival - sitting by the roaring fire in the very elegantly restored station house. This is a very beautiful building and incredibly comfortable too with lovely old leather sofas and easy chairs.

    Breakfast was delightful. Fresh fruit plate, cereals/porridge and full English Breakfast with pastries and toast and preserves - all very good quality and beautifully cooked and served. Vegetarian options were provided too. Excellent coffee and tea in elegant silver pots. The service was really great - friendly and attentive - with a smile and real warmth. A true host, looking after her guests with great success that will remain with us.

    When we checked out, both owners gave us a very warm farewell. They were so very kind to us. We would love to return. I know in the Summer they serve breakfast on the station platform - that would be so lovely.

    • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank SteveJeffery
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 4, 2010

    I booked this hotel as a suprise for my boyfriend who is a train fanatic. When we arrived it was a cute little hotel with a twist. The man t the reception gave us a warm welcome and took us to our Pullman carriage to show us around which also came with usual information. We then were welcomed to the 'old waiting room' where we were offered tea/ coffee and cake which was lovely in warm old fashioned room with a roaring leg fire. Our Pullman carriage was amazing and will always stay in our memories. It was lovely and warm, which had been restored beautifully yet still was roomy. The bathroom had plenty of room and its was very contempary. The service in the morning over breakfast was brilliant....we had so much offered and was very well presented! Overall this was a beautiful and unique hotel with lovely surroundings. This surprise birthday present definately went down well and we will be returning soon.

    • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank LadyJ86
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 27, 2010

    We recently went to stay at the Old Railway Station for my wife’s birthday, and were not disappointed. We had previously read the good reviews but were not prepared for what a truly wonderful place it turned out to be. The King Pullman carriage was much more spacious than anticipated and the bathroom was very nice, complete with bath and double shower. We were both very impressed with the facilities the carriage had to offer, and how thoughtfully it had been designed. The whole experience of the carriage was brilliant, and really aloud us to get into the mindset of what it would have been like to travel on such a stylish train. After exploring our carriage and all its little hidden goodies, we went to register and have tea in the station waiting room, this room again did not disappoint. It was beautifully designed and had such a welcoming ambiance, which made the whole place very endearing. We were served a welcome pot of tea while we filled in our registration card and spent the next hour or so relaxing in this charming room. In evening we ate at the Cricketer’s Pub just up the road in Duncton, which was great value for money with good food and friendly staff. That night was very comfortable in our carriage, and we awoke in the morning well rested and looking forward to our breakfast, which was lovely. All in all the staff at the Old Railway Station were fantastic, the place itself was more than we had hoped for, and the general surrounding area made it the perfect place to stay. Needless to say we are going back for my birthday in November 2010 and are counting down the days!!

    • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Squire082
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 14, 2010

    We picked the Old Railway station as it looked a unique place to stay and it didn't disappoint. We stayed our first night in a standard pullman (Flora 1) which has everything you need. One thing I would flag though is that because it is closest to the main building light will come through into the bedroom until they are switched off around midnight (it didn't bother us but may some). For the next two nights we upgraded to the king Pullman, the 'best' room (Montana carriage). This carriage has as very nice finish, is bigger and has a bathroom with bath and double shower, I would say that it has been renovated recently. It has lovely thick wooden blinds which block out all light. We unfortunately did have a problem with our neighbours both nights with TV being played loudly, singing, speaking loudly into the early hours. We do not want to spoil anyone's fun but unfortunately the wall between the rooms in this carriage are not well insulated and you can hear everything (I mean everything!), a little consideration for other guests would not have gone a miss. We also had some drunken guests returning from the pub late and hanging out of the platform. On the second night of this some time after midnight I did call the owner. He dealt with the issue promptly and it of course was the B&B's fault but our peaceful anniversary break didn't quite come off and we went home some what sleep deprived.

    The breakfast was great as was the service. We'd recommend the halfbridge inn for dinner, fabulous food and great service.

    • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank NichaUk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews