We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Railway Station
Ranked #1 of 17 Petworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved the breakfast”
Reviewed July 19, 2006

booked this as a last minute day off of work. Great. All the rooms were occupied but we found it very peaceful and surprisingly the room wasn't hot despite all this hot weather.Cheerful reception with the offer of complimentary tea or coffee. Breakfast was wonderful, on the platform, cooked to order, attentive but not rushed.

  • Liked — breakfast on the platform
  • Disliked — local pub is rather pricey
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    87
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
410
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Higham, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Booked to stay in a pullman as a birthday present for my partner and what a wonderful place it was! The pullman carriages are equipped with everything you need - corkscrews, shoe cleaning bag and umbrella to get you to the main building incase of rain! Breakfast was served on the platform in the sunshine. The breakfast sets you up for the day and is served by friendly staff. Bar drinks are available until 10.30pm and we enjoyed a jug of pimms on the platform in the evening sunshine. The only slight drawback is that you need a car as you cannot walk to anywhere (except Badgers pub) from the station as it is set back from a main road. however, it was not a problem for us and we visited many local places including Tangmere museum and west wittering beach which was an absolute gem.

The old railway is quite expensive but well worth the money, will definitely go back there again and recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away with a difference.

We did eat in the Badgers pub on the first night - the food was lovely but quite expensive and we did have to check our bill as we were charged for a bottle of wine we didn't have and other drinks were put on our bill - however, the staff did remove the extras straight away without question as the waitress knew what we had eaten. however, it was great to be able to have a drink and just walk down the track to our carriage!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ClaireParfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

This award-winning bed and breakfast is now owned and operated by a host from Iceland. If he did not tell you that, you would think he was English, and the Old Railway Station is very definitely English. We spent two nights here, staying in one of the rooms in the station building, in May 2006. Breakfast is a real event, served in the former ticket hall in great style, with full waitress service and a great menu. Whether you are in the station itself, or have one of the bedrooms in the 3 Pullman carriages (specially built, two to a carriage) which complete the offering, you will have a memorable time. A great effort has gone into the decoration, with attention to the history of the station, and also its development to its present success as a B&B after years of dereliction and decay.

It is close by the local road but we did not find noise any problem; bathrooms are comfortable and well fitted out, parking is easy, and the village of Petworth is fairly close by. Only a couple of hundred yards away, the gastro-pub Badgers provided us with an excellent evening dinner. The prices at Badgers are quite high for a pub but the meals we ate justified the charges made. There are other local restaurant options. You need a car to get here and stay here - it is out in the countryside.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we found it to be an excellent base from which to visit the Sussex area and the South Coast, with many major visitor attractions close by. (We loved Arundel Castle). It met all our needs.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thorndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 7, 2005

We enjoyed our night here very much (October 2005). The service on the whole was fine, but I'd guess it would have been even better if the ownership had not been changing that weekend. Only glitch was trying to find somewhere for dinner. Person on duty sent us on a bit of a wild goose chase as copies of restaurant menus had already been collected and they had nothing to go on (not sure why changing management would cause that to happen). Nearby restaurant was closed and nothing else very close.

However the station's facitilites themselves were terrific. Lovely tea upon arrival. Wonderful room. It was small, but then you can't expect huge on an old railway coach! Upscale breakfast in the morning. This is something really different, and a treat.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2005

This place is certainly one for the romantics! I wanted somewhere special to propose to my girlfriend and, without sounding big-headed, I couldn’t have picked a better spot!

The carriages are beautifully restored and very comfortable – we stayed in the largest Pullman and the King-size bed is a treat! The main lounge, where breakfast is served, is really impressive too – tall ceilings and a roaring fireplace just add to the huge amounts of nostalgia on display. The surroundings are just as special and you’re within short driving distance from both Petworth and Chichester.

Take it from me: this is no novelty but a real slice of English heritage that is guaranteed to charm anyone who stays there.

By the way, she said yes!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 31, 2004

We have just returned from 1 night at this lovely quaint place. We booked to stay in the Kingsize Pullman and it was very lovely. The bathroom was a good size and the bedroom (carriage) was also lovely. There was tea and coffee making facilities, and 2 comfortable armchairs and a lovely sumptuous king size wrought iron bed. There is also a tv. The carriages are split in halves and the only downside for us was when the occupants of the pullman behind us came back late you can feel all the movement (makes you feel like you are on a track) !!! Also they watched their tv until 1.00am and we heard it word for word.....so that was a little disappointing for us.

The former waiting room has been transformed to a sitting room/breakfast room with a roaring log fire and comfortable sofas. Breakfast is served here in the winter months and it is lovely. During the summer months they serve breakfast on the old platform. Breakfast is superb and definitely fills you up for the day. There are an additional 2 bedrooms in the waiting room which are also lovely, and next time we return we will stay in there to get a bit of peace and quiet !!

They only offer B&B but there are so many very good pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area. Badgers is situated at the end of the lane and although we did not eat in there we viewed the menu which was very nice but quite on the pricey side. £6 for a starter, £15 main course £4 for dessert on average.

The staff were attentive and friendly. The place is superbly kept and is worthy of the ETB 5 diamonds. I liked the liitle attention to detail for example tea and cake on arrival, personal tour of your pullman etc. Would highly recommend this very traditional English Place.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2004

Having just returned from a two night stay at the Old Railway Station I can highly recommend it as a 'get away from it all' place. The old Pullman carriages are lovely (we had the suite, it didn't have anything different in it, it was just a bit bigger), with a lovely bathroom, lots of hot water and very comfortable beds. The breakfast room and lounge are really special. Tea and cake in the lounge on arrival is a nice touch, and the breakfasts are hearty and will set you up for the day. Petworth Park nearby is fabulous - with deer and stags roaming around, there's a winery at Lurgashall about 15 minutes car ride away which is worth a little visit (there's also a good pub called Noah's Arc which does good food).

Only one small downside. I am not sure if it was the owner or employee but on one of the evenings we tried to talk to the lady staffing the bar but she was very surly and grumpy and clearly didn't want to answer any of our questions ~ a shame as we were only being friendly.

Overall would really recommend this ~ it's very romantic and well maintained and we will definately go back!

Helpful?
7 Thank SiriusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petworth
5.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
13.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
848 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Stonemasons Inn
The Stonemasons Inn
#9 of 17 in Petworth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Railway Station

Property: The Old Railway Station
Address: The Old Station Station Road | West Sussex, Petworth GU28 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Petworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Petworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Station 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely acclaimed as Britain's most beautiful railway station, Petworth's former train station is now one of the country's most unusual destination hotels. Step back in time and enjoy a romantic and unique break in one of our restored Pullman railway carriages or stay in the old Station House. In summer, enjoy our fine breakfast on the platform, overlooking our exotic garden or, in winter, by a roaring fire in our former Waiting Room, with its 20ft vaulted ceiling.The Old Railway Station has something for every discerning traveller, looking for something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Station Hotel Petworth
Old Railway Station
The Old Railway Station Petworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing